25 Reviews

I made this last night and it came it DELICIOUS!!! It was my first attempt at making this and I was surprise how simple it was to make. However, I noticed that the recipe suggested 1lb of chicken, I think the sauce could've easily accommodate 2lbs of chicken wings.

I altered the recipe a bit. I used Low-Sodium Soy Sauce instead of regular, and used 3/4 of a cup instead of the suggested 1 cup of soy-sauce. Next time I'll reduce it to 1/2 cup of soy sauce for 1lb...unless I'm making 2lbs of chicken wings then I'll use 3/4 of a cup.

Remember after you bring the sauce to a boil and turn it to a low boil, continue to simmer the chicken in the sauce in the low boiling heat for an hour and the sauce will thicken nicely =p.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meekeh June 09, 2011

These came out great! We thought they were pretty salty. Next time I'll use low sodium soy sauce and that should take care of that. Thanks so much for posting this yummy recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview May 31, 2011

I made these little wings, (along with another wing recipe), for the football games yesterday (both being great). These were so very yummy! I can honestly say that I never made wings using this method. Fabulous! So super easy to make, very basic ingredients, and soooo little clean-up. We loved them. I used one of those single serving size bottles of cheap Merlot... and it worked just fine. Using another reviewers advice, I also cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup and I skipped the sesame seeds and parsley. (I'm sure it would have made them look prettier, but we didn't miss 'em. If I make these for our neighborhood Christmas party this year, I will definitely add them). Thanks for posting a simple and tasty wing variation. I have it saved. (Made for PRMR)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 December 10, 2013

I made this for an annual Christmas party and it was a hit. Everyone devoured them in minutes from arriving and putting them on the table. The taste is similar to a teriyaki sauce. I think it is a cross between teriyaki and chicken adobo. This recipe is super simple to make. I used a two-buck Chuck wine (Charles Shaw Merlot from Trader Joes grocer) and regular white granulated sugar and Kikoman soy sauce. I actually made 6 pounds of wings and did 4 1/2 cups of each ingredient (wine, sugar and soy sauce). I don't think I needed to use 4 1/2 cups of each ingredient for the amount of wings/drumettes I cooked. I ended up with way more sauce. I boiled the chicken for about 40 minutes, pulled them out and brought the remaining sauce to a boil until it thickened and plunged the chicken back in the sauce to get a second coating. Next time I make this for the 6 pounds of wings/drumettes, I will just use 2 -3 cups of each ingredient. This is really a fool-proof recipe and the measurements are easily tweekable to the amount of chicken you have. This is definitely my go to wings recipe! I just love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
griffinGal December 21, 2011

These had a good taste. Be careful not to cook too long because it will dry out the meat. If I make these again, I would probably bake the chicken and then cover them with the reduced glaze.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel August 28, 2007

Yum! I made these as directed other than I cut the recipe back for 2 of us. Pretty simple to make and we really enjoyed munching on these while watching football. Thanks for sharing, Lynn. Made for What's on the Menu tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme October 06, 2015

Delicious! I used chicken thighs and drumsticks because they were cheaper. I used Lambrusco Riunite for the wine. I left out the parsley and sesame seeds. I cooked in a non stick pan with the lid on for the first 45 mins and then removed lid and increased heat for last 15 mins to caramelize the sauce. It turned out perfectly

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG June 01, 2015

After reading the reviews, I tried this two ways. First I pre-baked my drumettes, second I cooked them in the sauce according to the posters recipe. I used Kikkoman light soy sauce and took advice from another poster and used mini bottles of wine (Sutter Home Merlot). The pre-baked chicken was seasoned and basted in a garlic butter sauce with some seasoning. The second type was the poster's recipe, which was done as he posted, with the variations mentioned above. Hands down I loved the second recipe better that was done as the original poster posted, with slight variations mentioned above. The poster's recipe was much more tasty and cooked through with the flavors.<br/>Thanks for the recipe!!! I will do this again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosalind M. January 03, 2015

i made 7 lbs of wings and made 3 cups of wine, soy and sugar. still had some sauce leftover... i made them earlier in day, then reheated with a little sauce in the oven....i was worried that they would be "rubbery" ...but they were very tender and delicious!! a keeper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbaugie October 20, 2012
Japanese Chicken Drumettes