Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Japanese Chicken Drumettes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Japanese Chicken Drumettes

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2011

      I made this last night and it came it DELICIOUS!!! It was my first attempt at making this and I was surprise how simple it was to make. However, I noticed that the recipe suggested 1lb of chicken, I think the sauce could've easily accommodate 2lbs of chicken wings.

      I altered the recipe a bit. I used Low-Sodium Soy Sauce instead of regular, and used 3/4 of a cup instead of the suggested 1 cup of soy-sauce. Next time I'll reduce it to 1/2 cup of soy sauce for 1lb...unless I'm making 2lbs of chicken wings then I'll use 3/4 of a cup.

      Remember after you bring the sauce to a boil and turn it to a low boil, continue to simmer the chicken in the sauce in the low boiling heat for an hour and the sauce will thicken nicely =p.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      These came out great! We thought they were pretty salty. Next time I'll use low sodium soy sauce and that should take care of that. Thanks so much for posting this yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2013

      I made these little wings, (along with another wing recipe), for the football games yesterday (both being great). These were so very yummy! I can honestly say that I never made wings using this method. Fabulous! So super easy to make, very basic ingredients, and soooo little clean-up. We loved them. I used one of those single serving size bottles of cheap Merlot... and it worked just fine. Using another reviewers advice, I also cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup and I skipped the sesame seeds and parsley. (I'm sure it would have made them look prettier, but we didn't miss 'em. If I make these for our neighborhood Christmas party this year, I will definitely add them). Thanks for posting a simple and tasty wing variation. I have it saved. (Made for PRMR)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      I made this for an annual Christmas party and it was a hit. Everyone devoured them in minutes from arriving and putting them on the table. The taste is similar to a teriyaki sauce. I think it is a cross between teriyaki and chicken adobo. This recipe is super simple to make. I used a two-buck Chuck wine (Charles Shaw Merlot from Trader Joes grocer) and regular white granulated sugar and Kikoman soy sauce. I actually made 6 pounds of wings and did 4 1/2 cups of each ingredient (wine, sugar and soy sauce). I don't think I needed to use 4 1/2 cups of each ingredient for the amount of wings/drumettes I cooked. I ended up with way more sauce. I boiled the chicken for about 40 minutes, pulled them out and brought the remaining sauce to a boil until it thickened and plunged the chicken back in the sauce to get a second coating. Next time I make this for the 6 pounds of wings/drumettes, I will just use 2 -3 cups of each ingredient. This is really a fool-proof recipe and the measurements are easily tweekable to the amount of chicken you have. This is definitely my go to wings recipe! I just love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      These had a good taste. Be careful not to cook too long because it will dry out the meat. If I make these again, I would probably bake the chicken and then cover them with the reduced glaze.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2012

      i made 7 lbs of wings and made 3 cups of wine, soy and sugar. still had some sauce leftover... i made them earlier in day, then reheated with a little sauce in the oven....i was worried that they would be "rubbery" ...but they were very tender and delicious!! a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

    • on July 17, 2011

    • on September 07, 2010

      this was great I made 3lbs before they cooled off the husband finished all most all of them. this is a keeper thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      um incredibly delicious! Made & enjoyed for zwt6!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      These were simply delicious. Who would have thought a few simple ingredients would produce such a wonderful flavor? Made for the X-tra Hot Dishes of ZWT 6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      I had to cook mine longer to get the sauce to reduce, but who cares....it smelled so good cooking that it didn't matter! Delicious! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      Hubby ate EVERY SINGLE one of 'em... all 1.5lbs worth... guess they were good although I wouldn't know!! Certainly easy to make and smelled heavenly - I did wonder what kind of red wine though?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Really yummy flavor! I did take the easy road and threw the chicken in the oven for about an hour at 350* then reduced the sauce on the stove. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      These are so good! Took them to G-ma's n everybody loved them. They (family) are Filipino so I wanted to take something different and these fit the bill perfectly! Followed recipe n all came out sooo good! Family loved 'em. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      MMmmm!!! It doesn't get much tastier and easier than this for great chicken wings and drumettes! I made them yesterday for our family Yankee Swap, and they were eaten with glee!!! Everyone loved them and asked for the recipe, so in my book, they were a big hit! Thank you for sharing your recipe with us Diner! Made for Zaar Stars 12-08 Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Wow! These were great. I made these exactly as written and I loved the sweetness of the sauce. My boys ate every one. Made for Beverage Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Made for zaar tag. Boy were these good. A very nice change to regular chicken. Made recipe exactly as printed, they came out perfect. A great dinner, for all of us. A keeper !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      These chicken wings were so easy to make and loaded with flavor. I tripled the recipe and took these to our Memorial Day cookout. Everyone loved these and there were no leftovers to take home. Made for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      This was such a hit. I have been asked to bring them to both the Rose Bowl and Super Bowl parties in 2008!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Japanese Chicken Drumettes

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.7
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    19%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 45.9 mg
    15%
    Sodium 2059.4 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 25.7 g
    102%
    Protein 14.7 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites