63 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

First trial didn't turn out good but the texture is definately there. Here's a few tips: 1) For first timer, to beat egg white to become foamy and peak, you MUST MAKE SURE the bowl and beater DOES NOT have oil. Must be absolutely clean. Don't use plastic bowl because oil tends to stay on it even after cleaning. Egg white MUST NOT HAVE even a slight egg yolk in it. Normally people beat egg yolk first, but I am lazy. I beat the white first, so I don't need to clean the beater when I use for egg yolk. But you have to make sure you prepare all the ingredients and work fast. Otherwise the foamy egg white will become flat. 2)You might need to consider reducing lemon juice or go with none. After reading other reviews, I reduced to 1 tbs, and still turned out too sour. I use fresh lemon juice. 3) Baking time really varies. Mine take 1.5 hours, using a square pan. 4) Cool it in the oven that you turn off so it doesn't sink. 5) If you try to bake it without the roasting pan containing water, the side will burn very fast. Hope it helps!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayarich March 14, 2009

I baked this cake twice. Once with full fat cream cheese and a second time with 1/3 less fat cream cheese. both time yielded excellent results with slight differences in texture. Full fat cream cheese produced more moist but denser cake, whereas the 1/3 less fat one gave you dryer but fluffier cake. Both are good depending on your mood and preferences. I also discover that using fresh lemon juice is key to achieve balanced flavor. Bottled lemon juice just leaves that sharp lemony flavor that some reviewers seem to dislike.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myoungp December 06, 2009

Delicious Cheesecake! Its like eating clouds, its so light and fluffy. Just one note, the cheesecake should be left in the oven with the oven turned off after cooking for one hour for best results. Thanks for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamadelogan June 10, 2009

This was a strange cake to bake (I'm not a very experienced baker) but it turned out fantastic! I did make a few changes: I used half and half instead of whole milk as it was what I had in the fridge and I used a glass 9x9 pan for the cake, baked it at 325 degrees for 35 min and it came out perfect! Looking back at the recipe, it looks like I was supposed to use boiling water for the water bath but I just poured in some cool-ish tap water. My cake didn't crack or burn at all. I also used 2 TBSP of freshly squeezed lemon juice and thought it was not over powering. The lemon and cheese flavor were both present but faint, which I thought was perfect. I'm not sure how others got their cake out of the pan but when I tried to flip it out, half of it stuck in the pan! I then proceeded to flip it back in, cover it with some strawberry glaze and lots of freshly sliced strawberries and served it right out of the pan :) It was my DH's birthday cake and everyone thought it was very good... so good they all had seconds and left nothing but the cake pan! I enjoyed this more then american cheesecake and will be making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggie Fam March 26, 2012

i have made this cake 4 times now. i use 8oz of low fat cream cheese, 11/2 tbs lemon juice, and i also add in a little vanilla extract and a tiny amount of rum flavoring. this just adds the the decadence. i also use 1/2% milk, it makes for a nice low fat treat at coffee time. i bake for 20 minutes then have to put foil over it the rest of the time. i really do prefer the cake the next day after being refrigerated. very good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sabrinajosh November 03, 2010

Great recipe!! The lemon really brings out the cheese flavour, and the texture is surprisingly creamy. I thought it would be a bit more cakie. It melts in my mouth, and isnt nearly as rich as the cheesecake I am used to. Wouldn't change a thing.......well I did used the whole pack of cream cheese instead of just 7oz ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaki Jean May 30, 2010

I used 9" springform pan and lined it with parchment paper. Then wrapped the outside with a big sheet of aluminum foil. The water didn't go in the cake. However, my cake flattened and shrunk after a short while. I wonder if I didn't beat the egg white long enough. I followed one of the comments to reduce the lemon juice to 1/2 table spoon. I personally like cake not too sweet, so I reduced to sugar to just a bit more than 1/3 cup. The taste was just right for me. Other than the shrunk size, cake was soft and cottony. I'll keep tryining!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
no cake mix October 21, 2009

Great recipe,<br/>I added a table spoon of orange marmalade to my cream cheese. I replaced the cream of tartar with twice as much baking powder since I didn't have cream of tartar. Everyone loved it. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
faribas1 March 01, 2014

"4 Add half of the sugar, egg yolks, cornstarch and lemon juice.<br/> 5 Beat until smooth."<br/><br/>Nope. Beat the sugar, egg yolks, and lemon juice until LIGHT and FLUFFY; then add cornstarch all at once, and mix in on lower speed.<br/><br/>Using the whisk attachment to the stand mixer, fold in 1/3 egg whites into the egg yolk mixture, then fold in ALL of egg whites immediately after.<br/><br/>This way, your cheesecake ends up higher and fluffier!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mar.ronquillo_10674304 December 28, 2013

Very fluffy and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppet_eyes January 13, 2013
Japanese Cheesecake