Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Japanese Beef and Rice Bowl (Gyudon) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Japanese Beef and Rice Bowl (Gyudon)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 30, 2011

      Clear, easy and tasty recipe. We have just the same at the Japan centre in London and it's great havng it at home too now!!! We use light soy sauce to make it healthier and we top it with a small bunch of green beans, 2 large cup mushrooms and a couple of baby corn...and while it's still piping hot, we crack a raw egg on top and mix the whole thing. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      This is so simple, but SUPER tasty! I used regular onion instead of sping onion, and substituted beef mince for beef strips. Not only does the mince cook cuper quickly, but it is really flavoursome! I served with Japanese Okayu infused with garlic.. Thank you so much! This is a great recipe, expecially for winter!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2012

      The recipe is simple and easy but it is lacking. First the broth should be dashi based. 2nd it needs sliced onions, 3rd it needs beni shoga.

      So the recipe as is isn't bad, it just doesn't taste like authentic gyudon you'd find in Yoshinoya. There are a couple of recipes that include the dashi that are much more authentic tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      Very Yummy! We added a little diced garlic, ginger and a splash of sake. Next time I am going to try a little red pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      This is great. Thank you. Recipe is very delicious as it is, but I added a pinch of dashi powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      yum! tastes just like the frozen rice bowls i get at the asian market. now that i live far away from one and have cravings for them this will be convenient. very good and fast, thanks for an easy weeknight recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

    • on January 16, 2007

      WOW! I am so impressed! I am currently living in Japan, and I love the gyudon that we get from our local grocery store (already prepared!). I decided to make this tonight for dinner and it is SO good!!! I halved the beef and made the original amount of sauce. I also added half of a regular onion, thinly sliced. I added garlic and ginger as well. While I am not a big fan of pickled ginger, the stuff here always comes with it. I'm serving mine with some kimuchee and steamed brussel sprouts. Thanks so much! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      thank you for posting this recipe. It was delicious, and I will definately try it with some of the add-ins next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2004

      I´ve made this 4 times now - twice with chicken and twice with beef. The sauce is very good and versatile. The last time I did this, I sauteed 2 large cloves crushed garlic, 1 sliced red chilli, and 1 sliced sweet onion in sesame oil before Step 7. I had also marinated the beef in a little cornstarch, and pepper - and that had resulted in a rather smooth and flavourful sauce rather than the broth texture in the original recipe. I loved it both ways nevertheless. A great recipe that will be featured regularly on our dinner menu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2003

      This was very tasty. My boyfriend is a freak on all things Japanese and he proclaimed it good. I diluted the sauce mixture with another 1/4 cup water though because I found it a tad salty. Hope you don't mind, and thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2003

      thanks for a great recipe! i added lots of minced ginger, some minced garlic and fresh red chili - and the taste was superb! i really like the ginger-y and sweet "broth". i served the beef over sliced cabbage and rice for a complete meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Japanese Beef and Rice Bowl (Gyudon)

    Serving Size: 1 (443 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 584.1
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    44%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 51.0 mg
    17%
    Sodium 1444.7 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 102.5 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 29.2 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes