Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jan's Key Lime Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jan's Key Lime Pie

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2009

      This was super easy to make and quick, which having 3 boys and another on the way is vital to me. I added some green food coloring, and as I didn't have any key lime juice I just used regular lime juice. I know it's not the same, but the kids kept asking for more and I had to force my self to stop at one slice. Very Good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      This is the recipe off of the Nellie and Joe's Key Lime Juice bottle. I was nervous making it because I had to use Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk instead of the purchased sweetened condensed milk. But the recipe worked great. I had to bake my pie about 10 minutes longer (for a total of 25 minutes) than this recipe states. It set up well in the refrigerator for 1 day. I did not add any green food coloring to the filling. The filling turned out a very pretty lemony yellow color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

    • on December 11, 2008

      Very authentic . . . creamy and no artificial coloring, just like Nellie makes in Key West! Using KEY LIMES are the key to success for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      This was not at all like Key Lime Pie I've had in the past, sorry but none of us were impressed with it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Very nice, tart, limey flavor and light, creamy texture. I was really surprised at how well this turned out, because the batter with the sweetened condensed milk smelled and looked absolutely vile. The finished product didn't look or smell a whole lot better. I was so worried that I made another dessert to take to my potluck. I almost threw this pie out without tasting it. However, the household food critic and I both liked it quite well. I highly recommend using the green food coloring. I didn't, and the color turned out to be a beige-yellow -- not very appetizing for a lime pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      Fantastic and very easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      We made this from the bottle and checked to see if it was posted. A really great, easy, delicious recipe. We made it in mini graham crusts, and they were perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      Our daughter loves to make dessert. She has presented us with many key lime pies but this is the absolute best! This is the Winner!! Simplistic & Delilcious! We Thank You!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      i only had 2 eggs on hand, so i only used 2 egg yolks and the recipe still turned out fantastic. thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      Yum! I like Key Lime pie and this was the first time I ever made it. I made it for Mother's Day and there's no more left. *When you fill the crust with the mixture, it sits low in the shell just like the photo. I used an electric mixer to blend. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      This is really good key lime pie! They used to sell Nellie & Joe's key lime juice at Trader Joe's but I haven't seen it there for a while. I found some at a specialty food and wine store. The pie is so easy to make and it has that great sweet, tart taste. I used fresh whipped cream too. Loved it! Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      This was the easiest Key Lime Pie recipe I have ever made. Because I did not have any key lime juice on hand, I used regular bottled lime juice instead. I increased the amount to 2/3 or 3/4 of a cup, and let it bake longer. The next night, I had a can of frozen lime juice concentrate in the freezer, and I used that. Both ways were excellant! One of the last times that I tried it, I was going for a "wow" factor. I broke down and bought the key lime juice, real whip cream, and a lime. I did add a little green food coloring to the pie for color. Then, I made curls out of the lime's rind, and it got the "wow" that I wanted. Truthfully, for the expense, regular lime juice was wonderful, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      This was really good and very refreshing! I had a bag of key limes and it took 20 of them to get enough juice for this pie. I used low-fat sweetened condensed milk and a low fat crust. I think I probably should have used a regular crust as the low-fat crust didn't seem to hold up as well on the sides, it was good anyway. If you pair this pie with a scoop of chocolate ice cream it's like you are eating a cold Key Lime truffle from Godiva!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jan's Key Lime Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (808 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2633.1
     
    Calories from Fat 957
    36%
    Total Fat 106.3 g
    163%
    Saturated Fat 38.5 g
    192%
    Cholesterol 632.9 mg
    210%
    Sodium 1894.9 mg
    78%
    Total Carbohydrate 383.6 g
    127%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 309.9 g
    1239%
    Protein 49.1 g
    98%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes