Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jan's Comforting, YUMMY but Naughty Chicken Wild Rice Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jan's Comforting, YUMMY but Naughty Chicken Wild Rice Soup

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2010

      I made this tonight. Easy! I also did NOT use ground beef. I used a rotisserie chicken that I pulled apart, seemed more appropriate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

    • on December 07, 2009

      The first time I made this was for a potluck for the teachers at my daughter's school so I didn't really get any, but I did get requests for the recipe. Last night I made a double batch for a 5 family potluck and most of it was gone at the end of the night. I used skim milk which may have affected the thickness. It was pretty ugly until you stirred it. I also would probably cut the ranch dressing some next time but over all it's a yummy and, yes, comforting soup. Next time I might try swiss cheese as that sounds like a good combination with the wild rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      This was really good and pretty easy to throw together. I was a little confused on whether to use ground beef or chicken as people have said that they have used both. My husband said, "The recipe says beef, use beef." So I did. I only had 1 c. of cheese and ran out of carrots and onions, so I didn't use those, but it still tasted great. This recipe will be added to our dinner rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      really good! I did not use ground beef, but I think that is a typo anyway since the title is Chicken wild rice soup.I used a box of uncle ben's wild rice mix. I also added a quart of chicken stock. It was soooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      this was ok. i was alittle short on rice tho. not sure i'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      Love this soup! But use cooked chicken instead of ground beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      I thought the ranch flavor overpowered this soup. I ate 1 bowl then threw the rest out. Sorry I couldn't rate it higher.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      We enjoyed this soup. It was very different from my regular chicken wild rice soup, but a nice change. I will definitely keep this recipe on hand. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Wonderful soup! I did make some changes based upon what I had in my pantry. First, the idea of ground bef in a soup didn't appeal to me. So I took some grilled chicken strips and threw them in. I also didn't have a can of cream of mushroom, so I used cream of chicken and threw in a few mushrooms. I had one cup half and half, one cup fat free milk. I also didn't have wild rice, so I used instant. All and all it turned out wonderful. My dh who is not a soup person, enjoyed it as well. Thanks so much for this tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      I made this with a can of chicken instead of the hamburger. It was delicious, and that made it even faster to prepare! Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Tasty! Thick, creamy comfort food. I didn't use the ground beef - went with roughly-cubed chicken breast and it had more of a stew feel. I also didn't have the carrot, don't think I missed it. It's very, very salty. I think next time low-salt soups are in order. I would also recommend sauteing the onion - I think raw the flavor is just too strong. Otherwise, it's a nice dish for a cold winter day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      Very yummy! We lowered the fat and calories by using reduced fat soup, non fat half/half and lower fat cheese. Definitely did not use the ground beef! Used cubed cooked chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      I made this recipe for a luncheon for my godmother and it got rave reviews!!! They wanted the recipe and even went back for seconds. I did use cubed chicken instead of the ground beef and I added the optional onions and used skim milk in place of the half and half. I will definitely be making this for myself in the future. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

    • on September 10, 2008

      DH and I REALLY enjoyed this simple meal! I had a lack of correct ingredients, so I sorta winged it... but it turned out delicious! I used Zatarans Wild Rice, Heavy Whipping Cream (can you believe I was out of milk, but somehow managed to have heavy whipping cream?) and Mozzarella Cheese. Since the Zatarans was pre-seasoned I left out the carrot and onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      Very Good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      My daughter and husband really liked it, and so did I! I used an herb flavored white and wild rice mix, and fat free half and half. Thank-you, will definately make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Ohhhh, was this good! I substituted cooked chicken for the ground beef. I doubled the recipe doubling everything except the half & half and cheese. A definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      Wonderful flavor & easy to prepare!! I just happened to have all the ingredients on hand. I added a 1/4 cup white wine and a 1/4 tsp. rosemary. Next time, I may add some fresh mushrooms. This one is a "keeper"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jan's Comforting, YUMMY but Naughty Chicken Wild Rice Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (2086 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 486.4
     
    Calories from Fat 301
    62%
    Total Fat 33.5 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 17.0 g
    85%
    Cholesterol 110.9 mg
    36%
    Sodium 844.2 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 27.8 g
    55%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Hidden Valley® Original Ranch® Dressing

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes