58 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family loves this! They fight over the last bowl every time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SVB November 12, 2003

WOW! This is the best soup EVER! Thanks for a GREAT recipe.I will be making this one often.This was loved by everyone!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa P January 11, 2003

I'm giving this 4 stars as the recipe is written. BUT...if I was doing it over again, I would omit the cheese. I tasted this before adding the cheese and I was like "WOW" this is going to be great! Then I added the prescribed amount of cheddar and it was just "meh..."<br/>I will also use leftover chicken next time instead of the beef. The beef just doesn't fit. I'm SO glad this recipe was posted and I will make it again, but with my two adjustments.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugrmag78 January 22, 2015

I used a wild rice blend. This was really good but cooking my wild rice blend before adding to the recipe turned it into mush. Next time, I will probably just add it to the soup without cooking first. Otherwise this is so yummy even with the hamburger. I might try it with chicken sometime. Thanks for posting a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Fielding March 15, 2014

What a winner this soup is! We really liked this, it was different than other soups we eat. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore January 10, 2014

This is delicious. I changed the cooking method and made this on the stove top. Browned extra lean ground beef with onion in my stock pot, then added the broth and uncooked wild rice. Needed a little extra liquid to cook my rice. After half an hour I added my carrots and threw in some fresh mushrooms and simmered another 15 minutes. Then I added a can of evaporated milk, soup, cheese, and heated through. I had to use cream of celery since I didn't realize I was out of mushroom, but I think it turned out fine. Even my husband ate a large bowl of this and he doesn't like wild rice. The flavor of the beef blends well with the earthy flavor of wild rice. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie August 18, 2013

Very Good! I have made this now with both ground sausage and chicken. I will definitely it make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristina's Recipes April 13, 2013

Like others I can't figure out why this is called Chicken Wild Rice Soup, but I followed the recipe pretty closely using ground beef and milk and the onion. However I did use a wild rice blend because I was too lazy to cook the wild rice I had on hand. The cheese didn't seem to add much in my opinion, but overall a good soup for a snow day! (reposting because for some reason my stars didn't *stick*)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeniseBC May 14, 2011

This soup is delicious!used chicken rather than ground beef, that was the only change i made. even froze the leftovers and it was great as well.....Thank you for a great recipe...:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peggy Lynn November 29, 2010

This recipe was NOT good.

It was too salty and it wasn't even a soup (and I only used 1 pound of hamburger instead of 1-1/2 pounds.) It was a rice/hamburger mush that neither I nor my hubby liked. We ate what we could tolerate and threw the rest of it in the garbage.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bergspicer October 09, 2010
Jan's Comforting, YUMMY but Naughty Chicken Wild Rice Soup