Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jan's Comforting, YUMMY but Naughty Chicken Wild Rice Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jan's Comforting, YUMMY but Naughty Chicken Wild Rice Soup

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2010

      Very good soup. I used chicken but I think ground beef would be just as good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Oh yeah! This was super yummy. I'm putting it into my regular fall/winter-time rotation. I made as directed. I used Uncle Ben's Original Wild Rice. I think it's closer to a chowder than soup, but could be thinned out if you wish...it doesn't need it. Seriously good soup! Try it. Update: It was even better the next day. What's with the title chicken and wild rice soup? Other than the broth, there's no chicken. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2004

      I made a double batch of this soup for a progressive dinner. I followed the recipe exactly... except that I doubled the amount of rice since I used a blend of wild and brown. I used 2% milk and it was still very creamy. I asked the people who came to help me come up with a rating and they gave it 10 stars until I told them 5 was as high as you could go. 4 people have already asked for the recipe and I directed them to this site.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      With a few changes: Chicken, milk, double the rice and omit the onions and carrot. I enjoy carrots and onion but feel the soup is better without.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      This is a very good recipe! I use ground turkey and put the rice in uncooked with 1 cup of extra water. All of my family loves this recipe and I have two toddlers. Thanks for an easy family pleaser!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Delicious and easy to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Delicious! I made a few changes for convenience: I used 2 cups leftover chicken instead of ground beef, used 2 cups cream instead of half-and-half, and used a box of Uncle Ben's brown and wild rice (but didn't use the Uncle Ben's seasoning). Everything else stayed the same. It was amazing, thanks Jan!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      REALLY yummy... Now I just have to figure out a way to make it a little healthier :) We didn't find any unbalance of flavors, like some others had mentioned; I thought that the ground beef worked well. We did use skim milk (instead of 1/2 and 1/2, and the soup still came out perfectly creamy) and Big Batch Ranch Dressing Mix (Big Batch Ranch Dressing Mix). Thanks Kimke!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Great recipe. My whole family loved it. I just made it on the stove top instead of the crockpot and it still turned out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      This was super delicious. I will make it again often. I did not make it in a crockpot though. I sauteed the onion and carrot in some olive oil and then added in the other ingredients. I also made it more naughty and used heavy cream instead of the milk so it was super creamy and yummy and I did not add the cheese because my son wouldnt eat it. Excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2003

      My family loves this! They fight over the last bowl every time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2003

      WOW! This is the best soup EVER! Thanks for a GREAT recipe.I will be making this one often.This was loved by everyone!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2014

      I used a wild rice blend. This was really good but cooking my wild rice blend before adding to the recipe turned it into mush. Next time, I will probably just add it to the soup without cooking first. Otherwise this is so yummy even with the hamburger. I might try it with chicken sometime. Thanks for posting a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2014

      What a winner this soup is! We really liked this, it was different than other soups we eat. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      This is delicious. I changed the cooking method and made this on the stove top. Browned extra lean ground beef with onion in my stock pot, then added the broth and uncooked wild rice. Needed a little extra liquid to cook my rice. After half an hour I added my carrots and threw in some fresh mushrooms and simmered another 15 minutes. Then I added a can of evaporated milk, soup, cheese, and heated through. I had to use cream of celery since I didn't realize I was out of mushroom, but I think it turned out fine. Even my husband ate a large bowl of this and he doesn't like wild rice. The flavor of the beef blends well with the earthy flavor of wild rice. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2013

      Very Good! I have made this now with both ground sausage and chicken. I will definitely it make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      Like others I can't figure out why this is called Chicken Wild Rice Soup, but I followed the recipe pretty closely using ground beef and milk and the onion. However I did use a wild rice blend because I was too lazy to cook the wild rice I had on hand. The cheese didn't seem to add much in my opinion, but overall a good soup for a snow day! (reposting because for some reason my stars didn't *stick*)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      This soup is delicious!used chicken rather than ground beef, that was the only change i made. even froze the leftovers and it was great as well.....Thank you for a great recipe...:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      This recipe was NOT good.

      It was too salty and it wasn't even a soup (and I only used 1 pound of hamburger instead of 1-1/2 pounds.) It was a rice/hamburger mush that neither I nor my hubby liked. We ate what we could tolerate and threw the rest of it in the garbage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      This was delicious even in the summer in CA! Tweaked it a bit: used Costco's roasted chicken, 1 c. fat free 1/2 & 1/2 & 1 c. 1% milk instead of the 2 c. 1/2 & 1/2; added sauteed onions/celery & mushrooms; addedcapers which added a special touch; and the seasoning packet from the wild rice box rather than the ranch dressing packet. Marvelous...thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jan's Comforting, YUMMY but Naughty Chicken Wild Rice Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (2086 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 486.4
     
    Calories from Fat 301
    62%
    Total Fat 33.5 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 17.0 g
    85%
    Cholesterol 110.9 mg
    36%
    Sodium 844.2 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 27.8 g
    55%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Hidden Valley® Original Ranch® Dressing

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites