58 Reviews

Very good soup. I used chicken but I think ground beef would be just as good!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jilly in Michigan April 25, 2010

Oh yeah! This was super yummy. I'm putting it into my regular fall/winter-time rotation. I made as directed. I used Uncle Ben's Original Wild Rice. I think it's closer to a chowder than soup, but could be thinned out if you wish...it doesn't need it. Seriously good soup! Try it. Update: It was even better the next day. What's with the title chicken and wild rice soup? Other than the broth, there's no chicken. :-)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armymomx2 January 12, 2010

I made a double batch of this soup for a progressive dinner. I followed the recipe exactly... except that I doubled the amount of rice since I used a blend of wild and brown. I used 2% milk and it was still very creamy. I asked the people who came to help me come up with a rating and they gave it 10 stars until I told them 5 was as high as you could go. 4 people have already asked for the recipe and I directed them to this site.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff Breneman January 13, 2004

With a few changes: Chicken, milk, double the rice and omit the onions and carrot. I enjoy carrots and onion but feel the soup is better without.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brown Melly March 27, 2011

This is a very good recipe! I use ground turkey and put the rice in uncooked with 1 cup of extra water. All of my family loves this recipe and I have two toddlers. Thanks for an easy family pleaser!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adena mangis October 02, 2010

Delicious and easy to make!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taylr12 May 30, 2010

Delicious! I made a few changes for convenience: I used 2 cups leftover chicken instead of ground beef, used 2 cups cream instead of half-and-half, and used a box of Uncle Ben's brown and wild rice (but didn't use the Uncle Ben's seasoning). Everything else stayed the same. It was amazing, thanks Jan!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ORTNmom April 25, 2010

REALLY yummy... Now I just have to figure out a way to make it a little healthier :) We didn't find any unbalance of flavors, like some others had mentioned; I thought that the ground beef worked well. We did use skim milk (instead of 1/2 and 1/2, and the soup still came out perfectly creamy) and Big Batch Ranch Dressing Mix (Big Batch Ranch Dressing Mix). Thanks Kimke!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dripdripsplat March 03, 2010

Great recipe. My whole family loved it. I just made it on the stove top instead of the crockpot and it still turned out great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michael3443 January 09, 2010

This was super delicious. I will make it again often. I did not make it in a crockpot though. I sauteed the onion and carrot in some olive oil and then added in the other ingredients. I also made it more naughty and used heavy cream instead of the milk so it was super creamy and yummy and I did not add the cheese because my son wouldnt eat it. Excellent!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrivera December 07, 2009
Jan's Comforting, YUMMY but Naughty Chicken Wild Rice Soup