Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jammy Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jammy Chicken

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on June 29, 2012

      The chicken is nice and tender; however, I think I would prefer orange marmalade over black berry preserves and skip the ketchup. Great recipe with lots of room for variations. Thank you for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      Tasty recipe for homemade bbq sauce! Based on the reviews, I reduced the blackberry preserves to approx. 1/3 cup or so. I also added about 1 tsp onion powder to help balance out the sweetness. It was a big hit at our house. This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      Sorry, but I am going to be "odd man" out! This marinade did nothing for me....I found it way to sweet for my liking! I will pass on this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      Very good...definitely would be good for a dump recipe - will be trying it that way next time. We used apricot jam and it gave it a nice sweet taste with a kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      Really, really, really good. We baked ours in the oven although I think the next time we grill out I will prepare some as well. It was so yummy we were almost fighting to lick the baking sheet, j/k but really we were.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      We had this quite awhile ago and I forgot to review it. It was very good, and I will be experimenting with different jams and preserves. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      This was good, but I could have cut back a little on the chili powder, I thought it was a bit overpowering in this dish. I used raspberry preserves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      I make a similar recipe that the family loves (Apricot Barbecued Chicken) but I saw this in a chef's Fav. of 2008 cookbook, so I wanted to try it. Very easy to prepare. I used about 2 1/2 lbs s/b breasts and saved some of the sauce for dipping. Also used bbq/ketchup mix and Fruits of the Forest spread. Doesn't need the salt and isn't spicy at all. It came out juice, but I browned it first and then cooked for about 35-40 minutes. Served with rice. I prefer the other recipe, but the rest really liked this. So we'll be making both regularly. Easy recipe when you don't want to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      This was a really good OMAC recipe for chicken. I used blackberry preserves and b/s chicken breasts and that turned the outside of the chicken purple. I didn't brown the chicken first but fixed it as a dump recipe and that may have been part of the issue with the purple chicken. I will update this review the next time I make it. As you can see from the fact that I plan to make it again, the purple chicken didn't bother us that much! The chicken was very tasty and tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      I used my homemade blackberry jam and wow! What flavor! I, like Pamela, used it for a dump chicken so I didn't get to taste the finished product but after tasting the base I know it will be delicious... Kinda like a hearty and sweet barbeque sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      we enjoyed this very much. I used apricot preserves and chicken thighs. thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Wow was this ever good! I didn't freeze mine, just made it fresh, and it was so easy to throw together. Now my 3 little boys did gawk about it being rather pink in color (mine wasn't real saucey like the pic, but it was good non-the-less) from the preserves/ketchup/I dunno, but they still ate it up :) Definitely a keeper! Thanks Jill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      I prepared this recipe with blackberry preserves, and removed the skin from the chicken before baking. I will give this recipe another try, but will make it with a seedless raspberry jam and use a red wine vinegar (as suggested by another reviewer). Perhaps my family will like it better prepared with that flavor of jam and vinegar. My husband and daughter wanted me to give this recipe 3 stars, but I liked it, so I'm giving it 4 stars. Thank you for the recipe Jill, I thought it was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      Yummy, easy, a real kid-pleaser. I used blackberry jam and balsalmic vinegar. I will make this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      This was really good and easy to make. I used all boneless chicken cutlets and raspberry jam. I also wasn't sure which type of vinegar to use so I used red wine vinegar. I followed the rest of the recipe as written. This had a wonderful taste to it. I cut down the cooking time since I used boneless breasts and I also cooked them on the grill. I was really impressed with the taste of these. Will be making more often. Update: Made this for freezer tag 2008. I made this as a dump recipe, adding all the ingredients in a freezer bag and freezing. The day before making, I pulled from freezer and thawed in the fridge. Cooked as directed. I noticed someone else cooked this in the crockpot, I think I might try that next time, using bone in chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      One word to describe this is WOW!!! I just can not believe something so simple taste so good. My children and I just gobbled this up. I changed 2 things in this recipe and that was I used cherry fruit only preserve and only one tsp of chili powder and it came out so wonderful and made the house smell so good when cooking. I served it with rice and poured the sauce from the chicken on the rice. My son who dose not like rice even ate the rice with the sauce from the chicken. Thank You so much for posting this Jillaz, Naomi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      This was a hit with my kids who are picky eaters. I used Raspberry jam and they kept coming back for more. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      Easy to fix and very delicious. Fixed as the recipe directed and enjoyed the results very muchy. Will, however, try substituting chilli sauce for ketchup and chilli powder next time I fix just to see what difference that will make to the taste. I used raspberry preserves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      Easy and yummy! Dh told me I need to make sure to have seedless though as he hates having seeds in his teeth. He did enjoy it though! I also did it as a dump recipe. Thank you so much! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      Excellent! really enjoyed it - the combination of flavours was lovely and next time I think I'll add a clove of crushed garlic too! A previous reviewer missed the point of this recipe by omitting the chilli - it's not hot at all but the very subtle "zing" combined with the sweetness of the preserve and the sourness of the vinegar really works! Make it but DO NOT omitt the chilli! Chilli doesn't necessarily mean spicy and how do your family know if you never experiment? x

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jammy Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (238 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 490.6
     
    Calories from Fat 220
    44%
    Total Fat 24.5 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 120.7 mg
    40%
    Sodium 532.2 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 26.3 g
    105%
    Protein 30.7 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes