29 Reviews

The chicken is nice and tender; however, I think I would prefer orange marmalade over black berry preserves and skip the ketchup. Great recipe with lots of room for variations. Thank you for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ June 29, 2012

Tasty recipe for homemade bbq sauce! Based on the reviews, I reduced the blackberry preserves to approx. 1/3 cup or so. I also added about 1 tsp onion powder to help balance out the sweetness. It was a big hit at our house. This recipe is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thedixongang September 27, 2011

Sorry, but I am going to be "odd man" out! This marinade did nothing for me....I found it way to sweet for my liking! I will pass on this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl September 27, 2010

Very good...definitely would be good for a dump recipe - will be trying it that way next time. We used apricot jam and it gave it a nice sweet taste with a kick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dunebuggy8 May 10, 2010

Really, really, really good. We baked ours in the oven although I think the next time we grill out I will prepare some as well. It was so yummy we were almost fighting to lick the baking sheet, j/k but really we were.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aubribanana March 10, 2009

We had this quite awhile ago and I forgot to review it. It was very good, and I will be experimenting with different jams and preserves. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Junkie February 14, 2009

This was good, but I could have cut back a little on the chili powder, I thought it was a bit overpowering in this dish. I used raspberry preserves.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj January 05, 2009

I make a similar recipe that the family loves (Apricot Barbecued Chicken) but I saw this in a chef's Fav. of 2008 cookbook, so I wanted to try it. Very easy to prepare. I used about 2 1/2 lbs s/b breasts and saved some of the sauce for dipping. Also used bbq/ketchup mix and Fruits of the Forest spread. Doesn't need the salt and isn't spicy at all. It came out juice, but I browned it first and then cooked for about 35-40 minutes. Served with rice. I prefer the other recipe, but the rest really liked this. So we'll be making both regularly. Easy recipe when you don't want to cook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead January 02, 2009

This was a really good OMAC recipe for chicken. I used blackberry preserves and b/s chicken breasts and that turned the outside of the chicken purple. I didn't brown the chicken first but fixed it as a dump recipe and that may have been part of the issue with the purple chicken. I will update this review the next time I make it. As you can see from the fact that I plan to make it again, the purple chicken didn't bother us that much! The chicken was very tasty and tender.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chattes November 24, 2008

I used my homemade blackberry jam and wow! What flavor! I, like Pamela, used it for a dump chicken so I didn't get to taste the finished product but after tasting the base I know it will be delicious... Kinda like a hearty and sweet barbeque sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claidan September 16, 2008
Jammy Chicken