Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jamie Olivers Pasta Carbonara Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jamie Olivers Pasta Carbonara

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2010

      This is a delicious recipe and easy to prepare. As I am "pregnant" and cannot take chances with eating eggs even remotely raw, I opted for the safe route and microwaved the milk/egg mixture for 30 seconds before adding to the hot pasta. It still turned out smooth and creamy. DH and I thought the amount of sauce was just right, but the flavor was lacking a little something. We added 1 tsp. garlic powder, and that seemed to do the trick. My 1-year-old DD gobbled her portion, licking her fingers all along the way. DH and I agreed this recipe would serve more like six than four people. We divided the pot into quarters and could not possibly finish our portions. Left-overs for dinner tonight! Yum! (Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #38)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2012

      Having many carbonara recipes from which to choose, I chose this one because (1) it's easy and (2) I've never made an Oliver recipe I didn't like. Used fresh locally made fettucini pasta and the crowning touch was substituting fresh smoked lamb bacon from a local farm. Very rich!! Actually too rich for me with the lamb bacon but my husband greedily served himself thirds. Fresh mint from our garden and I would have tried spring peas but forgot to buy them at the farmer's market (organic frozen peas instead). A clove of fresh garlic minced was thrown in with the whisked eggs and we tried a combination of Pecorino Romano and Reggiano-Parmigiano. Use the *best* quality ingredients for this recipe. Reviewed for Down on the Farm photo tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      Great, simple recipe. I took advice from one of the other reviewers and added a clove of finely minced garlic to my egg/cream sauce. I also added zest of one lemon - perfect for carbonara.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2014

      Simple and delicious. Well loved by all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      This was delish! Easy and quick to make to with what I had on hand. I made it with the following slight changes: used 8 slices of thick bacon (all I had), used half and half instead of cream, while cooking the bacon, I added a cupful of chopped fresh mushrooms, I also added finely chopped fresh garlic to the egg mixture, and I didn't have any mint but used fresh chopped green onions instead. Can't wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2013

      Loved this pasta -- so deliciously rich with the cream and bacon. I served this dish along with a salad and some tomato bruschetta -- sooo good. The only change I made was to leave out the egg and mint and add garlic to round out the flavor. This made a really great dinner. Made for PRMR, October, 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      This was very nice, and very easy. I had to use real bacon bits in place of bacon (3 tablespoons=1 slice of bacon), and did not have the mint, but other than that, and other than adding some garlic salt, I followed the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2011

      I love pasta carbonara, so I knew I'd enjoy this. It is a lovely and easy recipe and I truly enjoyed the peas and mint as a departure from the norm. I made using Fresh Egg Pasta - Mario Batali (which I should have rolled thinner :) ) and cut back to 2 servings. Lovely and luscious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

    • on February 28, 2010

      KE, We LOVED it! Thanks for posting this great J.Oliver recipe. I'd never thought about putting mint in my carbonara but it was a delicate and different taste. I served it with some grilled redfish and zucchini and we had a nice fruity sauvignon blanc!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      Something quick to throw together without too much fuss and tastes great to boot. Mint was a new addition for me and though I could catch a hint of it now and then I never really could put my finger directly on it. Made for the Aussie/NZ RS#30 tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      My DH REALLY liked the flavors, textures and taste of this dish. It was easy to put together; I only wished I'd made a little more of the light, creamy sauce. This is a keeper! Made for the June 2009 Aussie/NZ recipe swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      I am on holiday in England right now, and this was a recipe that was waiting to be made one evening after a BUSY day shopping! This ITALIAN recipe by Jamie Oliver, a great British chef, was spot on and very authentic. I loved his addition of peas to the recipe, I do not normally add peas, but they brought a fresh burst of flavour to this! My mum and Dad are veggies, so I made a big batch and split it into two - one with pancetta for us and one with peas for them, c'est parfait, that's French for PERFECT by the way! The egg was all that was needed to bind this together and there are never any or indeed many herbs (as a rule) in a classic carbonara, so for us, this was great! We used fresh mint from the garden which married so well with the peas! Mum has saved this (sans pancetta) for the future!! Merci encore Karen. FT:-) P.S. No photos this time as Flying Chef's are so lovely!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      This is the most tasteless recipe I have every made in my life. The ingredients have no creditability there are no herbs that could possibility hold it together.....typically English cooking ,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      Karen this is really delicious! So easy to put together for a nice lunch. Peas make this dish especially "spring-y" and doesn't feel like you've eaten a heavy pasta meal. I will make this again! Thank you for posting Karen! Made for Potluck Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      This is so easy to make without any fuss, which gets it a five just on that alone. I loved the addition of the chopped mint, it added a really lovely flavour to the dish as did the peas. Both my hubby and son loved this and it made for a great week night meal. I used pancetta instead of bacon as I find it has more flavour and topped with lots of freshly grated Parmesan cheese.. Yummo!!! Cheers Karen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      A very easy ands simple recipe. I also wasnt too sure about peas and being added, but the family liked the addition. I also had to skip the mint after the hot weather here, the mint was all burnt! Although the I did use mint peas! Topped with parmesan cheese this Carbonara is very nice and the family really enjoyed it. Thanks for a very quick, easy, simple and yet great tasting recipe Karen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      This was an easy to follow and simple to prepare recipe,which made for a lovely lunch treat.I must admit that I wasn't too sure about the peas initially,but actually found them to be a nice addition to the classic recipe. I skipped the mint (my plant has seen better days!),but I should imagine that it would have complimented the peas quite nicely. Just be sure to use plenty of freshly milled pepper before serving!! Thanks for posting Karen Elizabeth,we really enjoyed this..even DH,who isn't a pasta lover! Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jamie Olivers Pasta Carbonara

    Serving Size: 1 (189 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 559.4
     
    Calories from Fat 112
    20%
    Total Fat 12.5 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 81.4 mg
    27%
    Sodium 36.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 91.4 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 18.9 g
    37%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pancetta

    fresh mint

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites