Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / James Beard's Horseradish Coleslaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    James Beard's Horseradish Coleslaw

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2003

      I usually always like Jim Beard's recipes and this was no exception. I cut the recipe in half because I think that 2 lbs of cabbage is way too much for just 6 people. I also added more horseradish...more than twice as much...since we like it sharp and spicy. I suppose the brand that you use will determine how much you put in the recipe to get it right. I hope you've tried this by now Lennie and enjoyed it as much as we did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2004

      Now this has some flavor! Love the horseradish in this! I have no idea why, but I added a tablespoon of dijon as well. I served this with some pulled pork sandwiches and cold beer on New Years and it was so good! Thanks, Lennie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2003

      I gave this a shot too today, and boy! did it wake the tastebuds! I don't like sweet, bland coleslaw, so this was right up my alley! Thanks for zapping me with this. WoW!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      Selicious recipe! I doubled the amount of horseradish too. Will definately make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2010

      A really good alternative to typical coleslaw! I used Splenda, and next time I will add more horseradish because it wasn't quite as spicy as we like! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      Served with Grilled Tenderloin of Beef with Horseradish sauce and it was the perfect compliment. I made the dressing ahead of time to chill and then added the coleslaw mix just before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      Best coleslaw ever! I used packaged shredded coleslaw mix (1lb.) Cut dressing recipe in half except for horseradish. Left horseradish at 1tbs and substituted Splenda for sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      Wonderful. Sometimes I add more horseradish to give it a little more tang. Very good and popular at BBQ's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      Never thought to add horseradish to cabbage before, but it was very tasty. I used a Napa cabbage, as I don't really care for the regular type. I used some of it in a roast beef wrap. Very nice. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      I made 1 lb of this using about a fourth of a cup of light mayo (bc thats all I had) and fat free greek yogurt instead of sour cream. I just added it until the consistency was what I wanted. I used Splenda instead of sugar. I'm a horseradish nut so I was generous with it and adjusted the Splenda and mustard to compensate. It was fabulous! My mom was hesitant to eat too much until I told her how I had cut the fat and sugar. Heart healthy and full of flavor, I'm bringing it to our Christmas pot luck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      A very nice contrast with sweet, grilled bbq ribs! Love horseradish and it set the crisp cabbage off beautifully. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2006

      Simply Awesome! If you like horseradish, you'll love this simple but delicious coleslaw! I didn't change the recipe at all and it is just right! I highly recommend this simple side!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      I have learned that there is rarely a way to improve upon a James Beard recipe and this one was no exception. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for James Beard's Horseradish Coleslaw

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 241.4
     
    Calories from Fat 154
    64%
    Total Fat 17.1 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 20.1 mg
    6%
    Sodium 329.2 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 10.5 g
    42%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes