Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jambalaya w/shrimp, chicken and sausage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jambalaya w/shrimp, chicken and sausage

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2003

      Holy Shomoly....what an awesome recipe!!! I gobbled down 2 bowl fulls. This was my first time making jambalaya from scratch. All the chopping was a little time consuming, but well worth it all. Even my son said this recipe was a definate keeper. It was a little spicy for his taste, but I thought it was perfect, just enough to give it a kick, but not so much you are rushing around to find a drink. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I won't go back to the boxed kind again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2004

      J--this is delicious! Very easy, the work is in the prep. Get that done first,and then get ready to go. I left out the celery, only because you said you did, and I wan't in a celery mood, lol. I wasn't entirely sure about the bbq sauce, but you know...it's perfect in this! It adds a subtle smoky flavor that goes well with the other ingredients. We absolutely loved it J, and will be making it again. Thanks! (OK tt, now you don't have to be afraid to try it :P)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      This was a big hit at our house! We didn't add the bacon, chicken or shrimp. Only had chipotle bbq sauce and it still turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      Good but not great. We spiced it up and everyone enjoyed. Will make again and use this as a base.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      I followed the recipe to the T and the rice did not cook. We had hard rice in our meal that night. The flavor was great, but the hard rice ruined it. Thanks anyways!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      I've never had proper jambalaya but this recipe inspired me to make my own kind of version using some british ingredients (incl. white pudding) and some veggies that we like. I'm sure it tasted nothing on earth like this jambalaya does but I wanted to say thank you anyway for the inspiration!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      This is the best! It was so very good. It makes a huge batch, but is just as good reheated. I didn't have garlic bbq sauce so i used what i had on hand (Famous Dave's Sweet & Zesty) and it had just the right kick. I also used Turkey Smoked Sausage to reduce the fat (every little bit helps, right)! Otherwise, i followed the recipe as is. I will definetely be making this many times to come. I got rave reviews! Thank you for this recipe! Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      This recipe was awesome:) I didn't change anything except for the celery. My hubby and I aren't celery fans. It was awesome!! The best jambalaya I've ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      Soooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      This recipe tasted very good and was pretty easy to put together. I didn't use the celery (because my husband HATES it), but otherwise followed the recipe as written. My only comment is that I personally like a little more rice in my jambalaya than I got with this. Next time I make this, I'll either add more rice or just make extra to mix in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      This was excellent & received rave reviews in the house. I couldn't decide between making paella & jambalaya & ended up adding 1 tsp turmeric & 1 tbsp paprika, plus replaced the tomato sauce with 19oz chopped tomatoes & juice - turned out spectacular!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      This is fantastic! I used chicken broth instead of water and left the sausage in the whole time to aid in flavor. I cooked it about an hour putting the pre-cooked chicken in about 20 minutes before serving and the shrimp about 4 minutes to plate! WOW!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2006

      I've cooked this up twice now, and it is absolutly awesome! I did have slight changes. I didn't have garlic barbecue sauce, so I used 2 tsp. of garlic, chili paste. Left out the cayenne pepper. Then used regular barbecue sauce. Also added 1 can of diced tomatoes and chilies. This is a great recipe, and I will be making this again and again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      Wowie! We had this for Fat Tuesday and boy was this great! We certainly will be making this again. Thank you Jelisa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      Such an easy recipe and was a big hit with family and friends. I thought that the BBQ sauce sounded strange but it tastes great! I have made it twice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2005

      Turned out great! I added some canned chopped tomatoes with their liquid and increased the rice to 2 cups. I roasted the garlic and then added that. I also omitted the celery (not a fan!). Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2005

      The best jambalaya we have ever had. I skip the bacon and use olive oil instead. Still turns out GREAT !! I use a honey bar-b-que sauce that turns out wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2005

      I wish I could give this recipe 10 stars! I did all the chopping and meat prep done first, assembled all of the other ingredients, and started putting it together. I left out the celery and used spicey honey bbq sauce but otherwise made as posted. Very easy to do. DH just inhaled it and asked if we could have it often. I am not a fan of jambalaya but I ate two helpings as well. What a great Fat Tuesday!!! Thanks for posting this keeper!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jambalaya w/shrimp, chicken and sausage

    Serving Size: 1 (453 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 847.6
     
    Calories from Fat 376
    44%
    Total Fat 41.8 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 13.2 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 224.7 mg
    74%
    Sodium 2914.9 mg
    121%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.1 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 16.4 g
    65%
    Protein 53.4 g
    106%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites