Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jambalaya for the Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jambalaya for the Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    135 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-135 of 135

    Sort by:

    • on July 06, 2007

      Very good and really easy! This will be in the regular rotation, especially for cold winters up here in the north. I did all my chopping the night before, and just dumped everything in this morning. Changes: instead of shrimp and chicken I used 1 loop turkey smoked sausage cut into discs and 1 1/2 cups cooked cubed ham (from my freezer). Also replaced the cayenne with cajun seasoning as I cannot have to much heat anymore (bad stomach). Also used 2 boxes Zatarains Dirty Rice for the rice. We mounded the rice in the center of our plates and spooned the other stuff over, very very good. Made our whole house smell great on a hot summer day. LOVED IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      This was good. I admit to making quite a few changes - I left out the peppers. Although I know they are an important ingredient in jambalaya, I can't stomach them in any form, which is why I always prefer to make my jambalaya at home. Also, I'm allergic to seafood so I substituted some leftover chopped ham for the shrimp. I also cooked this on the stovetop which worked out just fine, though I'm sure allowing the flavors to blend in the crockpot would have been even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      Used the "change to X servings" to double the recipe to serve 12 (had 9 guests). Added 50% extra tabasco. Looked a bit soupy, so I added the cooked rice to the crockpot for the last hr. Added 1 lb of browned chorizo sausage (couldn't track down andouille) with the shrimp. One of my guests didn't like shrimp, so I pulled out a portion for him before adding the shrimp - worked perfectly. Was a HUGE hit - my guests demolished it. Rice absorbed lots of liquid and ended up richly flavored. Sausage added a great smoky flavor. Would definitely make again. Doubling it (especially with the rice) pushed the capacity of my crock pot though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      very nice and filling. i had to take a nap after eating this both on the first day and then again when i ate the leftovers on day two. i also added a pound of sausage to the stew, used chicken thighs instead of breasts and upped the amount of spices to give it more kick. the result was one terrific and easy jambalaya, though judging by the way it expanded in my stomach i won't be making this very often. it's more a special occasion type of meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      I agree that this recipe is a bit bland, but it was still good. I added a pound of scallops in lieu of shrimp (I had them on hand at home) as well as a pound of smoked sausage. I also used 2t of Tabasco to give it more spice. We all had to add salt individually, so next time I'll try 1-1/2t salt to the crock-pot before cooking. I'll also use chopped tomatoes rather than whole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      I have made this recipe several times. I add 1 lb of andouille sausage and 1 lb of pork or ham as well. Delicious!! Its definately a keeper in our house. I am making it this weekend to take to a party for the Eagles game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      Can't say I followed this recipe exactly. Cleaning out my freezer. I added about 1/2 pound of turkey smoked sausage and 5-6 ounces of shrimp. Probably didn't have quite enough tomato paste. Used brown instant rice. It was excellent. DH says he could eat it once a week. Next time I think I'll use diced tomatoes with green chilies to add a little more zing. Thanks, MizzNezz! Oh, and it was very easy & quick. I like that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      This was a really good crock pot recipe. I will add a little extra spice and some andouille sausage the next time I make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      This was so good. I decided to use this recipe as a guide for my crockpot, using leftover turkey and ham from Christmas, I added smoked sausage, but did not add shrimp. I used the list of ingredients and spices, except for the bell pepper...and I might have thrown in a little extra Tabasco...my DH and I love our foods spicy. Thanks for a great recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2005

      I've had this recipe for a long time and finally tried it. We loved it! The seasoning was perfect and the next day it was even better...I'll add sausage to it next time but it was absolutely delicious. My husband loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2005

      this recipe is GREAT!! A huge hit. I upped the amount of rice to 4 1/2 cups after doubling the recipe. Props to Mizznezz. I also added Andouille Sausages at the end as well as crawfish. Yum Yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2005

      The flavor was great but when I added the shrimp it became entirely too fishy tasting. I'll try cooking the shrimp beforehand and perhaps that will help. Without the shrimp it would have been great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2005

      I guess I'm just joining the crowd in praising this. It was really good. I did not have enough chicken so I used pork as well. Great dish. Thanks MizzNezz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2004

      I had this cooking one night when I had the neighborhood over "just for drinks". When it was done, I asked if anyone would like "a taste". In 2 minutes the whole pot was gone. Many, many rave reviews and requests for the recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2003

      I started this in the crock pot early before church so it would be ready by dinner. It smelled wonderful when we walked in from church. All 5 of us were disappointed b/c it was lacking in flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jambalaya for the Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (434 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 288.2
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    53%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 131.5 mg
    43%
    Sodium 1008.6 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 27.1 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes