135 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I cooked this with 2 big chicken breasts, a pack of uncooked, spicy sausage, chicken broth, franks hot sauce and seasoned salt. This was one of the best meals I've ever made! Cooked it on high, done in 5 hours. Thank you for this yummy recipe! Regular rotation worthy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cali chef July 31, 2013

Wonderful recipe! Seasonings are great as is. I added an extra cup of rice and cooked it all in the crockpot. I also added a pound of andouille sausage. I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katoswife February 08, 2013

I'm a little reluctant to rate, because I cooked the jambalaya on high for 2 hrs & on low for 3 hrs, instead of on low for 8. It was OK, but a little weird. First, the whole tomatoes remained fully intact. Maybe they are supposed to do this? I'm not crazy about a whole tomato all at once, though. Second, the celery was SO crunchy. My mouth got tired from all the chewing! Even after 2-3 more hrs on low & some time in the microwave, the celery was not fun. The flavor was just average. The best part was the shrimp -- perfectly cooked after about 30 min on low in the crock pot. I guess the moral is, follow the recipe?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenFish December 21, 2012

Fantabulous!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmsanchez09 September 20, 2012

I'd really rate this 3.5 stars if I could. It smelled delicious, but there was something missing in the flavor. Not sure what it was. The chicken was perfectly done, not dry at all. I turned it to "warm" for the last hour of cooking, and it all thickened up and stewed a little more. I added the rice at the last 10 minutes, which soaked up remaining juice and gave it a really nice consistency. Instead of shrimp, I used a mild sausage, because my grocery store only had this and cheese sausage...I would have preferred to have andouille for a better flavor. It was a good meal (served with cornbread), but I would have to tweak a few things if I made it again. It didn't take too much like the jambalaya my Louisiana friends make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Milocat April 07, 2012

I hate to be the one that doesn't agree with all of the great reviews, but alas, this wasn't that good. I followed the recipe to a tee, with the exception of the tomatoes- I used diced instead of whole- that's all I had. There was flavor, but not that much. It was a bit on the bland side and quite soupy. Even with the rice. It just needed something. As well as a better texture. Not awful. But not great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PWIII January 24, 2012

This recipe was amazing! Will definitely make this again. Like others, I will add other meats next time for a classic cajun fare. I used RoTel diced tomatoes instead of whole canned tomatoes, also, for added kick. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lawohl January 03, 2012

Wow this was good!! I used 1 T. Chuck Taagarts 'Creole Seasoning' (a homemade version) in place of the basil, parsley and oregano. I also left out the salt and use a sprinkle of Kosher salt after plating instead. Next time for an even spicier version, I might use Allen's brand 'Hoppin' John' with onions, tomatoes and jalepenos in place of the tomatoes. Great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy August 19, 2011

It was pretty good. I don't think it takes a whole 8 hours to cook though. I'm not sure how often it will go into rotation but we enjoyed the meal. I did add cajun seasoning and a few dashes more of hot sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Plumshadow July 21, 2011
Jambalaya for the Crock Pot