138 Reviews

This was an excellent meal. I am going to tweak it, a bit, to my preference (more chicken and shrimp maybe some Andouille sausage). Easy to make and really good. The beef broth made me wonder if it would really be "jambalaya" but it was really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikechudy January 24, 2014

Followed exactly except added some andouille sausage 20 minutes before the dish was completed and turned-up heat to high towards the end to cut down on cooking time by several hours. Used 1.5 cups of rice and used cooked shrimp from Publix. Dish was a hit! The only thing I will do differently next time is to cut the sausage into smaller bites.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
24Tango December 31, 2013

Made this over the weekend for the football game. My boyfriends buddy came in and lifted the lid wanting to know what smelled so good. I used about a pound of chicken, a package of smoked sausage, and a bag of raw, peeled & deveined shrimp(which I added about an hour before it was done). I also used 3/4-1 cup of Uncle Ben's converted-uncooked rice with about 90 minutes left to cook and it thickened up nicely. It was a little extra spicy but I think that was my fault-I gave the cayenne an extra shake or two. <br/>I served garlic bread sticks with this to pick up the juices and all 4 of us who ate it loved it. <br/>Will definitely be putting this in my rotation to make in the future. Thanks for another great recipe MizzNezz.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imarunnergirl September 23, 2013

I cooked this with 2 big chicken breasts, a pack of uncooked, spicy sausage, chicken broth, franks hot sauce and seasoned salt. This was one of the best meals I've ever made! Cooked it on high, done in 5 hours. Thank you for this yummy recipe! Regular rotation worthy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cali chef July 31, 2013

Wonderful recipe! Seasonings are great as is. I added an extra cup of rice and cooked it all in the crockpot. I also added a pound of andouille sausage. I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katoswife February 08, 2013

I'm a little reluctant to rate, because I cooked the jambalaya on high for 2 hrs & on low for 3 hrs, instead of on low for 8. It was OK, but a little weird. First, the whole tomatoes remained fully intact. Maybe they are supposed to do this? I'm not crazy about a whole tomato all at once, though. Second, the celery was SO crunchy. My mouth got tired from all the chewing! Even after 2-3 more hrs on low & some time in the microwave, the celery was not fun. The flavor was just average. The best part was the shrimp -- perfectly cooked after about 30 min on low in the crock pot. I guess the moral is, follow the recipe?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenFish December 21, 2012

Fantabulous!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmsanchez09 September 20, 2012

I'd really rate this 3.5 stars if I could. It smelled delicious, but there was something missing in the flavor. Not sure what it was. The chicken was perfectly done, not dry at all. I turned it to "warm" for the last hour of cooking, and it all thickened up and stewed a little more. I added the rice at the last 10 minutes, which soaked up remaining juice and gave it a really nice consistency. Instead of shrimp, I used a mild sausage, because my grocery store only had this and cheese sausage...I would have preferred to have andouille for a better flavor. It was a good meal (served with cornbread), but I would have to tweak a few things if I made it again. It didn't take too much like the jambalaya my Louisiana friends make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Milocat April 07, 2012

I hate to be the one that doesn't agree with all of the great reviews, but alas, this wasn't that good. I followed the recipe to a tee, with the exception of the tomatoes- I used diced instead of whole- that's all I had. There was flavor, but not that much. It was a bit on the bland side and quite soupy. Even with the rice. It just needed something. As well as a better texture. Not awful. But not great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PWIII January 24, 2012
Jambalaya for the Crock Pot