135 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good easy-to-make crock pot dish which we all enjoyed. Instead of mixing the rice in, I put it on top of rice. Thanks for sharing this keeper -- we will be having this again soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ January 10, 2004

Okay, I don't know why I am rating this only 4 stars, but this is what my family called for. I'm sorry they will not tell me the reasons though other then it sticks to your ribs. I personally thought it was a 10 star rating. Thanx for posting!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizEmerilLagasse December 31, 2003

Didn't make sense to use beef broth with chicken so I substituted chicken broth also added some sliced sausage and creole seasoning and it was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doug B. August 08, 2014

This turned out wonderful! Made exactly as is except I used crushed tomatoes w/ jalapeños in tomato sauce instead of whole tomatoes & tomato paste. We actually decided to put it in tortillas topped w/ cheese. So good!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abouks June 05, 2014

Loved it! Made exactly as written and everyone wanted more. Will be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPT April 15, 2014

Prep time is more tha n the say but it is well worth it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly H. March 09, 2014

Way too tomato-y. I left out the cayenne and still found this to be too spicy for my taste. Usually, if I cut the spicy in half in recipes that does the trick, but not this time. Between the excessive tomato paste and the tabasco, I couldn't really taste anything else. An hour later, I had to break out the Tums. DH, who likes spicier foods, thought it was okay, but he agreed it was too tomato-y. Sorry, but I need to post this for others who don't like a strong tomato flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BriarCraft March 02, 2014

This was an excellent meal. I am going to tweak it, a bit, to my preference (more chicken and shrimp maybe some Andouille sausage). Easy to make and really good. The beef broth made me wonder if it would really be "jambalaya" but it was really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikechudy January 24, 2014

Followed exactly except added some andouille sausage 20 minutes before the dish was completed and turned-up heat to high towards the end to cut down on cooking time by several hours. Used 1.5 cups of rice and used cooked shrimp from Publix. Dish was a hit! The only thing I will do differently next time is to cut the sausage into smaller bites.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
24Tango December 31, 2013

Made this over the weekend for the football game. My boyfriends buddy came in and lifted the lid wanting to know what smelled so good. I used about a pound of chicken, a package of smoked sausage, and a bag of raw, peeled & deveined shrimp(which I added about an hour before it was done). I also used 3/4-1 cup of Uncle Ben's converted-uncooked rice with about 90 minutes left to cook and it thickened up nicely. It was a little extra spicy but I think that was my fault-I gave the cayenne an extra shake or two. <br/>I served garlic bread sticks with this to pick up the juices and all 4 of us who ate it loved it. <br/>Will definitely be putting this in my rotation to make in the future. Thanks for another great recipe MizzNezz.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imarunnergirl September 23, 2013
Jambalaya for the Crock Pot