138 Reviews

Fantastic! I followed the recipe almost exactly (unusual for me!) and it was great and really easy. I used chicken stock instead of beef and red peppers instead of green, though green is more authentic we just don't like them. I did find that the chicken broke down quite a lot because of the long cooking, especially by the next day, but i didn't mind that at all.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeeDelaino March 12, 2008

This was a very good recipe for Jambalaya. The only change I made was I added Andouille(sp?) sausage and an extra tablespoon of Tabasco...we like it spicy. Otherwise I followed the recipe to the T and it turned out wonderful in the crock pot. So simple to just throw everything together and just add in teh rice and shrimp right before serving....I will definitly make this recipe again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Sami March 03, 2008

Firstly, I did change a few things in this but even so, it turned out to be one heck of a recipe! One that will be made again and again! I used 1lb turkey breast cutlets, because that's what I had and I had to omit the shrimp, because of my father's allergies. I didn't have any celery. These changes didn't take away from it, although I would absolutely love to add the shrimp when dad's not here. Thank you so much for the really yummy new dinner for my keepers! UPDATE: This time I made it exactly as posted except to leave out the shrimp and it's an A+, even better than the first time! Don't be timid with the garlic...I put in 4 cloves that I would consider large and they add sooo much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmoochTheCook February 27, 2008

Very good easy-to-make crock pot dish which we all enjoyed. Instead of mixing the rice in, I put it on top of rice. Thanks for sharing this keeper -- we will be having this again soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ January 10, 2004

Okay, I don't know why I am rating this only 4 stars, but this is what my family called for. I'm sorry they will not tell me the reasons though other then it sticks to your ribs. I personally thought it was a 10 star rating. Thanx for posting!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizEmerilLagasse December 31, 2003

Fantastic! Followed recipe exactly. Turned out prefect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denver cook January 01, 2016

Whoa! I purchased a new Crock-Pot recently and have been scouring the site for recipes. Having grown a little tired of chilis, I came across this jambalaya recipe and decided to give it a try. I had my doubts at first, since some of the ingredient measurements seemed quirky, and I made the mistake of cooking the rice beforehand, but surprise, surprise, the jambalaya turned out great! Letting things cook overnight isn't always a good idea, and I have to learn to prepare things better, so after letting my Crock-Pot go into warm mode at 4:00 a.m. (and not coming back to it until 6:00) made me glad that I had pre-cooked the rice. But then, I chose to peel and cook the shrimp before adding them to the mix. I turned the slow cooker on low for another 30 minutes, then let it warm for a bit before serving it up for lunch. Wonderful! It was worth the effort, and I will definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fpuhan November 01, 2015

Didn't make sense to use beef broth with chicken so I substituted chicken broth also added some sliced sausage and creole seasoning and it was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doug B. August 08, 2014

This turned out wonderful! Made exactly as is except I used crushed tomatoes w/ jalapeños in tomato sauce instead of whole tomatoes & tomato paste. We actually decided to put it in tortillas topped w/ cheese. So good!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abouks June 05, 2014

Loved it! Made exactly as written and everyone wanted more. Will be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPT April 15, 2014
Jambalaya for the Crock Pot