136 Reviews

This recipe crashed and burned. I left it to cook overnight, making it exactly to recipe, and when i woke up it was a burnt up mess. All of the liquid had burned off! I won't be trying it again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EBCurry August 25, 2009

Great! So easy to make and barely any leftovers after DH kept going back and back and back! Only changes were no shrimp (we don't eat it), green pepper sauce (no Tabasco in house) and not full complement of cayenne pepper. It still had some kick to it. Thanks for the keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky December 03, 2003

My DH loved this (and he's a picky eater). I did add some jarred jalapeno slices and spicy sausage. Next time I'll thicken the sauce a little.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MicDoc July 10, 2003

Very tasty. Loved the flavors. I added some creole seasoning and next time I think I will thicken it a bit as it was a little juicy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irish Rose July 09, 2003

Amazing flavours/taste! I wish I could give it 4.5 stars, because as others have said, the chicken does tend to dry out if you follow the recipe. So I recommend putting it in half-way through. Put I rounded up to 5 because the rest of the recipe is brilliant and I've cooked this several times including with sausages.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GeorgiaPeaches June 28, 2011

this did not go over very well at my house. The chicken was REALLY dry and we could not even eat it. The shrimp however, were really good. I think I might try it again and leave out the chicken and double the shrimp...maybe add some smoked sausage in the place of the chicken. I love the idea of one pot and everything in it. The kids were so excited that they only had the one pot to clean up.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenofcamping April 02, 2011

My husband loved this recipe and he isn't a huge jambalaya fan. I added more cayenne pepper to mine as I like mine spicy and I did add more rice. I also used red bell pepper instead of green and used chicken broth instead of beef, very flavorful. Next time I will definitely do less shrimp and add some spicy sausage.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berg_carrie February 23, 2011

Just to reiterate what everyone else has said, this is sooooooooooooooooo good! We loved it, and it was very easy to prepare. Thanks for the recipe! The only thing I would change would be to kick up the heat a notch - it was a bit tame from my perspective, but we like things hot.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MattMattBoBatt December 11, 2010

Quite delicious with just the right amount of spice. I only have two complaints, and both MAY have been caused by my slow cooker. I use an Aroma Rice Cooker which has a slow cooker function, but no idea if it's a 'high' or 'low' slow-cook. So, first off, after seven hours of cooking the chicken was quite dry. Next time I'll add it later in the cooking process. The finished product was also a lot soupier than I'm used to jambalaya being, so next time I'll either add the cooked rice sooner or put in uncooked rice and let that cook with it. I'll update with how this went. No idea how this could be called Bland!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tenshi November 01, 2010

This is good but not the best. I'll keep looking for the perfect jambalaya.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes September 28, 2010
Jambalaya for the Crock Pot