Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jambalaya for the Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jambalaya for the Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    134 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 134

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2004

      Very good easy-to-make crock pot dish which we all enjoyed. Instead of mixing the rice in, I put it on top of rice. Thanks for sharing this keeper -- we will be having this again soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2003

      Okay, I don't know why I am rating this only 4 stars, but this is what my family called for. I'm sorry they will not tell me the reasons though other then it sticks to your ribs. I personally thought it was a 10 star rating. Thanx for posting!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2014

      This turned out wonderful! Made exactly as is except I used crushed tomatoes w/ jalapeños in tomato sauce instead of whole tomatoes & tomato paste. We actually decided to put it in tortillas topped w/ cheese. So good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2014

      Loved it! Made exactly as written and everyone wanted more. Will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

      Prep time is more tha n the say but it is well worth it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      Way too tomato-y. I left out the cayenne and still found this to be too spicy for my taste. Usually, if I cut the spicy in half in recipes that does the trick, but not this time. Between the excessive tomato paste and the tabasco, I couldn't really taste anything else. An hour later, I had to break out the Tums. DH, who likes spicier foods, thought it was okay, but he agreed it was too tomato-y. Sorry, but I need to post this for others who don't like a strong tomato flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2014

      This was an excellent meal. I am going to tweak it, a bit, to my preference (more chicken and shrimp maybe some Andouille sausage). Easy to make and really good. The beef broth made me wonder if it would really be "jambalaya" but it was really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      Followed exactly except added some andouille sausage 20 minutes before the dish was completed and turned-up heat to high towards the end to cut down on cooking time by several hours. Used 1.5 cups of rice and used cooked shrimp from Publix. Dish was a hit! The only thing I will do differently next time is to cut the sausage into smaller bites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      Made this over the weekend for the football game. My boyfriends buddy came in and lifted the lid wanting to know what smelled so good. I used about a pound of chicken, a package of smoked sausage, and a bag of raw, peeled & deveined shrimp(which I added about an hour before it was done). I also used 3/4-1 cup of Uncle Ben's converted-uncooked rice with about 90 minutes left to cook and it thickened up nicely. It was a little extra spicy but I think that was my fault-I gave the cayenne an extra shake or two. <br/>I served garlic bread sticks with this to pick up the juices and all 4 of us who ate it loved it. <br/>Will definitely be putting this in my rotation to make in the future. Thanks for another great recipe MizzNezz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2013

      I cooked this with 2 big chicken breasts, a pack of uncooked, spicy sausage, chicken broth, franks hot sauce and seasoned salt. This was one of the best meals I've ever made! Cooked it on high, done in 5 hours. Thank you for this yummy recipe! Regular rotation worthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      Wonderful recipe! Seasonings are great as is. I added an extra cup of rice and cooked it all in the crockpot. I also added a pound of andouille sausage. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      I'm a little reluctant to rate, because I cooked the jambalaya on high for 2 hrs & on low for 3 hrs, instead of on low for 8. It was OK, but a little weird. First, the whole tomatoes remained fully intact. Maybe they are supposed to do this? I'm not crazy about a whole tomato all at once, though. Second, the celery was SO crunchy. My mouth got tired from all the chewing! Even after 2-3 more hrs on low & some time in the microwave, the celery was not fun. The flavor was just average. The best part was the shrimp -- perfectly cooked after about 30 min on low in the crock pot. I guess the moral is, follow the recipe?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2012

      Fantabulous!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2012

    • on April 07, 2012

      I'd really rate this 3.5 stars if I could. It smelled delicious, but there was something missing in the flavor. Not sure what it was. The chicken was perfectly done, not dry at all. I turned it to "warm" for the last hour of cooking, and it all thickened up and stewed a little more. I added the rice at the last 10 minutes, which soaked up remaining juice and gave it a really nice consistency. Instead of shrimp, I used a mild sausage, because my grocery store only had this and cheese sausage...I would have preferred to have andouille for a better flavor. It was a good meal (served with cornbread), but I would have to tweak a few things if I made it again. It didn't take too much like the jambalaya my Louisiana friends make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      I hate to be the one that doesn't agree with all of the great reviews, but alas, this wasn't that good. I followed the recipe to a tee, with the exception of the tomatoes- I used diced instead of whole- that's all I had. There was flavor, but not that much. It was a bit on the bland side and quite soupy. Even with the rice. It just needed something. As well as a better texture. Not awful. But not great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      This recipe was amazing! Will definitely make this again. Like others, I will add other meats next time for a classic cajun fare. I used RoTel diced tomatoes instead of whole canned tomatoes, also, for added kick. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      Wow this was good!! I used 1 T. Chuck Taagarts 'Creole Seasoning' (a homemade version) in place of the basil, parsley and oregano. I also left out the salt and use a sprinkle of Kosher salt after plating instead. Next time for an even spicier version, I might use Allen's brand 'Hoppin' John' with onions, tomatoes and jalepenos in place of the tomatoes. Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      It was pretty good. I don't think it takes a whole 8 hours to cook though. I'm not sure how often it will go into rotation but we enjoyed the meal. I did add cajun seasoning and a few dashes more of hot sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      This was really good! I wanted to put some andouille sausage in it but our meat counter didn't have any. I half cooked some Jimmy Dean Hot sausage and put that in. I think it would have tasted better with andouille. I didn't use any shrimp. No one else likes it but me. Other than that, I stayed to the recipe, very tasty! I had to freeze some!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jambalaya for the Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (434 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 288.2
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    53%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 131.5 mg
    43%
    Sodium 1008.6 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 27.1 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites