Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jambalaya for the Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jambalaya for the Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    135 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 135

    Sort by:

    • on August 25, 2009

      This recipe crashed and burned. I left it to cook overnight, making it exactly to recipe, and when i woke up it was a burnt up mess. All of the liquid had burned off! I won't be trying it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2003

      Great! So easy to make and barely any leftovers after DH kept going back and back and back! Only changes were no shrimp (we don't eat it), green pepper sauce (no Tabasco in house) and not full complement of cayenne pepper. It still had some kick to it. Thanks for the keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2003

      My DH loved this (and he's a picky eater). I did add some jarred jalapeno slices and spicy sausage. Next time I'll thicken the sauce a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2003

      Very tasty. Loved the flavors. I added some creole seasoning and next time I think I will thicken it a bit as it was a little juicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      Amazing flavours/taste! I wish I could give it 4.5 stars, because as others have said, the chicken does tend to dry out if you follow the recipe. So I recommend putting it in half-way through. Put I rounded up to 5 because the rest of the recipe is brilliant and I've cooked this several times including with sausages.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2011

      this did not go over very well at my house. The chicken was REALLY dry and we could not even eat it. The shrimp however, were really good. I think I might try it again and leave out the chicken and double the shrimp...maybe add some smoked sausage in the place of the chicken. I love the idea of one pot and everything in it. The kids were so excited that they only had the one pot to clean up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      My husband loved this recipe and he isn't a huge jambalaya fan. I added more cayenne pepper to mine as I like mine spicy and I did add more rice. I also used red bell pepper instead of green and used chicken broth instead of beef, very flavorful. Next time I will definitely do less shrimp and add some spicy sausage.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      Just to reiterate what everyone else has said, this is sooooooooooooooooo good! We loved it, and it was very easy to prepare. Thanks for the recipe! The only thing I would change would be to kick up the heat a notch - it was a bit tame from my perspective, but we like things hot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      Quite delicious with just the right amount of spice. I only have two complaints, and both MAY have been caused by my slow cooker. I use an Aroma Rice Cooker which has a slow cooker function, but no idea if it's a 'high' or 'low' slow-cook. So, first off, after seven hours of cooking the chicken was quite dry. Next time I'll add it later in the cooking process. The finished product was also a lot soupier than I'm used to jambalaya being, so next time I'll either add the cooked rice sooner or put in uncooked rice and let that cook with it. I'll update with how this went. No idea how this could be called Bland!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      This is good but not the best. I'll keep looking for the perfect jambalaya.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      This was the best and easiest jambalaya! My DH and I loved it! The only thing I changed on the directions was to add 1 1/2 cups of UNCOOKED 5-minute rice. 30 minutes was plenty time for it to cook in the mix and it soaked up all the flavors of the juices. We added 2 lbs of shrimp and 1 lb of turkey sausage. PERFECTO!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      This was terrible. We are NOT picky eaters and love almost everything, but this was not like any jambalaya we've ever eaten. I cooked according to directions except I was out of tomato paste, but I know that didn't alter the taste that much. The chicken was dry and the shrimp was flavorless. I think if the shrimp had been marinated in a cajun seasoning while the jambalaya was cooking, that might have solved that. Because I spent so much money on the chicken and the shrimp, I tried to doctor this up as best as I could so that all my money was not wasted. I ended up sauteeing some sausage and onions, topped with cajun seasoning, and mixed it in with the rice and jambalaya. We finished as much of it as we could, but will never use this crock pot recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      I've made this recipe twice now. The first time I followed it exactly, and I would have given it 4 stars. It was very good, but it seemed like something was missing. This time, I added 3 andouille sausages, sliced thin, and substituted a can of tomatoes and green chiles for the can of whole tomatoes. With these changes, I give the recipe 5+ stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      This dish was great. My family kind of turned up their noses when I told them what I was making, but quickly changed their tune when they took that first bite. I prepared the recipe basically as written; I just eyeball the measurements but I'm sure it was pretty close. There was just the right amount of heat - enough to taste but not so much that my 2 year old wouldn't eat it. I will certainly be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      This was delicious. The whole family enjoyed it. I actually made it on the stove since I didn't plan early enough to put it in the crock pot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      We really liked this! I don't know if I didn't put the rice in soon enough at the end, but mine turned out a little soupy. It still was very wonderful with flavor. Amazing there were left overs, but there are only 2 of us eating it. The next night it was the perfect consistency. I just threw the pot back in it tasted perfect. I think the only thing I changed was using chicken broth instead of beef. I too added some smoked turkey sausage and it REALLY made the meal. I didn't even bother cutting up the chicken breasts, they broke up pretty easily themselves, the more they cooked and I stirred. I wonder if you could just add uncooked rice the last hour or so? I'm always up for less dishes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      Fantastic! I followed the recipe almost exactly (unusual for me!) and it was great and really easy. I used chicken stock instead of beef and red peppers instead of green, though green is more authentic we just don't like them. I did find that the chicken broke down quite a lot because of the long cooking, especially by the next day, but i didn't mind that at all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      I made this recipe a few weeks back and am catching up on reviews. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe! Changes I made: added the entire small mini-can of paste (didn't want to waste) and also added some smoked sausage as well as chicken. I added the chicken /sausage in still frozen and it came out just great. Also instead of plain tomatoes I used one can diced tomatoes with green chilies (to spice it up!) Also added more tabasco and cayenne to taste. We love spicy! I love this and will use it often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      This was a very good recipe for Jambalaya. The only change I made was I added Andouille(sp?) sausage and an extra tablespoon of Tabasco...we like it spicy. Otherwise I followed the recipe to the T and it turned out wonderful in the crock pot. So simple to just throw everything together and just add in teh rice and shrimp right before serving....I will definitly make this recipe again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      Firstly, I did change a few things in this but even so, it turned out to be one heck of a recipe! One that will be made again and again! I used 1lb turkey breast cutlets, because that's what I had and I had to omit the shrimp, because of my father's allergies. I didn't have any celery. These changes didn't take away from it, although I would absolutely love to add the shrimp when dad's not here. Thank you so much for the really yummy new dinner for my keepers! UPDATE: This time I made it exactly as posted except to leave out the shrimp and it's an A+, even better than the first time! Don't be timid with the garlic...I put in 4 cloves that I would consider large and they add sooo much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jambalaya for the Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (434 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 288.2
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    53%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 131.5 mg
    43%
    Sodium 1008.6 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 27.1 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites