135 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The food was excellent,very easy to prepare,had to watch the fluid level so that it wouldn't dry out during cooking. I added "Tony Chachere's original creole seasoning" after it was cooked. Next time in preparing this wonderful meal I'm going to add smoked ham, smoked sausage, crab meat, oysters. As close to cajun as you can get.

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan A. McGee October 25, 2002

This recipe was great! Easy to make and satisfied my husband who is a picky eater....will make this one again. This recipe also meets my nutritional needs, fits in with the Weight Watchers point system.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chattycathy642 October 27, 2002

This is a super crockpot version of Jambalya. I followed the recipe exactly, and the seasonings were perfect and not too spicy. The consistency of the Jambalya was excellent and the leftovers tasted great the next day. This will be added to my favorite weekend crockpot recipes.

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missyb33 October 20, 2002

Ooh, I was worried about this one. My wife and in-laws are from south east Texas very close to Louisiana and I made this for them, and they all cleaned their plates and raved about the taste. Things I did different: I used 1 green pepper (didn't measure volume), used a very big onion, 3 stalks of celery, 3 boneless chicken breasts, 1 package smoked turkey sausage, and about as much shrimp volume as chicken. I think we also added 4 1/2 cups rice, but next time we'll add more. I don't know what happened with the other reviewers' liquid volume but we had plenty. The flavor was very mild, even for me and I'm a wimp. That's the beauty of this recipe. You can make it for anyone and if people want to burn their own mouths off they can add their own spice. This was super and it's going in our rotation right away. *Very* easy also, just chop up stuff and throw it in. My kind of meal. Thanks for the keeper!

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrinkDawg March 10, 2003

YUMMMMM! This is a great crockpot recipe. I did everything as per the recipe, except I added some cooked smoked sausage at the end. The whole house smelled wonderful when I came home from work and I couldn't wait to dig in. This recipe is not overly spicy, so it works for just about anyone. But for those that like it hot, they may want to sprinkle in some Cajun seasoning at the end.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Call Me Martha November 21, 2002

I made this for company last night. I added a pound of andouille sausage, a few sprinkles of emerils bayou blast, and worcestershire sauce. Everyone loved it, even my picky daughter

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia November 07, 2002

We really enjoyed this recipe. I studied the other reviews & made the following adjustments since we like things a little spicier:
- 2 chicken breasts, 3 turkey sausages & 1 lb of shrimp.
- Used 1 can of diced spicy tomatoes seasoned w/jalepeno & a small can of garlic roasted tomato paste
- Left out the salt, but added ~1 T. of Cajun Seasoning & tripled the Tabasco sauce
- Added 1 1/2 cups uncooked rice w/4 hours into it. Also added another cup of chicken broth, but probably could've used more. You may want to add 1 1/2 - 2 cups of add'l broth if you decided to cook the rice in w/the rest of the jambalaya.
- Only cooked for about 6 hours, but was perfecto.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy laree November 01, 2010

I tryed this and it was great, I will use it over and over'

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendy june October 26, 2002

Great recipe! Only thing I did different is to substitute thyme for the basil. I added Andouille sausage, also. Thanks, Carole

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando February 06, 2003

I have to admit that I was a bit skeptical when I was putting all of the ingredients into my crockpot, but it turns out that this dish had wonderful flavor. I read some reviews that said they had to watch the liquid to make sure it didn't dry out, so I added extra liquids, since I was going to be gone all day and wouldn't have a chance to watch it for dryness. Turns out that it was a little too liquidy, so it may just be different varieties of crockpots. We loved it anyway. We'll definately make this one again! -lubie-

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lubie November 13, 2002
Jambalaya for the Crock Pot