10 Reviews

I made this Jambalaya for lunch today...EXCELLENT! This certainly hit the spot and I will make this dish over and over again. Looking forward to having the left-overs for tomorrow. Thank you very much for sharing. :-)

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot October 23, 2002

I would give this 10 stars if I could. (And I rarely give 5 stars!) So easy, but so delicious. My family and guests loved it. I added red pepper flakes and tabasco for an added zing. I served this with okra & tomatoes (#309730) and cornbread for a FANTASTIC meal. This would also be good with chicken substituted for the kielbasa.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
preslar August 01, 2009

Kid approved! I added some finely chopped bell peppers and served peas on the side. I used leftover ham instead of the kielbasa.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lille April 01, 2009

I ran out of celery so I used scallions instead. I also used chicken and kielbasa. I should have rinsed my balsami rice first, because It came out tasting like a small hint of burlap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewEnglandCook July 12, 2008

This was delicious. I wasn't sure what converted rice was, so I used regular white long grain and it worked just fine. I sometimes leave out the shrimp, depending on whether I have some or not. Thanks for a great weeknight dinner recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeighAnn October 30, 2007

Fabulous! Took 10 mins to put together then it was into the oven & ready an hour later. Doesn't even need stirring! Partner loved it & asked me to "leave that one on your list" so it was a hit all round. I ran out of time to thaw the frozens, so I just put them in at the start of the cooking time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewAussieMum September 24, 2006

I cooked this in an electric skillet at 350˚ for 30 min. I kept a close eye on it, but still didn't catch it in time before the rice burnt a little bit. But this dish was so yummy that it didn't matter. DH went back for seconds. He ate so much that he was 2 lbs heavier in the morning. Thanks, I will definitely be adding this to my collection!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itstime4cake July 02, 2006

Now this was yummy! I liked the fact that even though there were a lot of ingrediants, it was still easy to make. I am looking forward to making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annie~C~ May 23, 2005

I used the frozen kind of shrimp. I would guess that it was previously cooked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey Chapman November 22, 2002

This sounds yummy except the shrimp part can I substitute chicken instead I am alergic to shrimp

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eva Arnim October 25, 2002
Jambalaya