Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jambalaya Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jambalaya

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on April 19, 2008

      This was easy to put together and my husband really liked it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      Super Recipe! I totally agree with keeping the rice out. When you have leftovers, if the rice is in the dish, it continues to soak up liquid and becomes a real mess. If you plan to serve up all of it, then by all means add the rice, otherwise stir it in to the bit you're serving up or serve it over top and then you can freeze the jambalaya sans rice. These flavors are really authentic...i upped the herbs and spices a bit (except the heat which i lowered for kids). Thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      loved it. Thanks for sharing will make it again. Made it extra spicy but used only 1 lb of andouille sausage cause thats all I had. I will try 2lbs next time. I liked the suggestion of cooking the rice sep.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      I really enjoyed it, and my husband and father liked the taste as well. I didn't use a spicy sausage (we don't eat pork - I used smoked beef sausage), so to make up for it, I added a can of diced tomatoes and chiles. That kicked it up a couple of notches, but still tasted good. I served it once with brown rice, and once with pasta (oh no!). Both were good, but the rice was better. I must admit, it took a lot longer than 20 minutes for me to assemble, but I suppose that's because my ingredients didn't come already diced and minced.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

    • on February 24, 2007

      Delicious! The blend of spices works great in this dish. I'll be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

    • on September 01, 2006

      Fantastic, will be a regular around our house. Kids liked it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      There goes another recipe into the "favorites" bin. Wouldn't change a thing. Loved it. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2006

      the only jambalaya i had ever had was terrible jambalaya at a cajun restaurant in victoria, canada. i had to prove to myself that it isn't supposed to be that bad, and that i could make it way better. this recipe helped me prove myself right! this was EXCELLENT! i was so pleased with the outcome, and it was easy to make! i'm not experienced with cayenne pepper and i put the whole teaspoon in. the spicyness was just right! i'm definitly going to put shrimp into the leftovers for dinner tomorrow night...YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2006

      This is the best jambalya you will ever eat. Firm favourite in our house.Try adding a big handful of shrimp to cook through just before serving. If you think cooking the rice separately will cause some heart attacks try cooking some dumplings instead! Now that is RADICAL! Heaven in a dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      Toss that box of Jambalaya out the window! This is the "real" thing. Thank you DiB's for a great recipe. It's a KEEPER.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      My husband and I usually like very spicy foods but this was just too much! We used a moderate heat andouille and with the 1 tsp of cayenne, it was just scorching. Next time, we'll use 1/4 to 1/2 tsp cayenne and add more as needed. The base of the sauce was great, though. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2005

      This was very tasty and quite easy to throw together for me and the hubby. I like the rice on the side as well. Next time, I'm adding shrimp!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2005

      This is very good, and easy, and I had most of the ingredients on hand. I didn't have chicken, but added shrimp, and substituted yellow bell pepper. A good Make-After-Work meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      This recipe went over well with my husband who is not a Jambalaya fan, he said this was the best he has tasted. Thanks for Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

      I made this for Easter dinner and it was a big hit! It is so yummy, and I like the fact that the rice is cooked separately. Instead of one whole chicken, I used about 6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into bite-sized pieces. I'm not a fan of andouille sausage, so I opted for a mild chorizo. I guess I didn't use enough chicken because, while my dinner guests raved about this jambalaya, they all agreed that there was too much chorizo and that it overpowered the chicken. Question of opinion, I guess - I personally liked it with a lot of chorizo! Even so, I made this again a few days ago using only half the chorizo and 8 chicken breasts. Came out great, and my guests really enjoyed it! Thanks for sharing this recipe; it has found a permanent place in my cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2005

      I've made this 3 times already and my family loves it. The third time I made it with brown rice with wonderful results as well. Thanks for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2005

      Jambalaya made easy -- and really, really good. I've made it three times in the past four weeks, and each time is better: I just used this recipe to enjoy Fat Tuesday. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2005

      Loved it. Love the kick it gives also. I will be using this frequently. It also gave me some brownie points from the in-laws. Thanks Jeremy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jambalaya

    Serving Size: 1 (390 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 859.0
     
    Calories from Fat 491
    57%
    Total Fat 54.5 g
    83%
    Saturated Fat 19.4 g
    97%
    Cholesterol 144.7 mg
    48%
    Sodium 2002.4 mg
    83%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 44.2 g
    88%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites