Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jambalaya Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jambalaya

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2011

    • on March 08, 2011

      My Mom and I decided to have a cook off for Fat Tuesday! ha ha! She is doing a Seafood Gumbo and I decided on this recipe. I'm glad I did! It's extremely tasty! The only thing I had to do different (because my local Grocery Store is always limited on items) I bought Chorizo (thank goodness they at least had that) and they only had thin sliced boneless skinless Chicken Breasts which ended up fine too. Normally I always cook rice on the side but for this recipe, I thought I would add it in. It's cooking as we speak on low setting and tastes and looks good! I am not one for spice so I went really light on the Cayenne, but did add a tiny dash of crushed red pepper flakes. Cant wait for the Judge to get home and have his Dinner! and for My Mom to try it! I may drive some over there tonight! hee hee hee! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

    • on October 14, 2009

      I cooked this with the rice in it and it had a really nice consistancy, even the day after. I just added one more cup of stock and threw in 2 cups of white long grain rice. I also added some chopped ham.. It was absolutely amazing. I loved it. I'm going to make more and bring people over to fall in love with it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      This was DEELIICIOUS. My friend walked into the house, smelled the air, and asked me if I was making jambalaya.. talk about authentic aromas! I didn't have any chicken on hand, so I just used sausages, ham and added some shrimp at the very end. I also added some bay leaves for a little extra flavour. I also made my jambalaya more on the spicier side and everyone loved it. I really like adding the jambalaya to the rice rather than having the rice already in there (especially when some people like a lot of rice and others like less) Great recipe; I'll definitely make this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      I have made this recipe about 5 times now and my family and I just love it. I like how flexible it is; you could add any protein or spices you wanted to it and it would still be delicious. In fact, I served this to my extended family a month or two ago, and they had never even heard of jambalaya let alone tried it and they still rave about it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      Yum, I do so love jambalaya! I used the andouille in this, as well as some cut up cooke chicken breast, and shrimp. I added the rice in- it wasn't too terribly "gluey". We all added some Tabasco sauce to it, which gave it a nice little kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      I made this for a small get together I had. Although I thought that it was just a bit too hot, (used half the amount of listed cayenne) all my guests raved about it. I will use a less spicy chirozo next time, but there will be many more "next times" thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Great recipe. Will add shrimp and smoked sausage next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      No doubt! This is really good. I had to tweak it a little because I did not have all of the ingredients but it was still soooo good. My husband and son really enjoyed it too. Thumbs up!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      Great!! I would like to make a couple of suggestions though. Instead of chicken you can add shrimp or for those with shellfish allergies try adding any cubed firm white fish like cod or halibut. Add the fish for the last 15 minutes of cooking only. Also try this with rice flaovered with 1/2 cup diced onions and a couple of bay leaves. Simply add to the rice before cooking. If spicy sausae is not for you try smoked sausage instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      I made it for the first time for an office potluck. What a hit! Can I give it 6 stars?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      I like jambalaya alot , but often have the problem that my rice turns mushy when cooking...this, i loved because of the fact that the rice is seperate; i also thought the flavours were much more intense because of this .This will be my go to recipe from now on, even if the purists might growl .lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      I used oil instead of shortening and found some fantastic hot "rope" sausage at the local market and this dish turned out with plenty of heat. Very pleased with the flavor and am now a believer in cooking the rice separately, it came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Great Recipe! I made it just as is with only a few minor variations... I used Chipotle Chili to compliment the chorizo sausage (both smokey), and I added shrimp at the end. Also, instead of cooking the rice separately (I was worried it wouldn't take on the flavor of the jambalaya) I cooked it all together, but then right at the end I added the tomatoes (canned), to thin it our and to make sure it wasn't "glue". I also used 2 tbs of sugar to counter the spice (my own personal taste). Yum yum yum. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      This is wonderful and easy to make! I added shrimp in during the last 15 minutes or so of cooking. Adding the rice last is perfect! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe! Took it tailgating for the Bengal's game. It was a total hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      I have never before had Jambalaya, and I wanted something different so I decided to give it a try. I subbed olive oil for shortening and added the cooked rice to the jambalaya for the last few minutes of cooking. I am very fortunate in that I live 2 blocks from the historic Italian Market in South Philly, where there is a Mexican butcher shop that makes their own chrorizo sausage and since it is early September, I was able to get Jersey tomatoes in their prime. This dish is absolutely fantastic! I've never tasted anything like it but it was the perfect blend of textures and flavors. I served it with a bagette to soak up extra broth and my guest went back for a third helping! Thanks for a terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      To reduce calories, we used diced chicken breast, spicy Italian turkey sausage, and doubled the tomatoes and it was still absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      I made this recipe with a couple friends and it came out great! There was plenty to go around, and we had the option to make it as spicy or mild as we wanted. Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      EXCELLENT! When I've tried other jambalayas, I always felt like something was missing. This is so flavorful without being overdone. I made sure I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. I also substituted one package of kielbasa for the andouille sausage, as I couldn't find andouille at any stores in my area. I used 3 chicken breasts cut into large cubes and the last 10 minutes of cooking I added two handfuls of precooked shrimp. Delicious! This is going straight to my favorite recipes file. Definitely something I would make for company. Thank you so much for posting this recipe! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jambalaya

    Serving Size: 1 (390 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 859.0
     
    Calories from Fat 491
    57%
    Total Fat 54.5 g
    83%
    Saturated Fat 19.4 g
    97%
    Cholesterol 144.7 mg
    48%
    Sodium 2002.4 mg
    83%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 44.2 g
    88%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites