Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jambalaya Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jambalaya

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on November 30, 2002

      Very good AND the kids liked it too! I also used chicken breasts, hot sausage & some shrimp at the end. This one is definately a keeper. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2003

      Wow, this was sooooo good and I can't wait to make it again! I did make a couple of small changes...substituted diced ham for the chicken (only because I didn't have any chicken) and added shrimp. I'm going to make sure I have chicken the next time I make this. I always cook my rice separately also because DH doesn't eat rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2002

      This was a great recipe for any level cook. I am by no means a culinary genius, and making this recipe was a cinch. I found that adding the hot sausages really gave this recipe a kick and complimented the cayenne well (while not being too hot). This is definitely a recipe that we are going to keep!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2002

      This was very good!!! I used chicken breasts, hot italian sausage and threw in some shrimp right at the very end. I used red pepper instead of green because that is all I had. Great flavour. I prefer the rice cooked seperatley as well. I will definatley make this again and again. Thanks for another great recipe Diana!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

      This recipe was great! I've never made Jambalaya before, and this was incredibly easy and tasty. I used boneless chicken breasts, and cut the cayenne by half to suit our taste. Delicious! I think this is a new favourite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      Love this recipe! My son the chef told me the rice should be cooked in with the Jambalaya, I tried it both ways, and i do prefer the rice cooked separately. I also added shrimp to the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      excellent! ( I think....)
      Never tasted a jambalaya before, but a friend requested it, and as he came up to paint my steps :)
      I could refuse could I?
      He said he wanted it with sausage, like chorizo, but he had never tasted it before either :)
      I decided to try your recipe, befcause I have tried a few, and they have been good.
      and so was this one, he raved, he had two serves, and leftovers for lunch. I loved it too, and will be making it again. Thanks Dibs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      We loved it! I switched onion for green onion and added tomato paste to make it thicker. I cooked the rice separately and then added it at the end to absorb left over liquid, even my 5 year old gobbled it up! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      I made this for New Years Day last year (tradition and such) and had several of my friends over. All I can tell you is that I should have made more. Every single drop was eaten, and one guy went back for thirds. THIRDS. Now, I'm sure that I altered the quantities of... everything... in small ways, but I suspect that even if you made it precisely as the recipe lays out, you would love it. As an aside, I was born and raised a southerner, and yes, cooking the rice separately would make my grandmother cry, but tough, it's delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Delish exactly as directed! Perfect for cooking up and freezing smaller portions ahead--without rice it fits in the freezer even better and is a snap to prepare later. Thank you for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2004

      Great recipe. I followed everything step by step.My family loved it.ty for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      My whole family loved this meal! It was so delicious. The balance of flavors is right on. The only substitutions I made were to use boneless, skinless chicken thighs, shrimp, and a chicken bouillon cube with water in place of the broth. Other than that, I followed it as directed. I left ours pretty mild, which is how we like it. I prepared white rice for my family and had mine over quinoa - delicious!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      Had a packet of chorizo I wanted to use up, made a few minor adjustments but it was very very delicious. It really makes a world of difference cooking the rice separately. Thanks for the wonderful recipe DiB's.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Awesome. I really like topping it over rice as opposed to cooking it all together. My wife does the same thing... I'm a late bloomer I guess. But great flavor on this one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      This was really good. I used to make the boxed stuff, but my family and myself loved this homemade version and will definately make it again. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      This was delicious! I used chicken legs and thighs, cooked as described. I only used one pound of andouille sausage. I didn't think it was too hot but if you didn't want it hot you could probably just use kelbasa. I wasn't sure if the tomatoes were supposed to be drained, I will not drain them next time so there is more broth. The broth is so tasty I could just drink it. I like adding the rice seperately because I like a lot of rice and my husband does not.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2013

      This is in no way Jambalaya. Jamabalaya is cooked WITH rice and everything else cooked together...and is not a soup or sauce ladled over rice. This is basically a chicken creole sauce over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      Really good. I added diced ham and shrimp also. We loved this. thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      I love the flavor of jambalaya but hate how mushy rice ruins the dish. This was dead on in flavor with no starchy mushy mouth feel. Followed the recipe but amped up the heat with hot sauce at the table. Excellent flavor and my brother in law can't stop raving about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      i usually add the rice when masking jambalaya but i tried it this way. I must say i like it better not adding the rice and it makes for much better leftovers!!!! love this thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Chicken Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jambalaya

    Serving Size: 1 (390 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 859.0
     
    Calories from Fat 491
    57%
    Total Fat 54.5 g
    83%
    Saturated Fat 19.4 g
    97%
    Cholesterol 144.7 mg
    48%
    Sodium 2002.4 mg
    83%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 44.2 g
    88%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites