Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jamaican Spice Bun Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jamaican Spice Bun Bread

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2014

      Made this Jamaican bun as a surprise for my husband and he loved it, such a great texture and it cost less to make than the traditional buns that use eggs and wine.<br/>I will certainly make this again.<br/>Thanks for a great recipe.<br/>Conyers,GA

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2014

      I tried this recipe and my bun didn't last two days! It was sooooo good. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

      This was an excellent recipe! It reminded me of my childhood when I would stand side by side with my Jamaican grandmother in our kitchen making Easter buns. She used yeast in her recipe and "set it up" overnight. I've always been a bit intimidated to use yeast so I never tried to make buns the way she did. This was soooo easy and soooo delicious. I've already made two double batches and I'm mailing some to family members on the East coast. The only thing that I would change about this recipe is the next time I won't add the fruit until after mixing the wet with the dry because flour gets in the creases of the fruit and doesn't always "mix out". Great recipe. Thanks so much for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      Oh, this was wonderful! I used homemade beer and added some chopped apricots instead of the orange craisins but, other than that, followed the recipe to the letter. Just echoing the other praises; this was wonderfully moist and flavorful. An instant favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      Just lovely and so moist! I only had pale beer (and would rather sip Guiness than cook with it) and did not have craisins so used bottled morello cherries. It was a hit at Easter topped with lemon icing, a sprinkle of hundreds and thousands, and a some decorative chicks perched on the corners.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      DELICIOUS!! I have been craving this for sometime, but wanted to try making it for myself. I followed your recipe, except I left out the jam/marmalade, I used fresh grated ginger instead of ground and for fruit, I just used the raisins and diced up maraschino cherries. I live in a dry climate so I backed the loaf at 300ºF for 45min. It turned out soft, moist and SOOOOO yummy! It goes good with cheese, but get the processed stuff from any caribbean bakery. THANKS FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      This was wonderful. Dark, dense, and sweet with a nice texture. My dh & I really enjoyed this spicy, flavorful bread. I used strawberry jam, buckwheat honey and cherry craisins. I served this tasty bread with butter and old cheddar cheese. It was delicous, I will make this again. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      Good...dark, dense and flavorful, like nothing I've had before - something like a hybrid between a molasses spice cookie and my Grandma's fruitcake. I'm not leaving any stars in case I did something wrong, as it didn't seem to rise - because of this it could have all fit in one 9x5 pan instead of two. Perhaps it was meant to be in two mini loaf pans, or I overcooked the beer or my baking powder is getting old? Not quite sure. Made for Pick a Chef Fall '07.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jamaican Spice Bun Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1552 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2130.9
     
    Calories from Fat 148
    98%
    Total Fat 16.5 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 703.2 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 485.7 g
    161%
    Dietary Fiber 20.1 g
    80%
    Sugars 281.7 g
    1127%
    Protein 23.2 g
    46%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    browning sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites