Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jamaican Rice and Peas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jamaican Rice and Peas

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2014

      We love Rice & Peas, its a regular dish at our home. Your version is wonderful, very spicy and tasty. We really enjoyed the addition of allspice, brown sugar and garlic in it. We love scotch bonnet peppers, so I minced a small one and added it to the rice... so good. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe, it was the perfect accompaniment for the Jerk Chicken and Creamy Coleslaw. Made for Name That Ingredient Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      I made this recipe for island foodies and they were raving!! This is the recipe to with! I did modify the recipe a teeny bit by sautéing the scallions, onions, and garlic in coconut oil before adding to the beans with the rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

      AMAZING!! I regularly make this now, especially when I want to impress someone. SO yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2013

      This got a thumbs up from Jamaican and Trinidadian friends. Yum! As with others, had to use coconut milk and an alternate pepper (Serrano, in my case). I was tempted to skip the brown sugar, but DON'T. It added a necessary layer of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

      Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

      Really good! I substituted a jalepeno pepper finely diced for the scotch bonnet. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      Thanks for a great recipe! I used coconut milk instead of cream because I couldn't find any in the store. I didn't put in a pepper but added a pinch of cayenne pepper. The recipe had an authentic taste and tasted like many of the Jamaican restaurants I have visited. This is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      Delicious! Really enjoyed this. I did use 2 cans of pink beans, then threw everything into 1 big pot and simmer until the rice was tender. I will make this recipe again. I've never been able to find a recipe for "rice and beans" that I was fond of, but this is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Having never eaten Jamaican food before this was definitely a nice place to start. It was very tasty. I used a jalapeno pepper since I couldn't find a scotch bonnet pepper. Worked out fine. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      This is just like I remember!!! I'm so excited to know how to make these. My house smelled so good while making these. I didn't have a scotch bonnet so I cut some slits into a jalapeno and used that, it worked great,just the right amout of heat. I will make this again, whenever I'm in the mood for the islands. So good and easy to make. Thank you for sharing this recipe withus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      Absolutely fantastic! This was my secong attempt at rice and peas (my first attempt was unedible) and it turned out amazingly delicious. I served with jerk chicken and carribean corn. I had to cut up my habenero for the corn so I threw in about a one inch wide slice of the pepper and it was quite spicy. Just perfect. Thanks for posting, I will definitely be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      This recipe was wonderful. I used a whole habanero, can't get scotch bonnet. it was spicy but not too spicy. otherwise made as is. made again next day without and the flavor was just as good, just milder. Got rave reviews from my guests on Saturday. made to go with jerk chicken. this is a keeper! vanessa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Such a good recipe! I use tinned beans to make it faster. Loved the complex flavour the rice and beans absorbed from the spices and coconut cream. Served with grilled chicken kebabs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      I only have 2 in my house, so I quartered the recipe, and there was still lots to spare. But the taste is fabulous! Next time I will stick a pin in my pepper so a little of the spice comes out. This was perfect tonight, I had DS's friends here for dinner, and they wouldn't have liked it too hot. But for me...this would be a main dish with a little more heat! The smell while the beans and coconut milk were simmering made me want to go ahead and start eating! I used basmati rice, and this dish is fabulous! Made for ZWT5. No photos...they all turned out awful! Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Excellent Recipe. Very time consuming, but well worth it. There is only 3 of us, I should have cut the recipe to half, lots of leftovers, but oh well, will use it with something for tonight. Thank you the family loved it. Made by a member of "Cooks With Dirty Faces" For ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Authentic and delicious! I served this with Jerk Ribeyes, using this marinade --> Jamaican Jerk Marinade. I took a shortcut though, and used 1 can pigeon peas, so I skipped the first 2 ingredients, then threw the rest of the stuff in the rice cooker.. Came out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      Very hearty and slightly sweet; I substituted brown for white for a healthy twist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      This is so much like the Haitian red beans and rice and a fabulous comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      Excellent rice dish, lovely with curry goat. good just as snack too nice hot and cold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      My ex-father-in-law is a meat and potatoes kinda guy. When they dropped by for an unexpected visit, this was already cooking, along with jerk chicken. He devoured this rice! I think he had 4 or 5 helpings, and that's saying a lot for a man who claims he doesn't like rice! Thanks for a really GOOD recipe - from me and him! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jamaican Rice and Peas

    Serving Size: 1 (300 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 285.9
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    12%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 639.1 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.6 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 11.1 g
    44%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes