Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jamaican Rice and Peas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jamaican Rice and Peas

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2010

      I wasn't sure what to expect from this recipe, but I was pleasantly surprised. I really enjoyed the flavors of the coconut milk, fresh ginger and kidney beans in this dish. Cooking the scotch bonnet pepper in a big piece in the rice gave this dish just a hint of pepper taste, but it wasn't the slightest bit hot. I think I would like to try it with the pepper minced and cooked into the rice, but very good as is. Made for ZWT5. Update: This recipe is in my Top Favorites of 2009 Cookbook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      Loved loved loved this!!!! I can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow!!! Made for ZWT 9.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      I love Rice and Beans! I put my scotch bonnet pepper in a tea ball so the flavor of the pepper infused through the recipe. The tea ball made it easy to remove the pepper and kept it "safe" and prevented it from falling apart. Great recipe and another to add to my portfolio of beans and rice recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      Yum! As others have already said, it was such a great idea to add the scotch bonnet pepper to the water. It added a nice hint but didn't make it hot. Thanks LIG for a nice keeper. Made for ZWT9.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      This was a delicious side to jerk chicken. I made half a batch, and used diced jalapeno instead of scotch bonnet, but otherwise followed the directions. It's very close to my favorite Jamaican restaurant's rice and peas. A half batch was four generous servings for us. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      This was a really nice variation of beans and rice! I especially loved the technique of boiling the pepper with the rice then removing it; as other reviewers mentioned it was just enough heat and flavor to notice but not enough to be trouble LOL. My 3 year old and even my 8month old enjoyed some! I would like to try it again with brown rice instead of white, and will likely change the ratio of beans to rice in favor of more beans. I also added a bit of garlic to the mix. I loved the combination of flavors, though, and I know I will make it again! Made for Veg Swap May 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      A great recipe: easy to make and super comforting. I didn't have any fresh peppers, so I added some dried crushed red pepper to the oil when I cooked the onion. The coconut and ginger make this a nice twist on my usual beans and rice. Made for Veg*an Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      What a fantastic introduction to Jamaican Food this is! I completely loved the flavours - the heat from using a whole chopped habanero, tempered by the coconut milk (or so I presume), the ginger, the mild kidney beans, two types of onions... and for me, some of the rice was slightly browned and crispy from the pot bottom, from when I stir-fried it. Or, maybe from when I turned up the heat to bring the rice/milk/water to a boil and turned it down, but didn't stir it again. Who knows, it left tiny pockets of lovely textured bits! Thanks so much for the taste experience, LIG! Made for LIG, our VIP for March Veggie Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      This is a perfect combination of flavors, don't let the inclusion of the heated (very hot) scotch bonnet through you off of this marvelous recipe. Once the pepper is submerged within the folds of the rice/beans, coconut milk, and has cooked, the taste, (not the heat) is what stands out. The coconut base is right on, and was ever so easy to put together. I served this with lamb, but can be seriously served as a stand-alone, lovely dish. I used scallions in place of the onion, and also garnished the finished product with cilantro. Perfection right on my fork. Thanks, LIG! Veggie Swap honoree!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      This was a really interesting rice and beans recipe, I never had Jamaican food before (usually because it's too meat-intensive for my liking.) I couldn't find scotch bonnet peppers at the supermarket but bought one at a small West Indian grocery in the neighborhood and really liked the flavor! I'll probably get more of them in the future. I used ginger powder to save time since I didn't have gingerroot on hand, and think it added enough zest. This made a wonderful side dish with marianted tofu and asparagus! Made and tagged for Veggie Swap 16.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      This was my first experience with cooking Jamaican food, and it certainly was quite a tasty one! DH and I enjoyed the entire combination of flavors in this dish and felt the freshly grated ginger was the true "star" of the dish. It was just the right amount to be noticeable but not overpowering. I served this rice as a side dish to Jamaican Baste along with stir-fried thin-cut carrots. It truly was a beautiful meal. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      Perfect in every way. The coconut is very subtle, but certainly adds to the overall flavour. I'm not a lover of ginger, so omitted it. The non-coconut version was a staple in our house growing up. We always did the loooong version, which started by soaking the dried kidney beans overnight, then cooking them until tender with seasonings, before adding the rice. Well, using the canned beans really cuts out a lot of time and effort, with the exact same results. This is by far the best method. I haven't made this in such a very long time. Brought back good food memories. I served it with a traditional Jamaican curried beef dish, (Curried Beef) which also hadn't been made in quite some time. Thanks LifeIsGood.....this was very special to me. Made for the Auzzie/NZ Recipe Swap #32

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      Very interesting and unusual recipe. Well worth making again, but with some tweaking. I cut the Scotch Bonnet open (did remove the seeds), but the dish still wasn't (IMO) all that hot. Next time shall just chop up fine and toss in. Will also include a bit higher ratio of beans to rice. Lastly, The ginger/coconut is a great combination, but even though I did salt & pepper quite well it was still somehow a bit bland - missing an edge of 'savoriness'. Tossing in some chicken bullion with the water and coconut milk may well do the trick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      You get a little taste of ginger and coconut in every bite. Then comes the kick from the habanero. It does not take long for that kick to find you. This was very easy to make. The only thing I did different was to use white pepper. Made during Round 3 of * Zaar World Tour 5* 2009 game for team *Genies of Gourmet*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      I couldn't find a scotch bonnet, so subed two serrano chili's.. wow!! Interesting taste! Made for ZWT5 for the Epicurean Team. Muchas gracis!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jamaican Rice and Peas

    Serving Size: 1 (289 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 466.7
     
    Calories from Fat 177
    37%
    Total Fat 19.6 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 13.0 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 225.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.8 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites