Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / " Jamaican-Me-Hungry" Chicken Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    " Jamaican-Me-Hungry" Chicken Bake

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on August 14, 2006

      This was very tasty and very spicy! I had to replace chives with parsley and habanero with pickled jalapeno (couldn't get them). Also used chicken thighs instead of breasts. Recipe didn't give a temp. to bake at so I did at 375°F for 35 minutes. Chicken was nice and moist. Loved the flavors from the seasoning mix. Thanks and good luck in the contest! - Mar 5, 2006 Update: I had some of this in the freezer and wanted to do something a little different with it. I thawed out a serving (a couple thighs worth) and then mixed it with a pkg of cream cheese, a couple Tbsp mayo and 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese to make an excellent chicken salad! Thanks again Pamela!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      This is dish creates the most amazing aroma in the kitchen while it's baking, and then the most amazing flavors explode in your mouth while eating it. I love serving this over rice and a side salad. Such a different flavor experience. I usually try not to step too far out of my comfort zone with recipes, but I took a chance on this one and it's now one of our absolute favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      I was a little disappointed with this recipe because it didn't taste very Jamaican, but it wasn't terrible. The spices and the vegetables were looking very good, until I added the crushed tomatoes. It seemed like there were too many and I didn't feel like this recipe was much different than putting tomato sauce on top of chicken and baking it. If I made this again, I would double the spices, or cut the crushed tomatoes in half. We left out the habenero and the cayenne, because my family does not like spicy stuff. It may have tasted better with the spicy ingredients, but I think the recipe needs to hold it's own without the spice. Thanks anyway, it was fun to try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      I expected it to taste like something Jamaican and it really didn't to me. It was not at all what I expected and it may have been better without the crushed tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      I made this tonight for supper and we loved it. The chicken was moist and juicy with the lovely vegetable mixture on top. I served this with rice and peas and glazed carrots. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us, its a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      This was very good, served it over rice. I used an unseeded jalapeno instead of the habenero and it was plenty spicy! Leftover chicken will go into a soup for dinner on Monday night which is something that I do often when we have leftover chicken. Reviewed for Healthy Choices 2008 ABC Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      It was wonderful spicewise but we used half a cup of serranos for our peppers and it was way too hot - and we know spicey! I will use the serranos again next time but probably a 1/4 cup of them so I can enjoy the other spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I really liked the flavour in this. As we can't handle things too hot I cut the cayenne into a 1/4 teaspoon and omitted the habanero pepper and it was perfect. Lightly spiced without burning the mouth. We really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      Very very good! I mixed the spices together and added it to a bag of skineless chicken legs and thighs, and froze it for several weeks. I pulled it out of the freezer last nigth to thaw in the fridge. I mixed up the topping just before baking, and added an additional teaspoon of brown sugar to the topping to sweeten it up a little more for my family's liking, and a few dashes of hot pepper sauce in place of the habenero. I only added the topping to half the chicken (due to the kids). It baked up so fantastically- the chicken without the topping were flavorful but not too spicy, the ones with the topping were so flavorful and delicious. What a great recipe- thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      I made this recipe this weekend for my family and they did not care for it. I have been to Jamaica and it didn't taste like the jerk chicken that they have there. It was too thyme, too tomatoey and not enough jerk taste. My husband said it tasted like I poured a hot salsa over top of the chicken and baked it. The jerk chicken in Jamaica is more like a barbecue sauce on the chicken. If I make it again, I would tweak the recipe for more jerk flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      This is great! I cut my chicken breasts up into a few pieces, which reduced my cooking time. I also cut down on the chilli and pepper as I don't like my food too hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2006

      Excellent dish. The chicken is tender and not overly spiced (though I did omit the optional chile). The topping is wonderfully rich and really makes the dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      Wowzer, what a perfectly hot meal! Keeps your mouth warm but doesn't burn. I used 3 chicken breasts as that's what I had, marinated overnight, and instead of habanero pepper used 1/2 orange chile pepper for the topping (again, because that's what I had!). The topping was slightly sweet and complemented the spicy chicken so well. Next time I'll add a bit of salt to the chicken. Oven temperature was not stated; baked at 200 C for 35 minutes. Made for a lovely meal which was light to boot! Thanks! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      I made two versions of this. 1) Used skinned leg quarters, Ancho chilli powder and dried thyme leaves. 2) Used bonless chicken braests, regular chilli powder, ground thyme and no cayenne. The recipe did not say what temp. to bake it at. I started at 325, after 30 minutes it did not seem to be cooking well. I increase the temp to 350 and baked for 45 minutes more. The breast (#2) was very strong on thyme. The leg quarters (#1) was ok on thyme, but lacked spicyness that the cayenne should of given it. Over all both versions lacked something. Perhaps a healthy dose of garlic powder. A good basic recipe with potential.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      Good and spicy (and I left out the habanero pepper). Next time I'll go a bit easier on the hot spices, but we still enjoyed it and the topping was great over rice. Thanks for sharing and good luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      This recipe is now the fav chicken dish in our house. My husband was very tired of the same old, so I decided to try something new. I only let the rub mix set for one hour, but next time I will let it sit longer so the flavor is more intence. And I am not a habanero fan, so I split this in two pans, but I ended up helping my husband and son eat their share. I hope to see more recipes like this. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

    • on March 11, 2006

      Ok last night I decided I wanted chicken so I came to zaar to seek out one of the RSC recipes and I found a true winner. I did not have the habanero pepper but it still tasted nummy!! You cannot believe the wonderful smell that fills the house. Why have plain chicken again. The list of ingredients seems intimidating but it really not a huge task to add. Someone really put their thinking caps on for this one. I love it !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      We loved this chicken, even the picky daughter. The jerk rub did just as you said and filled the house with lovely smells! For the topping I used 3 cloves of garlic, (we love garlic!), and 1 jalapeno. I didn't need to let the sauce thicken on the stove. It thickened nicely in the oven. The chicken baked for 45 minutes, (the chicken breasts were large), and came out moist and perfectly cooked. I will be making up a quantity of the jerk rub for future use! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      I don't think I've ever eaten chicken breasts that were as tender as these. The rub is wonderful, though a little too hot for our taste and that is the only reason this didn't get 5 stars. So easy to prep and the topping went together in a snap. I shall make this again with maybe 1/2 of the amount of cayenne, chili amd black peppers. The aroma is lovely and the flavor combo quite good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for " Jamaican-Me-Hungry" Chicken Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.6
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    40%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 150.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 25.6 g
    51%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crushed tomatoes

    jamaican jerk spice

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites