44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really superb! And so simple to put together. From the short list of ingredients you would never expect such wonderful flavor. Very hearty too! This will be one of my new favorite cold weather stews! I didn't have quite a cup of red lentils left when I went to measure things out. So I threw in 1/3 cup of basmati rice with about 20 minutes left to go. Otherwise followed exactly and it was perfect! Thank you for sharing! Update: Fiance who is still not quite comfortable with lentils took leftovers to work for lunch. Just called because the other fellas at the garage tried to steal his lunch! LOL He wants me to make another batch for him to bring to work! You have sold him on lentils!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma September 14, 2011

Well, it had a very nice flavor but I think next time I would puree it. I didn't care for the onion/lentil "bits". I think I would have enjoyed it more that way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glitteryfrosting February 06, 2011

Very very good!!! Didn't have sweet potato and pumpkin puree at the moment and used a blended mix of boiled carrots, parsnip and a bit of plain natural yogurt instead. Worked really good. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vindase July 08, 2010

I made half a recipe and it was great. I did cook it longer than stated but it was thick, with a great meld of flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound April 14, 2010

Beautiful recipe. I made some changes, including reducing the amount of oil by half. I was in the middle of cooking when I discovered I was out of cumin! So I substituted, of all things, a spoonful of tandoori powder, which worked fine. I used a full cup of red lentils. And at the end I threw in a pound of shrimp. yum! Next time I will use reduced fat coconut milk. Also, I found that this makes a lot more than four servings. More like 8!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
windhorse23 March 23, 2010

I needed to throw a late dinner together FAST, so I followed the written directions to a T (did not use the curry paste), except I shredded the peeled sweet potato for faster cooking. What a wonderful combination of flavors!! I would definetly recommend adding salt, perhaps 1/2 tsp. This made a perfect light meal that I'll be making often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin4GoodLookin October 05, 2009

I really liked this recipe - easy to make and really delicious. I was a little surprised that it didn't need any added salt - but it tastes good that way - salt would ruin it -- i used Sambal in place of the red curry paste and that gave it a nice spicyness - And it was perfect - i'd totally make this for a dinner party except that my husband doesn't like sweet potatoes - oh well - i'll have to just eat it all myself :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cUte Kitty pUnk July 20, 2009

One of the yummiest soups I have tasted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
malincarrie June 17, 2009

This was pretty good! The sweet potato didn't quite "melt" as described. Maybe I missed this, but I didn't chop the sweet potato so I had weird lumps of sweet potato throughout. Other than that, the tastes were very good and the texture was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookfamily7 May 11, 2009

Excellent, easy and delicious. This is a real comfort food, as it turns out. I wanted a large quantity so I doubled everything in the recipe with the following exceptions to make it healthier: I used 20 oz of red lentils, 6 cups of low sodium stock, 4 medium-sized sweet potatoes and light coconut milk to cut down the fat. I added 3/4 of a head of cauliflower, chopped into bite-sized pieces. The Thai red curry paste added a nice flavor. Next time I might triple the spices. (Thanks to all of the reviewers for their suggestions!) This stew came out thick, velvety and quite tasty. My BF said it's his favorite new recipe. Thanks rsarahl for introducing me to a new way to cook with lentils!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatieGT March 10, 2009
Jamaican Lentil Stew With Coconut