Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jamaican Lentil Stew With Coconut Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jamaican Lentil Stew With Coconut

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on September 14, 2011

      Really superb! And so simple to put together. From the short list of ingredients you would never expect such wonderful flavor. Very hearty too! This will be one of my new favorite cold weather stews! I didn't have quite a cup of red lentils left when I went to measure things out. So I threw in 1/3 cup of basmati rice with about 20 minutes left to go. Otherwise followed exactly and it was perfect! Thank you for sharing! Update: Fiance who is still not quite comfortable with lentils took leftovers to work for lunch. Just called because the other fellas at the garage tried to steal his lunch! LOL He wants me to make another batch for him to bring to work! You have sold him on lentils!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      Well, it had a very nice flavor but I think next time I would puree it. I didn't care for the onion/lentil "bits". I think I would have enjoyed it more that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      Very very good!!! Didn't have sweet potato and pumpkin puree at the moment and used a blended mix of boiled carrots, parsnip and a bit of plain natural yogurt instead. Worked really good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      I made half a recipe and it was great. I did cook it longer than stated but it was thick, with a great meld of flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Beautiful recipe. I made some changes, including reducing the amount of oil by half. I was in the middle of cooking when I discovered I was out of cumin! So I substituted, of all things, a spoonful of tandoori powder, which worked fine. I used a full cup of red lentils. And at the end I threw in a pound of shrimp. yum! Next time I will use reduced fat coconut milk. Also, I found that this makes a lot more than four servings. More like 8!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      I needed to throw a late dinner together FAST, so I followed the written directions to a T (did not use the curry paste), except I shredded the peeled sweet potato for faster cooking. What a wonderful combination of flavors!! I would definetly recommend adding salt, perhaps 1/2 tsp. This made a perfect light meal that I'll be making often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      I really liked this recipe - easy to make and really delicious. I was a little surprised that it didn't need any added salt - but it tastes good that way - salt would ruin it -- i used Sambal in place of the red curry paste and that gave it a nice spicyness - And it was perfect - i'd totally make this for a dinner party except that my husband doesn't like sweet potatoes - oh well - i'll have to just eat it all myself :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      One of the yummiest soups I have tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      This was pretty good! The sweet potato didn't quite "melt" as described. Maybe I missed this, but I didn't chop the sweet potato so I had weird lumps of sweet potato throughout. Other than that, the tastes were very good and the texture was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      Excellent, easy and delicious. This is a real comfort food, as it turns out. I wanted a large quantity so I doubled everything in the recipe with the following exceptions to make it healthier: I used 20 oz of red lentils, 6 cups of low sodium stock, 4 medium-sized sweet potatoes and light coconut milk to cut down the fat. I added 3/4 of a head of cauliflower, chopped into bite-sized pieces. The Thai red curry paste added a nice flavor. Next time I might triple the spices. (Thanks to all of the reviewers for their suggestions!) This stew came out thick, velvety and quite tasty. My BF said it's his favorite new recipe. Thanks rsarahl for introducing me to a new way to cook with lentils!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

    • on June 09, 2008

      YUM, this is such comfort food! I cooked it with a couple tsp salt and a finely-minced habanero pepper. This stew has a wonderful combination of flavors and a rich consistency. I WILL be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      This was VERY tasty! The only thing that it was missing was salt which I added toward the beginning of cooking. I guess it would make a difference with the stock that you use. Mine wasn't low sodium but I still felt like it was way short on salt. Overall though a SUPER recipe. And so healthy! I used light coconut milk and added half a can of corn toward the end. It made 6 cups of stew (yes it is a stew) and I refigured the calories and it was only 150 calories per serving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Definitely a soup rather than a stew. Thought it benefited from a little more curry paste than recipe said but guess it depends on brand of paste you use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      This was um... interesting! I had a hard time mashing the ginger and garlic - I don't have a mortar and pestle, and the other method didn't work well for me, so I just minced them and tossed them in. I also misjudged the amount this would make and my biggest pot was starting to get really full, so I omitted the stock. I doubt if it was lacking any essential flavour because of that, but it made it super thick and filling. I found that the curry paste was a must, I tasted it before adding and the curry gave a necessary kick. Thanks so much for this recipe - I have such a hard time finding flavourful dishes to appease the semi-vegetarian boyfriend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

    • on November 13, 2007

      This was VERY tasty. Like others, I doubled the sweet potato (my favourite veg). I also chose to go with the curry paste and wasn't disappointed. I will definitely be making this again!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      Wow!! This was absolutely delicious. The best soup I've had in ages. I can't wait to have it again. I doubled the lentils and it was so thick and velvety. Thank you for this fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      Really good as is, and pretty much a staple at the roti shacks in the West Indies....also really good with goat~the goat does beg for chicken stock as opposed to veg. and some Scotch Bonnets

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      We loved this recipe! I have made it twice this past week and plan to make it again soon it's so easy! The coconut milk adds such a great flavor. Thanks for posting rsarahl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jamaican Lentil Stew With Coconut

    Serving Size: 1 (298 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 577.3
     
    Calories from Fat 209
    36%
    Total Fat 23.2 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 15.9 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 57.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.5 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 11.2 g
    45%
    Sugars 54.1 g
    216%
    Protein 10.6 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gingerroot

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites