Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jamaican Lentil Stew With Coconut Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jamaican Lentil Stew With Coconut

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2010

      Made this for the second time, 5 stars both time. It's such a versatile and easy recipe. Didn't have sweet potato this time so used 500g frozen mixed veggies, didn't have veggie stock this time so chicken stock (not concerned about vegetarian) and no red curry so threw in some chili powder, oh and didn't have fresh ginger so used powdered! So in other words I truly stretched the boundaries, and still it was great. Mopped with a batch and a half of Pita Bread, while Cyclone Tomas madly hurled himself at our windows. This is truly lovely, I could eat this once a week, it's so comforting and delicious. Love this recipe, really, really, really love it. EDITED TO ADD: Five days later and I'm making a triple batch to freeze in lunch sized portions. This is fabulous cold (it thickens up) eaten with celery spoons. Used lite coconut cream - tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      Wow this is good! I've never had a vegetarian dish that was so filling before, and the flavor just gets better and better the longer it sits. The only change I made was doubling the amount of red curry paste, and it worked perfectly. Such a tasty stew with naan or a pita bread, I was I still had some more leftovers :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      I've made this three times now- always with the curry paste and twice with light coconut milk, and every time it's turned out amazing. The last time I actually ended up making it only to find out that my "sweet potato" was the wrong kind of potato completely! So I made it even without that and it was STILL fantastic! Fabulous, awesome recipe, I'll be in my cookbook forever now! It's so creamy and the texture and taste are absolutely perfect :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      Ok, not great, not terrible. Crusty bread was a great idea. Tasted kinda potato-ish, sweet potato soup. We cubed the sweet potato, the directions were unclear. Here's some conversions for non-Americans and from-scratchers: 1inch ginger=1tbls, 4oz lentils = ~3/4cups (closer to 1/2cup), 1can pumpkin = ~2cups (one small pumpkin pressure cooked for 15minutes).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

      I used Kabocha squash which was sweet and a perfect compliment to the stew. I served mine over rice and it was very good that way. Thanks, rsarahl. [Made for Zaar Alphabet Soup]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      This was the hit of Thanksgiving dinner. Easy to make too. I had to send the recipe home with everyone. We made it without the Thai curry paste and substituted shallots for garlic. Yum! It was great cold or hot. Just writing about this soup makes me want some right now. Caution, it is filling.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      very nice. used vegy stock so it was all vegy. i followed the recipe pretty much except for using 2 yams.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      This is absolutely divine! Honestly, I could eat it every day! I used lite coconut milk and PAM instead of oil for the veggies and spices and it worked just fine. I was concerned the curry paste would be too hot for my kiddos, so I used curry powder instead. So delicious! I made it last night and I am going out today to get the ingredients to make it again today, so I can have it for lunch all week!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      This was absolutly delicious.. Next time I will saute some shrimp and throw them in, ( though it is certianly yummy as is). Thanks for posting this

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      This was delicious! We had company over and served this soup with a simple salad and some potato latkes. Was a very balanced, filling soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      I LOVE LOVE LOVE this soup! I made the soup to take to my in-laws house for a football game and everyone raved about it! Each person had at least 3 bowls. (Good thing I doubled the recipe!) I served it with an onion / cheese foccacia bread I found here on Zaar also. The only thing I changed was to use 16 garlic cloves for the double batch (because we LOVE garlic). Thank you so much for sharing rSarahl!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2012

      I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a complete hit! I followed it right down except for adding some lemon juice in at the end. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2012

      Nice rich flavor! I used light coconut milk and it was still fabulous. Perfectly seasoned and a beautiful texture. Hubby loved it,too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      This soup is very good. Couldn't find red curry paste so I used green, not sure if that would have affected the taste. It also needed salt; it was a bit bland without some salt to pull the flavors out. Regardless, we did enjoy this and I will most likely make again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      This was delicious. I was skeptical because of the pumpkin it is turned out great. I used lite coconut milk to cut down on calories and used 6 oz of lentils to thicken it up. I packaged up six servings over rice, but I only got to eat it once because my non-vegetarian husband insisted on taking it every day last week. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2012

      A coworker showed me this recipe & it looked so good I tried it right away. It is AWESOME! From the other comments I've read on here, this is one of those recipes you can tweak a million different ways & it still comes out great.

      I like a lot of zing in what I make, so I went for the full 2 tsp of cumin & used a whole 4oz tin of thai red curry. Fantastic! I also used chicken stock because it was all I had.

      I will pass this along to anyone who loves big flavors - its one of the best I've ever come across!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2012

      This dish was really delicious; although, my stew did not thicken up as much as the recipe stated. I think if I make it again as a soup/stew, I will add more sweet potatoes and lentils. We actually ended up serving this dish over rice and we loved it. Served it with a salad - no bread since the rice and potatoes were enough carbs already. The only other change I made was to add salt and a little more cumin. Will definitely make this dish again. Thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2012

      This was a fantastic dish. I omitted the chili paste as I have young children, it was eaten up by all. I actually made it in my pressure cooker as I was pressed for time and it turned out great. Going to keep this one in the files for sure. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      So creamy and thick, this is delicious. We chopped up the potato and doubled the thai curry paste but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It's very forgiving. Next time I think I'm going to add a hint of red pepper to increase the spice a bit. My 15 month old loved it! (He likes savory foods!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      We just love this recipe! So flavorful and hearty. Used it for Thanksgiving this year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jamaican Lentil Stew With Coconut

    Serving Size: 1 (298 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 577.3
     
    Calories from Fat 209
    36%
    Total Fat 23.2 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 15.9 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 57.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.5 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 11.2 g
    45%
    Sugars 54.1 g
    216%
    Protein 10.6 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gingerroot

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites