Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jamaican Jerk Seasoning Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jamaican Jerk Seasoning

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2010

      Well, for the most part I liked this. I tried it on some chicken breasts and it just didn't have that sweet heat that jerk seasoning should have. I ended up making a glaze out of pureed pineapple with a bit of sriracha mixed in and brushing that over the chicken breasts a minute or so before they came off the heat. The spice mix has plenty of the spicy heat to it, but not that sweetness that I would expect. I'll probably try it again but add more brown sugar and tweak the rest of the ingredients up and down a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      A nice touch of heat and great flavor...I made half the recipe...and omitted the dried chives...cuz I didn't have any so used a touch of fresh with my fish I made for dinner...I have plenty left for using on my future meals. Thanks for posting it! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2011

      This was really good. It wasn't quite what I was used to buying from the store but it was still good. On the other hand, my husband is a HUGE fan. He's been putting it on everything that goes on the grill and it's been wonderful. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      Hands down simply the best!!!!! Oh my holy wow this stuff is good!! Way better than the crap you can buy at the store that has msg in it. Made exactly as in the recipe and lovin' it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      perfectly delicious, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2013

      This was a good solid recipe for jerk chicken spice. I actually used it for a vegetarian dish with cabbage and mayacoba beans. Served over brown rice. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

    • on July 06, 2009

      Rita, what can I say other then WOW! With it being so hot here and our AC being out, I wanted something light and simple for dinner that wouldn't heat up the house. I made a batch of chicken salad then decided to kick it up a notch so I added your seasoning blend it was wonderful! I can't wait to try it on other dishes. Made and reviewed for the 12th Veg*n Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      This was really good. I left out the thyme because I recently realized that I don't care for it. I used this seasoning for Jerk Seasoned Steak and I'm looking forward to using the leftover seasoning! Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      Very good and very easy! I adore the smell, and it tastes wonderful! I made this to use very successfully with Caribbean Rice in a Rice Cooker. Made for ZWT 5 - Jammin Java Jivers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      This is pretty darn good seasoning! I made it with grilled chicken and the flavor was wonderful. Nice way to make chicken different. I can't wait to try this on some veges or steak! Made for ZWT 5 - Jammin Java Jivers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      Very good, not as spicy as I thought it would be. I used it on some grilled vegetables and they had a very nice flavor, but were not spicy. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      This is an excellent jerk seasoning. I used it for Caribbean Chicken Salad W/ Fat-Free Dressing. I knew there was no point in going out to buy seasoning when I could find something better and fresher right here. I made this exactly as directed, which is a stretch for me. It is perfect as it stands with all spices I have in my pantry right now. Thanks so much Rita! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      This is a wonderful seasoning! I used it in a recipe calling for jerk seasoning. I will definitely make some more up to keep in my pantry. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      Great stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Wonderful, spicy flavors! My son has Jamaican friends and they love to get together and make their own jerk mixes, so I will give this to him for Christmas! Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      I put this on some chicken drumsticks and thighs that I rubbed with olive oil and then grilled them. They disappeared before the beer was all drank up. This is THE best Jerk seasoning that I have had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

    • on September 23, 2007

      This is very good; I put it on some sliced zucchini for a side dish but beware-don't use too much as I did & it was too hot for my sensitive tongue! I even cut the cayenne in half-but I am a little wimpy with the hotness :-). I also cut the chives, sugar & black pepper in half-and used a lot less salt. Will try this on chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jamaican Jerk Seasoning

    Serving Size: 1 (8 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 19.9
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    10%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 777.8 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes