Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jamaican Jerk Rub Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jamaican Jerk Rub

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 03, 2005

      Yummy. I cut down on the cayenne a lot, since what I have is African bird pepper and has 90,000 heat units... I think I used about 1/4 tsp and it was still kickin'. I followed Cookgirl's suggestion and used this to rub a pound of firm tofu. I was really generous with the rub and coated the tofu very well and used a full recipe for the pound. I baked the tofu at 400 for about 1/2 an hour and it turned out great. Nice and flavorful. The flavor was nice and pretty well balanced between sweet and spicy. I think it would be a great idea to marinade your meat (or tofu!) in some lime juice, then rub with this or sprinkle some lime juice over top after cooking... I did feel it needed a bit of tang. But overall, very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      Really good, added a Scotch Bonnet to it for a real kick, Marinaded meat for 24 hours!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      Excellent! My DH hates "spicy, " so I left out the cayenne, but otherwise made according to the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Very spicy stuff! Used this recipe in Jerk-Flavoured Bloody Mary. Delicious! Made for ZWT5 for the Saucy Senoritas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Tasty and spicy! I made it just as written and used it for jerk chicken. Yum! I will definitely make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      I used this in Caribbean Chimichangas With Jamaican Pepper Sauce. It was very easy to throw together with spices that most people will have in their spice drawer. It was definitely spicy and added a wonderful zing to my chimichangas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2005

      I used this recipe to make Nurse Di's Spicy Chicken Hoagies #77279 which was perfect as it made the exact amount I needed for that recipe. No need to by an expensive seasoning blend when this recipe works well and is delish. Thank you Sue L for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2005

      This has a great flavor and I can't wait to try it on some shrimp. Will now be a staple in the cookin household. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2005

      Yummy! I couldn't find any Jerk seasoning to buy so I tried this recipe. I actually had everything in my cupboard, so it's nice that it is made with everyday ingredients. I was a little nervous about the heat, so cut down on the cayenne a bit, but will probably be bolder next time. I have to try this seasoning on lots of different things!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2005

      A good, all purpose jerk seasoning for many recipes. I decrease the amount of salt by at least half, sometimes eliminating it all together. I like that it's a dry rub so that I can prepare a bigger batch that can be saved in my spice cupboard for later use. I use this jerk recipe in MEAN'S picadillo Cubano Chicken with Spicy Currant Picadillo every time. Try it on tofu! MMMmmm!! Also wonderful for gift giving. I make up different spice mixes for friends and family for the Holidays and use only as much salt as I want. They appreciate that. Thanks, Sue L. Keep up the good work! CG ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jamaican Jerk Rub

    Serving Size: 1 (24 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 21.4
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    26%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 390.5 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites