8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was surprised that all those different spices came together so good. The spiciness of it didn't hit me until I was done eating. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 June 27, 2013

What a great recipe Deantine. A really authentic jerk recipe. My dh was over the moon with this hot and spicy treat. I used a huge scotch bonnet and was really glad that I did. I served this lovely pork two ways....one for me and one for dh. My pork slices were served on top of corn griddle cakes and drizzled with a sweet hot & spicy bbq sauce. Thanks for sharing a recipe that we will be having again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato February 21, 2013

The whole family raved over this, including the picky kids. The only substitution I made was to use 1/4 teaspoon cayenne for the scotch blue bonnets. It offered just enough kick for all. It's great leftover sandwiches & snacking cold from the fridge. Thanks a bunch for posting your recipe Deantini!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour April 12, 2011

This was a a wonderful dish. I used 1/2 a Scotch Bonnet (yeah, I know...I whimped out!). But it was really good, and next time I will go with the full Scotch Bonnet, because using only 1/2 of one was very well tolerated. But the combo of jerk seasonings was superb and made for a really flavorful grilled tenderloin. Thanks, Deantini.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal August 02, 2010

This was tasty and super flavorful (and, yes, I was brave and used a Scotch bonnet in order to be authentic). We even ate the leftovers cold! I will be making this again. Made for ZWT5 by a Groovy GastroGnome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! June 02, 2009

I'll admit to several things here ~ I've never made 'jerk' anything before, & when making this recipe, I cut the amount of scotch bonnet chili, way, way, way back (I just wanted to know it was there, hiding somewhere, but that's all!) & it worked for us! This makes me want to explore more jerk recipes, but not using such a hot, hot chili pepper! All in all, though, A VERY NICE TASTING PORK DISH! [Tagged, made & reviewed while in the Caribbean on the ZWT5]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 01, 2009

This was awesome! I didn't have the scotch bonnet chile, so I used 1/4 tsp ground red pepper. As we finished this off, no leftovers I told my husband that I bet this would make great leftovers. Definitely will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dholle May 29, 2009

As Bob Marley would sing " Don't worry bout a thing" This was quick and easy to put together and so good. I had to subbed a jalepeno for the scotch bonnet but other then that made exactly as stated. I only used about half a pork tenderloin ( cooking for two) I marinaded it for about 4 hours I can only imgaine how much better it would be with an overnight marinade. I served this with Broiled Pineapple With Rum Sauce#275828 and Coconut Lime Rice#178567 as sides. Made for ZWT 5 Caribbean region for team Zaar Chow Hounds

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wicked cook 46 May 26, 2009
Jamaican Jerk Pork