Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jamaican Jerk Pork Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jamaican Jerk Pork

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2008

      Excerpted from Unique Cuinary Adventures: http://www.uniqueculinaryadventures.com/ This jerk pork was killer. It was promised in our post of September 10 and bore no resemblance to what Caribbean American Gourmet on West Lexington Street was dishing out from behind bulletproof glass. Thirty years have passed since I've tasted jerk pork comparable to what's pictured above. That early experience was in the hills of Jamaica where scores of locals were gathered around pimiento wood fire over which huge chunks of pork were grilling away. Here in Baltimore, I simply fired up the Kingsford in the back yard with some mesquite charcoal, and it did the trick. I'm convinced that considerable disillusion abounds about jerk pork and wonder if some of it didn't originate in Jamaica where numerous Rastafarian ideologies passionately condemn the consumption of any kind of red meat, particularly pork. In the United States, the disillusionment asserts itself with acceptance---as demonstrated both in cookbooks and on menus---that pork loin works as well as shoulder. Presumably that's because loin is leaner and healthier. The same can be said for jerk chicken and jerk fish, which have pretty much become mainstream United States staples. It's all about seasoning, and when the right mix of ingredients are blended, the flavor is hard not to like. My contention is that that pork butt brings the experience up to a whole new level.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2003

      I made a Jerk Seasoning from the first 7 ingredients to use in Mean's Cubano Chicken with Spicy Currant Picadillo, and it worked great! Can't wait to try this entire recipe, as I know I'll love it with all of those flavors and great heat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      Can I PLEASE give this a 10 * rating. I have had this recipe in my cookbook forever and finally made it. It is incredible! I made a second batch to feed company this coming weekend. I have given a couple of pounds away to family. The guys going to hunting camp a month from now have already placed an order! Can hardly wait to try this on chicken..turkey...moose!!Di, this is a serious keeper. Did I see a Jamacian Dry Rub in your recipes?? Off to peek at it. Thanks so much for posting...just incredible...really! =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2013

      I lived in Jamaica for the past 4 years and have eaten my share of jerk pork. I must admit this was THE BEST!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      Love the flavors of the marinade. I used one jalapeno (will use two next time) and cooked this in the oven. Can't wait to try it on the grill next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      Ok, I'm a little upset...why, oh why will it not let me leave 10 stars??!!!! This was YUMMY! Your family will love it!!!! 'Nuff said!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      Very good but mine weren't done in 6-8 min. I loved the flavor but were hard to eat. May cut out all the fat and gristle when cutting into cubes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      Great recipe, took it to work and 8 people wanted the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Made this as pork kabobs along with steak kabobs that used another marinade. This was gone in a flash, still have steak left over! Everyone loved it, so flavorful and smelled unbelievable while grilling. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Fantastic flavor. I made it exactly as described, but I added one more habanero (3 total). I also used pork tenderloins, not cubed up, and I did grill them. I have been looking for many years for a really great jerk recipe, and I think this one is it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      I didn't break out the grill, I just used the broiler. I didn't skewer the pork either, I just spread the pork cubes in an even layer on a baking sheet and then flipped them with a spatula half way through. I didn't use any peppers, just about a 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper(I'm a heat wimp.) I made the marinade the night before, put it into a zip top bag and threw in the pork cubes to marinate for 24 hours. The pork was so moist and flavorful. I enjoyed having pork that was out of the ordinary for me, but not so out of the ordinary that it would turn off my picky eater husband.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      Made for freezer tag challenge March 2008: Great dish! I did have to leave the peppers out because I needed it to be child friendly, but really wish I had been able to put them in. I served with recipes #224793 and Grilled Pineapple Salsa Three Ways. My husband and I decided it was one of the best "low-fat" recipes we have had in a very long time. We will be making regularly, that is for sure. To freeze: Complete through step six. Place in a zip-top bag and freeze. To serve: Thaw overnight. Complete steps 8-10. Weight Watchers: 5 pts per 4 oz serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      Sorry for the no star rating, but it's not a bad thing. Just a comment. The actual rating will come after I completely make your dish. I've been craving some type of jerked dish and ran across this one. I haven't made it yet, but am looking forward to doing it the first chance I get, as this recipe is going to take some extra time. Since finding this recipe, I haven't had time to put into it. However, your spice blend sounded really nice, so you inspired me to make a quick dish. In the process getting an idea of how your blend tastes. Sooooo......In the mean time, I mixed together the dry ingredients, sub'd fresh onion,garlic and scotch bonnet with powdered/crushed and added it to the other dry ingredients. I then rubbed it into 2 nice sirloins and tossed them on the grill. YUMM!! Very good! Smelled heavenly on the grill. Packed a punch with the crushed peppers, which we loved. I'm looking even more forward to making your Jamaican Jerk Pork. Till then. Bon Apetite. LeeAnn:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

      I am from Jamaica and did the rush version. I bought Walkers Wood wet Jerk Seasoning sold in stores. Make sure your coals are white before grilling, Jerk is a slow process - for a real country taste, wrap meat in banana leaves. Yummy anyway you do it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jamaican Jerk Pork

    Serving Size: 1 (221 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 550.1
     
    Calories from Fat 342
    62%
    Total Fat 38.0 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 12.7 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 149.6 mg
    49%
    Sodium 836.2 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 43.5 g
    87%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites