Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jamaican Jerk Marinade Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jamaican Jerk Marinade

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2002

      Oohhh this is so good. The best barbecue! I used chicken legs and thighs, and marinated for about 30 hours. Also used mesquite chips that had soaked in water for lots of smoke.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2003

      I've eaten a fair amount of jerk in my time. I've had jerk from roadside jerk joints on the north shore of Jamaica and I've eaten a lot of it in Toronto's jerk joints. There are a lot of Jamaican restaurants in Toronto. So I have a really good idea of what jerk dishes ought to taste like. Unfortunately this recipe, while tasty on its own merits, just doesn't cut it as jerk seasoning; it's way too mild. On a positive note though, I used some of this recipe as a shrip dip which worked out just fine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2002

      I'd never had jerk chicken before and I was pleasantly surprised with the flavour. We ran out of gas for the BBQ so I ended up having to bake the chicken in the oven and the taste was great. This will be a regular dish at our BBQ's from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

      This is a very good marinade but is missing the key ingredient in a true Jamaican jerk. That ingredient is the Scotch Bonnet/Habenero pepper. While adding heat it adds fruitiness and flavor that a jalopeno can not add. You don't need to slice and chop if you don't like a lot of heat just pierce it with a fork while your cooking the sauce to add the flavor and heat. Taste the sauce as you go and remove It when the heat is right for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2013

      This was enjoyed by all at our house. We marinated it for 24 hours. Made for Name that Ingredient Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      This is so yummy. A lot of flavors from all the spices. The pork was in the marinade almost 48 hours. Thanks Gingerbear :) Made for Name that ingredient tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

    • on December 29, 2011

      This marinade was incredible! We used the marinade with chicken and then used the chicken for a mojo broth fondue. I can't wait to experiment more with pork, grilling, roasts, smoker, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2011

      This was delicious. I was only able to marinate the chicken for a few hours, but I'd love to try this again and have it working overnight. Baked these in the oven and it was great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      Lovely, tasty marinade with complex flavours! Will add more heat and cut down on the sweetness a little the next time - and there will definitely be a next time! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      It was an execellent marinade. I actually reduced the marinade in a sauce pan and used it as a dipping sauce and it was excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      This was excellent! My husband could not get enough!! I made the marinade with a couple minor changes: pineapple/ strawberry/ orange juice blend, used apple cider vinegar, 3/4 tbsp ground giner (instead of fresh). I mixed and then added 4 chicken breasts to marinate overnight. Baked the chicken at 350 for 25 minutes. Took the rest of the marinade and added to a pot to boil for 5 minutes. Blended and then added back to pot along with a tbsp of cream and flour to thicken the sauce. Served the chicken with sauce, sauted zucchini/mushroom and rice. My husband LOVED it and so did I. Thank you =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      Made for All New Zaar Cookbooks Tag. While I don't know whether this tastes like Jamaican Jerk or not, I do know that this is a wonderful marinade. Used it on boneless skinless chicken thighs and cooked them on the grill. Thanks for posting Gingerbear!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      Oh Wow!! This is so good! I agree it does not taste like Jamaican Jerk Chicken, but the flavors are wonderful!! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      Delicious! I cooked some pork loin, with the jerk marinade, in my slow cooker for hours. It was sooo good!!! i can't wait to make it again thx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      Holy cow! This was awesome. I put everything thru a food processor and then marinated a pork loin for about 2 hours. 4 out of 4 rated it a 10! We doubled the garlic. It reminded me of the recent jerk I had on Grand Cayman. Very well done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      I tried this last year for thanksgiven and it was great. I am doing it again this year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2006

      This was a fantastic marinade! The medley of flavors was great, call it what you want either way, the flavor was awesome, definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2006

      I cut up my pork r stir fry size, mixed the marinade, added an extra Jalapeno and 1/2 tsp hot sauce (some like it hot)Put in the pork and let marinate in the fridge for 6 hours. Removed the pork from the marinade and did a stirfry with peppers onion & mushooms, added a bit more of the marinade. Served over rice - It was fantastic! Thanks Secret I enjoyed your recipe very much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2003

      Mild to Medium Heat. But SoOoOoO good! I served it at a BBQ with extra hotsauce and scothbonne puree for thos who wanted more Heat! I also loaded up on the ginger (love that stuff) ... I just bought a little root and prepared the entire marinade in the blender!! The myriad of flavors jerk is so famous for came out in full force .. I'm still getting pats on the back ... and requests to have another BBQ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jamaican Jerk Marinade

    Serving Size: 1 (81 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 120.0
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    69%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1062.2 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes