Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jamaican Jerk Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jamaican Jerk Chicken

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2011

      This is a fabulous recipe! Jamaica is DH and I's favorite place away from home, so we love anything that brings us back there. We use this recipe exactly but what we did was made it the night before in our crock pot, refrigerated it overnight, and then used the crock pot to cook it all day. For 5 -6 lbs of Chicken we did it on low for about 7 hrs. The meat was literally falling off the bone, just as we like from the island itself. The perfect blend of spice (heat) and seasoning. Thanks for this! It's a new staple in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2011

      I made this tonight and it was fantastic!!! Followed to the letter but boiled the marinade after removing the chicken until the onions were well cooked. Then strained it through a fine mesh to remove any solids, returned it to the pot and added 2 cups pineapple juice and 2 cups orange juice , and 1/2 cup brown sugar, a bit more salt to taist boiled this together for about 5 min. And thickened with a cornstarch slurry. Brushed this on the chicken the last 5 min.of cooking as a glaze and the remainder as a dip for the chicken. My husband even put it on his rice. First rate recipe , it deserves more than 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      This chicken really is extremely delicious. As a Jamaican myself, I consider myself to be a jerk chicken connoisseur of sorts, lol. Anyhow, the flavor that comes out of the chicken with this recipe is ridiculously delicious! Obviously, it's supposed to be spicy... if you are extremely sensitive to spicy foods, tone down the seasonings by using half of the amount of cayenne pepper/regular pepper. I actually think the spice is just right, and I cannot wait to make this dish again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      I had jerk wings in St. Croix and they were so delicious, but I think this marinade (I marinate 24 hours) on skinless boneless breasts (I use my indoor grill) is even better. In contention for the best chicken I have ever eaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      This was the best jerk chicken I've ever eaten. It tasted just like the chicken at our favorite jamaican rest., that closed down. It is alot of ingredients, but well worth it. I marinated the chicken all night and threw it all in my crock pot the next day, because I don't like using the oven in the summer. Cooked on low for 5 hours and it was falling apart. Can't wait to cook again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2012

      Excellent combination of spices! The only suggestion I have is to reserve a little of the marinade to use after grilling. This was excellent with grilled vegetables and brown rice tossed with mint, basil, ginger, garlic, and olive oil. Delicious dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      OH. MY. GOODNESSS!!! SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Yummy!! Try it...it is AWESOME!! I did change a couple of things (cuz I'm a heat sissy!) Left out the cayene, but did add a shake of crushed red peppers...even my picky DS LOVED it!!! I'm gonna make it tonight, but this time I'm gonna try it on pork chops!! Mmmmmm....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      Stellar!! I gave in to an urge to substitute apple cider vinegar for the white vinegar and wish I hadn't as the flavor was a teensy much sweet for me, but not enough to matter as the flavor was AMAZING! The *only* other tweak I made was to add a few shakes of sriracha sauce to spice things up halfway through the cooking. I used skinless, boneless chicken thighs and chose the crockpot method, cooking on Low for 5 hours. Will DEFINITELY be making this again... grilling, crockpotting, everything!

      Oh! And just wanted to mention that right before serving I did thicken up the sauce a tad by sprinkling some Wondra over the bubbling crockpot, stirring it in, then replacing the lid for 5 minutes before serving. Perfect over rice!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2010

      WOW! This is seriously awesome jerk! Very authentic, similar to the stuff we get at our favorite (authentic) jamaican restaurant. I made the happy accident of putting in 1.5 TBL instead of 1.5 TSP of cayenne pepper, and 5 habanero peppers. It was exactly as spicy as DH and I like. A little too salty, will reduce salt next time. But otherwise perfect. I cooked the remaining marinade and we used it as sauce over rice, also baked the chicken at low heat for a couple of hours for fall off the bone deliciousness!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Super! I grilled the chicken after marinating for 9 hours, the chicken was really moist and had great flavor. I served it with Jamaican Rice and Peas...it was a great meal. Oh, I also made the cucumber sauce from Bob Marley's Jerk Chicken Skewers...excellent with this recipe as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      made this last night,suggest using 3-4x habanero,the called for amount is just a hint and not a component,otherwise a very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2014

      Yummy on speed!! Nice and spicy. My wife and I loved it. But being the novice chef I am, I did not realize I was supposed to drain the marinade from the chicken before placing it in the oven. I baked the chicken in the marinade for an hour! I was sure I had ruined it, but my wife told me to drain the marinade and cook the chicken another 40 mins. <br/><br/>IT CAME OUT PERFECT!! It was tender, juicy and exploding with jerk flavor. Now we will bake it in the marinade for the first 20 mins then bake the chicken alone for the remainder of the time.<br/><br/>Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      I didn't have sage so I didn't use it. I couldn't tell that it affected the taste. I threw all of the ingredients in my slow cooker on low for 7 hours. It was so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

    • on September 30, 2012

      Fantastic! Thank you so much for posting. Perfect amount of heat for the whole family, and grilled up great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      Wowwwwwwwww, what a taste explosion! and to think I marinated for only a hour. I'm living in Norway and couldn'tt get hold of the the sage or allspice, because it wasn't sold in my local supermarket, and it was still worth making! Used only 2 tablespoons of sugar and less salt because I added soya sauce. Would definitely make again!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      This was fantastic! So many flavors that meld so well together. This has been added to my cookbook as my go-to for Jerk!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      This was delicious! Did a half batch and marinated some drumsticks for several hours. The peppers definitely gave the chicken a really nice kick. The house smelled wonderful as it was baking and the flavours were fantastic. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

      Really tasty and easy. I loved the fact that I could throw it all together the day before and marinate until I needed it for dinner the next day. I used the leftover in a salad the following day.
      Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      Made this tonight, and we loved it! I only marinated it a few hours, but itwas amazing. I drained and grilled it, and served it with Green Rice, caribbean coleslaw, and mango salsa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jamaican Jerk Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (221 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 258.1
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    38%
    Total Fat 10.9 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 86.1 mg
    28%
    Sodium 2347.7 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 28.4 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites