36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a fabulous recipe! Jamaica is DH and I's favorite place away from home, so we love anything that brings us back there. We use this recipe exactly but what we did was made it the night before in our crock pot, refrigerated it overnight, and then used the crock pot to cook it all day. For 5 -6 lbs of Chicken we did it on low for about 7 hrs. The meat was literally falling off the bone, just as we like from the island itself. The perfect blend of spice (heat) and seasoning. Thanks for this! It's a new staple in our house.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daisy_Cat January 02, 2011

I made this tonight and it was fantastic!!! Followed to the letter but boiled the marinade after removing the chicken until the onions were well cooked. Then strained it through a fine mesh to remove any solids, returned it to the pot and added 2 cups pineapple juice and 2 cups orange juice , and 1/2 cup brown sugar, a bit more salt to taist boiled this together for about 5 min. And thickened with a cornstarch slurry. Brushed this on the chicken the last 5 min.of cooking as a glaze and the remainder as a dip for the chicken. My husband even put it on his rice. First rate recipe , it deserves more than 5 stars.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ToastedNut July 01, 2011

This chicken really is extremely delicious. As a Jamaican myself, I consider myself to be a jerk chicken connoisseur of sorts, lol. Anyhow, the flavor that comes out of the chicken with this recipe is ridiculously delicious! Obviously, it's supposed to be spicy... if you are extremely sensitive to spicy foods, tone down the seasonings by using half of the amount of cayenne pepper/regular pepper. I actually think the spice is just right, and I cannot wait to make this dish again!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tissan.howard May 12, 2011

I had jerk wings in St. Croix and they were so delicious, but I think this marinade (I marinate 24 hours) on skinless boneless breasts (I use my indoor grill) is even better. In contention for the best chicken I have ever eaten.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
messystation July 10, 2010

This was the best jerk chicken I've ever eaten. It tasted just like the chicken at our favorite jamaican rest., that closed down. It is alot of ingredients, but well worth it. I marinated the chicken all night and threw it all in my crock pot the next day, because I don't like using the oven in the summer. Cooked on low for 5 hours and it was falling apart. Can't wait to cook again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karilou July 09, 2008

Yummy on speed!! Nice and spicy. My wife and I loved it. But being the novice chef I am, I did not realize I was supposed to drain the marinade from the chicken before placing it in the oven. I baked the chicken in the marinade for an hour! I was sure I had ruined it, but my wife told me to drain the marinade and cook the chicken another 40 mins. <br/><br/>IT CAME OUT PERFECT!! It was tender, juicy and exploding with jerk flavor. Now we will bake it in the marinade for the first 20 mins then bake the chicken alone for the remainder of the time.<br/><br/>Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris B. March 08, 2014

Excellent combination of spices! The only suggestion I have is to reserve a little of the marinade to use after grilling. This was excellent with grilled vegetables and brown rice tossed with mint, basil, ginger, garlic, and olive oil. Delicious dinner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trinkets June 28, 2012

OH. MY. GOODNESSS!!! SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Yummy!! Try it...it is AWESOME!! I did change a couple of things (cuz I'm a heat sissy!) Left out the cayene, but did add a shake of crushed red peppers...even my picky DS LOVED it!!! I'm gonna make it tonight, but this time I'm gonna try it on pork chops!! Mmmmmm....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pawsfurthought July 26, 2011

Stellar!! I gave in to an urge to substitute apple cider vinegar for the white vinegar and wish I hadn't as the flavor was a teensy much sweet for me, but not enough to matter as the flavor was AMAZING! The *only* other tweak I made was to add a few shakes of sriracha sauce to spice things up halfway through the cooking. I used skinless, boneless chicken thighs and chose the crockpot method, cooking on Low for 5 hours. Will DEFINITELY be making this again... grilling, crockpotting, everything!

Oh! And just wanted to mention that right before serving I did thicken up the sauce a tad by sprinkling some Wondra over the bubbling crockpot, stirring it in, then replacing the lid for 5 minutes before serving. Perfect over rice!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhondapalooza March 27, 2011

WOW! This is seriously awesome jerk! Very authentic, similar to the stuff we get at our favorite (authentic) jamaican restaurant. I made the happy accident of putting in 1.5 TBL instead of 1.5 TSP of cayenne pepper, and 5 habanero peppers. It was exactly as spicy as DH and I like. A little too salty, will reduce salt next time. But otherwise perfect. I cooked the remaining marinade and we used it as sauce over rice, also baked the chicken at low heat for a couple of hours for fall off the bone deliciousness!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoydaP September 03, 2010
Jamaican Jerk Chicken