13 Reviews

Yumm!! I cut the brown sugar and allspice in half, but that;s our taste. The mayo came out a bit watery, so next time I will use OJ concentrate. Other than that, it was quite excellent. Thanks for sharing, and I can't wait to try the jerk sauce on yard bird.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tugar357 July 27, 2009

My family LOVES this recipe! This is restaurant quality. Thank you so much for sharing. I have made it several times now. I make only half the orange-chipotle sauce as that seems to be enough for our family, even though it is delicious. I often only make 1/2 the jerk sauce as well for 6-8 burgers. It makes a lot. I do make it pretty much as written, except to use dried thyme (I never remember to buy fresh) & have yet to find a habanero pepper for sale around here. I only adjust the ingredients by 1/2. I like to mix the jerk sauce into the meat before forming into patties, instead of putting it on and waiting 20 min. We also always grill some thick onion slices on the grill at the same time. If you like you can use a little olive oil & salt on the onion before grilling. Sometimes I do, sometimes not. The grilled onions are delicious on these burgers. This is my husband's all time favorite burger recipe & I love them too. Our kids don't eat the sauce as the chipotle's really spice it up, but they love the burgers even with the jalapenos. (hint...the chipotles in adobo I find here to buy come in cans. We freeze flat in a ziplock bag what we don't use & I just pull out the bag and break some lose each I make this recipe. No need to buy a new can each time). This recipe flavor changes each time I make it due to the variance in the heat of the peppers and the adobo. It really does alter the entire taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaHill August 11, 2009

This buger had great flavor. My wife and I prepared the jerk sauce with less all spice than it calls for and we loves it. The sauce was great!! The sweetness that the truvia added was a nice change and made our mouths water!! The mayo was perfect and we will definatly be adding this to the menu again...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rmfischer11 August 12, 2012

This burger is awesome! I made the mayo and jerk sauce early in the day and by dinner the mayo was not runny anymore. Made exactly as posted and will not change a thing. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Silvano June 02, 2012

This recipe was a big hit in my family. My husband, who is very critical of new recipes, loved these so much he had to have two. The secret is to add extra jerk sauce to the burger and don't over do the mayo and jerk sauce. We will be having these more regular.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaytydid July 11, 2010

Wow what a delicious burger :) when I told my oldest daughter that this was our dinner she couldn't wait to sink her teeth into it. I did however half the recipe, cuz my other daughter is away. I skipped the fresh thyme and used 1/4 tsp dry. I also used regular brown sugar. Although I halved the sauce, there is still leftovers. I put it in a jar and will try to use it. I will make this again for sure. I served this with fries and coleslaw. Sorry no photo. Made for Everyday Is A Holiday Tag Game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisygrl64 September 24, 2009

I'm going to hold off on the star rating because I am not sure how to rate this. DH liked the burger more than I did. That being said, both of us thought that the jerk sauce was really good. In fact, DH said he could see using it on other dishes, such as salmon. Unlike other reviewers, neither of us cared overly for the mayonnaise. I halved the ingredients for the mayo and jerk sauce, and there was plenty for 1.5 lb of burger. Also, I reduced the brown sugar in the jerk sauce by three quarters since we dont like our sauces very sweet. I used a habanero pepper. Don't forget to pass around the reserved jerk sauce for the burger when you are done grilling. It really made a huge difference. I would likely make these burgers again, skipping the mayo. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny July 30, 2009

Plus a few more. I cut the recipe back to use 1/2 pound of ground beef.I made the marinade and patties in the morning to let the flavours meld. Used one jalapeno and it could of used more ;) I added about 1-2 tablespoons of the marinade right into the meat before forming the pattys. The ornage-chipotle mayo is wonderful. Great burger and a keeper Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wicked cook 46 July 08, 2009

This is so good. For the jerk sauce, I didn't have fresh thyme, so omitted it. I used a jalapeno pepper. I liked the sweetness of the burger with the orange-chipotle mayonnaise. Thanks Marra :) Made for 123 hit wonders

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette June 28, 2009
Jamaican Jerk Burgers With Orange-Chipotle Mayonnaise