Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jamaican Grilled Sweet Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jamaican Grilled Sweet Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2012

      Sooooo yummy! Took too long on the grill so I broiled them in the oven for a few minutes! Will do these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      I made 2 servings part of my Menu #28849 menu. Placed all ingredients into a oil lined heavy duty foil, wrapped to seal and then on the grill to cook. Then removed and placed on the grill just to mark. I did use white sweet potatoes. Saved the cilantro to garnish for me alone. DH doesn`t like it. Made for ZWT5. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      I thought these tasted heavenly! DH, on the other hand, thought they were a lot of work for the end result. He suggests sauteeing these on the stovetop or baking, then topping for much less hassle. The flavor of the sauce is such that we WILL be revisiting this recipe! Thank you for posting. Made for ZWT5, for the Groovy GastroGnomes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Mmmm... candy coated sweet potatoes!!! The ginger, moleasses, brown sugar, and almond are very distinctive in this treat of a dish. The sweet potatoes grill surprisingly well, but you have to watch to be sure that you don't burn them!!! Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Absolutely wonderful. Everyone loved it. I didn't grill, because it was still 87 degrees at 7 pm...so I put them in the oven. They were the favorite of the evening. I'll definitely make them again. My photos didn't turn out very well, so I haven't posted photos. But they are lovely to look at and to eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Delicious! My family loved it. I didn't use the grill, I baked them right in the oven, and they were ready in no time. Made by "Cooks With Dirty Faces" For ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      delish! I used fresh ginger and extra cilantro. This delightful creation went straight into my veggie cookbook. Made for ZWT5. Go Epicurean Queens. And as they say in Jamaica... Ee-eeee Gorgon! (Oh dear! Best of the Best)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      These were very well liked last night at dinner. Everyone had seconds and kept snacking on them till they were gone. A definate make again for the grill. I used a giant Yam and it took about 10 minutes per side to cook the slices. I basted with the sauce as they cooked. They don't need much attention which I loved since I was busy with the other things on the grill and inside. I didn't have pineapple juice so I subbed mango pulp. Great recipe. Thanks Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      Love finding new recipes to make with sweet potatoes. We all loved how good this recipe came out and also how easy it was to make. Great flavors would not change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Oh, so easy and so delicious! It takes all the work out of cooking with sweet potatoes and puts them back into the menu. My husband and I grill all throughout the year, and so far we've already made this recipe three times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      Great flavor! Followed the recipe except had no almond extract so just skipped it! Only change I'll make the next time is add more cilantro. May try baking completely in the oven next time too! Thanks Paula for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      These are very good but not spicy--I found that the butter needed to be reduced and that the glaze needed some heat and salt. With the addition of these, the potatoes were quite good. I loved the cilantro and actually added some additional.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2005

      These are very good sweet potatoes. I love the sauce, but I did leave out the cilantro. After I chopped it up, I thought it would be too strong for this recipe. I grilled mine in a basket for about 12-14 minutes, turning frequently and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2004

      I am a yam cooker from way back. My candied yams have been praised over the years by all guests and requested every year at the company Thanksgiving potluck. I almost never make them except at Thanksgiving because they are so rich. The rest of the year I make some other recipes a little lighter on calories. Intending to make one such recipe tonight, I found myself without a key ingredient so went looking for something else and found this recipe. These were made late at night so I was not about to fire up the barbecue. Instead I used approximately the method I do for candied yams but with this recipe's ingredients, slightly altered. The yams came out DY-NO-MITE. This is not for Thanksgiving - but a fine side dish most other nights of the year. Here's what I did: Parboiled the yams about half way, then cooled, skinned, and sliced them 1/4" thick. While they were boiling, mixed a glaze as called for in the recipe, with these changes: I had no almond extract but I had some sliced almonds, so I ground up about a handful in a mortar and pestle. I left out the cilantro because I don't like it. I added 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne, knowing that Caribbean cooking can be pretty zippy. I then buttered a glass baking dish large enough to hold the yam slices in a single layer, laid them in it, and brushed them with the glaze. I baked them at 350 degrees until very done. I wasn't keeping track but this probably takes about 20 to 30 minutes. They could be eaten at this point, but did not yet make a perfect presentation because the butter in the glaze was liquified in the pan. So I removed them from the glass pan and put them in a metal broiling pan, then ran them under the broiler for a couple of minutes. The result of this method - same as in the candied yams - is they hold their shape as separate slices, but each one is almost as tender as if it were mashed. A couple more comments - my method with the almonds did not grind them to a powder. You could see the tiny almond flecks in the finished product. It actually looked sort of interesting. I'm wondering if sesame seeds might work instead. I think the flavor would be compatible and the appearance might be pleasing. As for the cayenne, it came out pretty fiery. 1/4 teaspoon might be enough, but for those who "like it hot" - the 1/2 teaspoon was not excessive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2004

      These are the best sweet potatoes yet. Very easy to prepare. I cooked them on the BBQ , placed them on Release Foil after brushing both sides butter, cooked them until tender turning several times. Then brushed on the sauce,let then cook for awhile using indirect heat. When making the sauce I found that I was out of almond extract, So I used orange extract & orange juice instead of pineapple juice. They were so yummy, Will be making them again soon for company. Thank you Paula.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jamaican Grilled Sweet Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (127 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 162.9
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    21%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 98.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 12.1 g
    48%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites