Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jamaican Garden Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jamaican Garden Salad

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 05, 2009

      I never used cabbage in this way but my husband and I loved it. The kids weren't as much in love with it. They picked out the tomatoes and cucumbers but left the cabbage. I changed it slightly by not using carrots or green pepper (I thought I had one but didn't) and adding sliced sweet onions. I also peeled and seeded my cucumber as it wasn't the English type. With cabbage being cheaper than lettuce, and everything else growing in my garden, I'll make this again for DH and I. Great for a quick lunch too and since cabbage is so sturdy it saved well. I served this along side chicken bbq sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      I fixed it for my mother-in-law for Mother's Day and it was a big success! I wouldve never thought of using cabbage instead of lettuce for a salad. We loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      It’s been said already but I will say it again, it was a nice change from the usual salad. I served this was jerk chicken. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      Very good. It was a nice change to the typical tossed salad. I served it with jerk fish, chips and black bean dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      Excellent salad - so simple and looks so good. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      This was really good... and it makes such a pretty presentation ! I used grayberts recipe Thousand Island Dressing for the Thousand Island Dressing and garden variety cucumbers instead of English. I will make this again. Thanks Nat !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      I loved this, I have missed salads so much and this is one way besides a greek salad that I can eat my veggies. My husband doesnt like thousand island dressing so he used italian and thought it was really good, cabbage makes a difference in taste. I love thousand island so I ate my as the recipe calls. Thank you so much for another alternative salad for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      Not only does it have a beautiful presentation but it tastes wonderful. My family loved it and were very impressed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      This was a good side salad with a nice presentation. I was making jerked pork on the grill and this was a nice side addition. I used a local dressing called Johnny's Jamaica Mistake which is similar to a cross between French and Thousand Island and also threw on some avocados. Thanks for a nice easy side salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2005

      The Other Half says five. I tweaked it first because neither of us can eat raw cukes. Added onion along with the green pepper and added more tomato than called for. Used Fat Free Ranch dressing without a problem. Also used Sun Dried Tomato dressing on it too another time. Works well with the adaptions. Didn't include the carrot the second time because I was not about to trot out and see if any were ready. Chopping what I had was enough. All veggies were fresh either from our garden or the local grower.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2004

      super combination!! I used low fat Thousand Island and it did not take away any of the flavor. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2004

      I've made this twice, both times forgetting the cucumber! This salad is truly excellent! I chopped up the tomato and mixed it in, since I forgot the cucumber. Next time I'll remember the cucumber, I promise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2004

      I had this for lunch this afternoon and REALLY enjoyed it! Filled with fresh veggies, this made a wonderful salad to dig into. This was not just very presentable and pretty(I cut my tomato into a rose shape and placed it right in the center!), but tasted really cool with the thousand island dressing! I'm going to be making this ALOT from now on:-) Thank you very much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jamaican Garden Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 29.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    80%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 28.9 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes