Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jamaican Chicken Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jamaican Chicken Curry

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2013

      This is the curry I remember, very good recipe but as usual the second time I cooked it I took some creative artistic license.

      Cut up a whole chicken into 8 pieces; Use the same seasonings as with the recipe and coat them and bake them...Use the chix stock and coconut milk to make a sauce or gravy... OMG OFF THE HOOK....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      I had to double the amount of curry to get the flavor I was looking for. My DH and I loved it! He's half Jamaican and suggested doubling the curry powder after tasting the cooking liquid as I was about to turn off the flame. Glad he told me that because he was putting the leftover sauce on everything after that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      AWESOME recipe!!! My fiancee and family loved this recipe. I bought two (2 pd-ish) whole chickens (de-boned and removed skin). The mix of white and dark meat blended wonderfully with the spices, coconut milk and stock. I used approximately, 4 cups of sliced onions. I sauteed them with a little salt, to release water, then added the garlic, ginger and bonnet. At first I thought 4 tbsps of curry was too much, but it worked great with one (13.5 fl oz) can of A Taste of Thai - coconut milk, thyme and stock. The simmering for one and a half hours is important, it makes the sauce silky smooth. I served the dish with white basmati rice, along with an avocado, tomato and onion salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      this is EXACTLY how jamaican curry should taste... just like when I lived in Jamaica... the aroma, taste, spice is all there... I used thighs, cuz theyre simply the best part to use when simmering for so long. Hit this with a teaspoon or so of lime juice at the end too for that extra oomph!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      We really liked this. I have tried alot of yellow coconut chicken curries and this was the first that was flavourful enough. I really liked the meaty taste that came from using the bones and using chicken stock and thyme along with the strong curry powder taste. I used 6 chicken legs, a can of coconut cream and all the spice powder mix. I like things very spicy and this made it spicy enough. I think if you like things spicy atleast double the spices but if you prefer milder then just use the amount stated. I used fennel seeds instead of anise seeds and I also used a cinamon stick (in addition to the allspice) and I used two whole pieces of star anise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      I had store bought Jamaican curry powder so I used that. I only used 3 tbsp of the curry & my family was complaining there was too much spice. Next time I will cut it down to 2 tbsp. Made for Zaar Stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      I have been searching for a really great curry recipe and this is not it.I thought this was very bland. I think the lime juice should be added at the end as it gave this dish a bitter taste. I added about 1 tablespoon of sugar to decrease the bitterness. As suggested by other reviewers, I add about twice the amount of curry and still, blah. I won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      Delicious! Loved everything about this Curry chicken. I was already asked to make it again soon. Made for Everyday Is A Holiday Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Good jamaican home cooking ! Easy recipe using curry powder from the grocery store. I used a whole chicken cut up, used chicken bouillon & hot water instead of stock and because I was also out of coconut milk I used a few tablespoons of coconut cream mixed into evaporated milk - I added extra curry powder to taste and it is simmering away as I type.. can't wait to eat it in a little bit - the sauce tastes good so far.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      This recipe was PERFECT! Just the right amount of heat and flavor. A MUST USE!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      This was delicious! The leftovers were even better! I made this practically as written for the chicken part. I omitted the scotch bonnet chili pepper and added potatoes. I already had a curry powder so I didn't need to make one. My DH was rubbing his belly after this meal (and I was smacking my lips) of curry chicken. We served it with rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Made this for my DHs lunches, simple to put together and absolutely full of flavour. I used a coffee grinder to grind the curry powder (which smelled divine), its never been used to grind coffee but it's marvellous for nuts and seeds! I used all drumsticks, and let it cook away gently, DH declared it excellent. I made simple steamed white rice to go with it. Lovely recipe, made for ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Yummy! I loved the aroma of all of the seeds dry-roasting. I used a mini food-processor and had a little trouble grinding all of the seeds. I think I would use something else to grind them next time. I used a chicken thigh and drumstick and followed the directions as written. Great fresh curry flavor that went well with Coconut Rice. Thanks Deantini for a nice keeper. Made for ZWT5 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jamaican Chicken Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (526 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 940.2
     
    Calories from Fat 399
    42%
    Total Fat 44.3 g
    68%
    Saturated Fat 26.4 g
    132%
    Cholesterol 109.4 mg
    36%
    Sodium 436.4 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 104.3 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    26%
    Sugars 82.2 g
    329%
    Protein 36.4 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites