13 Reviews

This is the curry I remember, very good recipe but as usual the second time I cooked it I took some creative artistic license.

Cut up a whole chicken into 8 pieces; Use the same seasonings as with the recipe and coat them and bake them...Use the chix stock and coconut milk to make a sauce or gravy... OMG OFF THE HOOK....

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nudist Chef January 08, 2013

I had to double the amount of curry to get the flavor I was looking for. My DH and I loved it! He's half Jamaican and suggested doubling the curry powder after tasting the cooking liquid as I was about to turn off the flame. Glad he told me that because he was putting the leftover sauce on everything after that.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MIZZMILA January 29, 2010

AWESOME recipe!!! My fiancee and family loved this recipe. I bought two (2 pd-ish) whole chickens (de-boned and removed skin). The mix of white and dark meat blended wonderfully with the spices, coconut milk and stock. I used approximately, 4 cups of sliced onions. I sauteed them with a little salt, to release water, then added the garlic, ginger and bonnet. At first I thought 4 tbsps of curry was too much, but it worked great with one (13.5 fl oz) can of A Taste of Thai - coconut milk, thyme and stock. The simmering for one and a half hours is important, it makes the sauce silky smooth. I served the dish with white basmati rice, along with an avocado, tomato and onion salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristina Barry November 01, 2009

this is EXACTLY how jamaican curry should taste... just like when I lived in Jamaica... the aroma, taste, spice is all there... I used thighs, cuz theyre simply the best part to use when simmering for so long. Hit this with a teaspoon or so of lime juice at the end too for that extra oomph!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roccobertuzzi June 27, 2009

We really liked this. I have tried alot of yellow coconut chicken curries and this was the first that was flavourful enough. I really liked the meaty taste that came from using the bones and using chicken stock and thyme along with the strong curry powder taste. I used 6 chicken legs, a can of coconut cream and all the spice powder mix. I like things very spicy and this made it spicy enough. I think if you like things spicy atleast double the spices but if you prefer milder then just use the amount stated. I used fennel seeds instead of anise seeds and I also used a cinamon stick (in addition to the allspice) and I used two whole pieces of star anise.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zainab23 January 10, 2013

I had store bought Jamaican curry powder so I used that. I only used 3 tbsp of the curry & my family was complaining there was too much spice. Next time I will cut it down to 2 tbsp. Made for Zaar Stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh March 21, 2011

I have been searching for a really great curry recipe and this is not it.I thought this was very bland. I think the lime juice should be added at the end as it gave this dish a bitter taste. I added about 1 tablespoon of sugar to decrease the bitterness. As suggested by other reviewers, I add about twice the amount of curry and still, blah. I won't be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovestocook #6 August 31, 2010

Delicious! Loved everything about this Curry chicken. I was already asked to make it again soon. Made for Everyday Is A Holiday Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisygrl64 November 10, 2009

Good jamaican home cooking ! Easy recipe using curry powder from the grocery store. I used a whole chicken cut up, used chicken bouillon & hot water instead of stock and because I was also out of coconut milk I used a few tablespoons of coconut cream mixed into evaporated milk - I added extra curry powder to taste and it is simmering away as I type.. can't wait to eat it in a little bit - the sauce tastes good so far.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Danny November 02, 2009

This recipe was PERFECT! Just the right amount of heat and flavor. A MUST USE!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rsylves October 13, 2009
Jamaican Chicken Curry