Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jamaican Carrots Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jamaican Carrots

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2012

      Very, very good! You prob could get away w/not using any butter I bet. It IS spicy and sweet, but not as spicy as you think reading off the ingredients! Will be a keeper and made frequently since I eat a lot of veggies these days!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Easy, great taste, inexpensive, and good for you. There's also a lot of room for subtlety in this recipe - in the choice of pepper and hot sauce, and the fruit. I had some fresh pineapple, so I added that in place of the pineapply juice and the sugar. I might try it with just a touch of thyme.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      We liked these very much. I made them to go with my "Jamaican themed dinner" tonight and they were a hit and soooo easy to make. Great side dish for anytime. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      I used baby carrots and it was a big hit when carrots are usually only tolerated if accompanying a roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      This is a solid recipe and makes for a unique twist on what can sometimes be a mundane side of carrots. The incorporation of cumin and chili powder didn't work for my personal taste.....but that's just me and I'm still glad I tried them! Made for ZWT5. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Spicy good! Easy to make and Jammin good! Made for the ZWT5 Thanks! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      These were really good. Very different. I used baby carrots and cooked them a little longer because they weren't sliced. Made for ZWT5- Epicurean Queens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      Man oh Man, were these good! The combination of sweet and spicy was awesome! Even my pciky, picky brother ate and liked them!!! I love carrots made just about anyway you can make them so I was excited to add a new recipe to my carrot lineup! Thanks for sharing "Parsley"!! Made for ZWT5 Caribbean.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      Wow, wow and yum! We loved these carrots, what a nice change of pace. A little sweet and a little heat, they were terrific. I made them exactly as the recipe stated and they were perfect. Made for ZWT 5 :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      YUM! These carrots were a great mix of sweet and spice. The fruit juice is important to cut the spice! I used pineapple. I made them to go with a Jerk Chicken Dish and rice & beans. Very easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      I tried these today and I didn't like them, one of the ingredients (not sure which one, hot sauce, chili powder or cumin?) really overpowered the entire dish. Also I felt there was to much garlic, not in flavor but there were so many little pieces. I followed the directions but it just wasn't my style. My mother and father tried it but neither was fond of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      These where a great variation , Everyone enjoyed it and I would leave it as it is . Will use thie recipe often. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      I thought this was a little too sweet and I only used 1 TBSP of sugar. It was edible, but just not up my alley as far as taste goes. I'll tweak the spices a little when I make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      Good recipe, very spicy! I used petite baby carrots, whole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      Oh my goodness....I could sit down to these carrots for dinner and not want anything else, they are just divine!! Cummin is one of my favourite spices and it shone through nicely.YUM YUm...what more is there to say. Reviewed for ZWT3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      I adore carrots and cumin so you couldnt go wrong with this dish! I just made one serving of this for lunch, but I wish I made more. I used pineapple juice because thats what I had on had and used pre cut bagged carrots to speed things up. Loved this recipe! Made for ZWT 3!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      I'm not a huge fan of cooked carrots, but these are divine. The cumin and hot sauce make this dish special. I used half the amount of brown sugar, and followed everything else. Fussy Aunt Esther had a second helping -- very rare. Made and thoroughly enjoyed for Zaar World Tour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      What great flavor this dish gives you. I used 1 Tbsp of Splenda Brown Sugar and chose orange juice. I expected that this would be good but it proved to be even better than I had thought. I served it with Dirty Rice (Easy) and a green salad. I might say that I love Middle Eastern flavors and this seems right in line with them. It's not a shy carrot dish and I would say to use 1/2 the amounts of spice if you prefer things on the milder side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      My new favorite carrot recipe! I thought it had the perfect amount of sweetness and spice (I don't like overly-sweetened carrots). I just bought a 1-lb bag of baby carrots and boiled them whole...I was too lazy to do the slicing. They turned out great. Thanks for sharing this one; I'll be making it again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      A really nice zippy side dish. We were a little split on this, as I enjoyed it far more than my guest. I loved the way the flavors went from spicy to smoky to sweet as you ate them. If you are a big fan of candied or sweet carrots, this may not be the dish for you. (For my dinner guest I added a little extra brown sugar and that did the trick.) They sort of reminded me of a twist on Moroccan carrot dishs - more savory and aromatic. A caution, the cumin is very strong and I suspect that was why one reviewer did not care for these. If you are cumin timid then use half the stated amoun tostart and adjust to your taste. Thanks Parsley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jamaican Carrots

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.8
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    28%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 140.5 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 12.2 g
    49%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites