25 Reviews

I added more curry and some garlic salt. Was very quick and tasty. Not quite like traditional brown stew chicken but my Jamaican husband gave it a thumbs up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef T in Atlanta, Georgia March 15, 2010

Unimpressed. After reading all the other reviews, thought I'd try this recipe. It was rather bland. I added ALOT of salt & ended up topping with Red Hot sauce for more flavor. Liked the ingredients, just not the flavoring. Won't make it again. There are better ones out there for my palate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EppiRN March 28, 2010

I gave it 4 stars as I had to add a lot more spices and garlic to make the flavor pop

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neha.roy February 02, 2010

Tasty sauce but the sauce was watery/chicken wasnt tender as I had hoped it would be

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abchef January 18, 2010

I made this for dinner tonight and I felt that the dish lacked dimension in terms of flavor. Perhaps it's the kind of dish that tastes better the second day after the flavors have had a chance to mingle for a bit. It wasn't bad, just tasted flat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Starry December 07, 2009

The taste and flavor was very vivid. It was not as liquidy as I anticipated (served on a plate instead of a bowl) but that may have been because I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oenophilly November 17, 2009

Well, whether this is an authentic recipe or not, this stuff is da bomb! Followed the recipe exactly, except for adding a little salt. Also took another reviewer's advice and used a zinfandel wine, which was an excellent suggestion. DH and I both loved it and agreed that it could become highly addictive!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NolaFoodie May 09, 2009

Super easy to prepare and delicious as well! Everyone loved it--although it was a bit spicy (which I enjoy). My dish was brown--I don't know if it's because I let it simmer a bit longer, or what--but it definitely wasn't red. Thanks for posting, Nat Da Brat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pikake21 April 25, 2009

that was ok since its healty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobybaloony March 26, 2009

This is very delicious and easy to make. I've never had the traditional brown stew recipe so I can't compare. However this is still really good I doubled the allspice and curry powder for more flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
869484 January 13, 2009
Jamaican Brown Stew Chicken