Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jamaican Brown Stew Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jamaican Brown Stew Chicken

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2010

      I added more curry and some garlic salt. Was very quick and tasty. Not quite like traditional brown stew chicken but my Jamaican husband gave it a thumbs up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Unimpressed. After reading all the other reviews, thought I'd try this recipe. It was rather bland. I added ALOT of salt & ended up topping with Red Hot sauce for more flavor. Liked the ingredients, just not the flavoring. Won't make it again. There are better ones out there for my palate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      I gave it 4 stars as I had to add a lot more spices and garlic to make the flavor pop

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Tasty sauce but the sauce was watery/chicken wasnt tender as I had hoped it would be

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      I made this for dinner tonight and I felt that the dish lacked dimension in terms of flavor. Perhaps it's the kind of dish that tastes better the second day after the flavors have had a chance to mingle for a bit. It wasn't bad, just tasted flat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      The taste and flavor was very vivid. It was not as liquidy as I anticipated (served on a plate instead of a bowl) but that may have been because I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      Well, whether this is an authentic recipe or not, this stuff is da bomb! Followed the recipe exactly, except for adding a little salt. Also took another reviewer's advice and used a zinfandel wine, which was an excellent suggestion. DH and I both loved it and agreed that it could become highly addictive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      Super easy to prepare and delicious as well! Everyone loved it--although it was a bit spicy (which I enjoy). My dish was brown--I don't know if it's because I let it simmer a bit longer, or what--but it definitely wasn't red. Thanks for posting, Nat Da Brat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      that was ok since its healty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      This is very delicious and easy to make. I've never had the traditional brown stew recipe so I can't compare. However this is still really good I doubled the allspice and curry powder for more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Delicious, but NOT the traditional recipe, which would not include wine nor black beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      I don't know what the traditional dish tastes like, but I like this. I will admit it's more red than brown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      Ok, definitely did not taste like authentic brown stew chicken, which is more brown than red (hence the name :)), but it was still delicious. If you're looking for a recipe that's quick and tasty, give this a try! Oh, only real change I made was to use vinegar instead of wine. A great recipe, Nat! Even the kids enjoyed it. Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      My Extremely picky kids really enjoyed it, I used chicken wings instead of breast and used a capful of vinegar becuse i didn't have red wine and it came out great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      Great dish. Not like the brown stew i know, but still delicious. I think the dish overall needed some salt. That was especially apparent when eating leftovers the next day. So add some soy or salt. Still great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      Fantastic recipe! My wife and I threw this one together with the few ingredients we had in our kitchen and served it over some saffron rice and it has already been moved to the front of our quick weeknight meal recipe list!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      I agree, this is no where close to even the basic authentic Brown Stew, but good recipe though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      I personally LOVE this...and recomend that you might want to give it a try too..it IS very good..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      This recipe may be very tasty indeed however it is NOT Jamaican Brown Stew chicken or even close. I felt the need to comment since I am Jamaican and was really disturbed that this recipe was being called Jamaican Brown Stew Chicken. First of all brown stew chicken does not have curry, beans, tomoatoes, or wine. As I said this sounds delicious but please don't call it what it isn't. If you ever get a chance to visit Jamaica, try some actual brown stew chicken, and I can assure you DO NOT expect this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      I never have had Jamaican brown stew but I will probably eat it as often as possible now with this recipe. We give it four stars based on several reasons-- easy to make with simple and clear instructions. Not very expensive if you have the allspice, curry and thyme already....and the MOST important criteria---- I made the recipe EXACTLY as stated and it is so flavorful and truly the opposite of bland. What a relief!!!! I often find we need to modify recipes to our sassy tastebuds, but not this one. Now DH can follow recipe with no notes!! Thank you so much for sharing. (PS: I ate over rice, DH opted for a big old bowlful of just stew. Both of us were happy!) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jamaican Brown Stew Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (353 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 309.6
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    12%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 65.8 mg
    21%
    Sodium 300.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 9.1 g
    36%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 34.4 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites