Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jamaican Beef Patties

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2007

      I love the recipe! As a time saver, I use Goya Discos (premade empanada dough in the frozen section) instead of making the dough myself and it cuts the time tremendously (about 40 minutes start to finish). I grew up on Jamaican beef patties so the short cut allows me to have it whenever I get a craving. When I use the premade dough I egg wash the tops to make them shine. I can even get my fiance to help assemble the patties. To keep the patties HOT keep the habanero seeds in; less hot but still with spice take out the seeds, and omit the habanero if you have a person who just can't take the heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      This is an awesome recipe. I've made it three times now. Be warned it can be very labor intensive, but it's really worth it. The first time, I think it took me about 3-4 hours. The last time I got down to 2 hours. The changes I made: 1. The meat needed alot more salt than the recipe calls for, so I added to taste. 2. I increased the habanero for extra spicyness. 3. I added 4 or 5 cloves of garlic to the meat. 4. I eliminated the thyme, due to personal taste preference. The texture of the dough was wonderful and perfectly complimented the filling. I would suggest splitting the dough into equal parts of 7-8 dough balls. It's very easy to get the exact dough necessary that way, basically this gets you restaurant-sized patties. I made the mistake of filling the patties up too much, I would say use about 1/4 cup of filling. My family are huge fans of jamaican foods and they gobbled these right up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2007

      I love patties and have tried a few different recipes so I thought I would try one more. My search continues for the perfect authentic pattie! The dough was easy to make, I used 1/2 cup of shortening and 1/2 cup of butter instead of 1cup of shortening. The crust turned out flaky and delicious but I will omit the butter next time as it ws a little too buttery tasting. The filling was tasty but I definitely like a bit more kick to mine. Something is missing but I cannot figure out what. Perhaps a bit of curry in the meat and a few cloves of garlic. I will try it next time. Overall, a good recipe but you may want to tinker around with the filling depending on the intenisty of heat you desire.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      That was good patties but not quite the real deal, ussally only safran is use to make the dough yellow ,and the filling is missing some gloves,garlic,cayenne but thats just ,every house have there own recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      This is almost exactly the recipe in Caribbean cooking - they add a tsp of curry to the meat too and I loved it.

      Terrific patties, easy to make

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2011

      These are really good. I made these last night with some rice and peas and we enjoyed out meal very much. The dough wasn't real flakey as I had hoped but it had good flavor with the curry. Thank you for sharing, I will make again as the dough could have been my fault and we did like them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      The first time that I made this recipe I cut the measurements by half. It turned out pretty well; the filling was a little bland, but the pastry was flaky... just the way I like it. Overall, I really enjoyed it. On my second attempt, I made everything according to the above directions. The pastry did not at all turn out the way that I'd expected. It seems that the dough calls for way too much butter. My cuisinart food processor with dough hook wouldn't even process it and mine is the largest capacity on the market. If I make this recipe again, I would definetely cut the butter tby half; maybe even less than that. Unfortunately, the dough was dense and flavorless the second time around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      I made the filling as written except used jalapeno for the habanero, but the dough I only had 1 T curry. Very easy to make and the dough is great to work with after the rest time. Served with Jamaican Jerk Potato Salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      This was the first homemade beef patty I had ever tried making and eating and it was pretty good. I used turkey meat and it was perfect! I had never eaten curry before and I have to say this was too strong of a curry taste for me. I am still trying to aquire a taste for it, half way through eating it the curry got to me and I had to take a break. I am also used to eating a more crispy flaky dough, but I think next time i make this i would use way less curry. I liked that the dough was very easy to handle. It was also very filling which is good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Very authentic! 'Dis is da real ting man. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Incredibly good. Filling and crust both tasted like the patties from the place down the road. Added a bit extra curry and stuffing the patties was a learning experiance but very very tasty in the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      I love jamaican beef patties and this was my first attempt at homemade. Unfortunately the dough didn't turn out nice and flaky and was very bland. As for the filling, after doubling all the seasonings, the filling was very, very tasty. Ialso used 2 tbls of tomato paste instead of 2 tsp ketchup, 1 1/2 tbls onion powder (didn't have an onion), and added 1 tbls of garlic powder. This is a good starter recipe however I'm in search of a flakier, tastier shell.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      I have never made these before and loved them. Was in a bit of a hurry so used one whole egg instead of two yolks, a couple of tablespoons less butter than called for, and made smaller circular pinched-top pies rather than taking the time to cut out circles. Also used dried cayenne rather than habanero 'cuz I didn't have any fresh peppers, also so kids would eat them (which they did). Non-adventurous 5 yr old ate and loved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      Made and really enjoyed... yielded 6 really large patties. Next time would make into 12 smaller patties. I thought the heat would be too much, but they mellowed out really nicely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      I made these today. It did take a bit of time but the results was worth the effort. My son loved them just as is. I think it is a good base but I need a bit more heat and it just needs something extra to make it 5 stars. The crust was great. I did add the garlic as suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      My Daughters LOVE Jamaican Beef Patties. This recipe was my first attempt at making them and it will be the only recipe for them here on! They were awesome! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      This Beef Pattie recipe was very good. My father loved it! the only thing which I felt was missing was that the filling wasn't quite 'spicy' enough. Also next time I will omit some of the butter as it was a bit too rich for me. But besides that it was wonderful. Thanks! I've been craving for these for a loooooong time :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      really niiiice!, I used chicken instead of beef and I egg washed the patties prior to baking. Also I used 1/2 cup butter & 1/2 cup shortening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      I used to live in Toronto where there were lots of Jamaican beef patties available but after moving to the Bay Area, I had trouble finding any here! I was craving for these for so long and finally had a chance to eat them. My husband never had beef patties but he just loves this recipe. We dont' have a food processor, we used our hands to knead the dough. Everything turned out great! Thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2005

      This recipe definitely exceeded my expectations. The combination of thyme and hot peppers (I used 1 tsp. of cayenne powder for a mild patty) seemed unusual but turned out fantastic! The crust was wonderfully flaky and light. A new family favourite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jamaican Beef Patties

    Serving Size: 1 (297 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1131.8
     
    Calories from Fat 626
    55%
    Total Fat 69.6 g
    107%
    Saturated Fat 37.4 g
    187%
    Cholesterol 328.6 mg
    109%
    Sodium 1218.9 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 88.9 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 37.0 g
    74%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites