19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were so easy to make, i am making dozens to give away this Christmas. I made one mistake and tried a batch with wholemeal flour..don't, they just didn't taste right. My only change would be to add a little more icing sugar as another person suggested. However excellent mini cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the veggie plot December 24, 2009

I've never done what amounts to being a thumbprint style cookie before, but this recipe made it a very good experience! Oh and this was also the first time that I ever mixed an entire recipe in my little food processor, a fascinating experience! UPDATE; I've made this a few more times since and I highly recommend increasing the amount of confectioner's (icing) sugar as the cookie is much better sweeter! I've tried it @ 3/4 c. but I may even up it to a full cup the next time i make it! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'withGas February 17, 2009

These cookies went together very easily but they were dry and had no taste. I had to throw the whole batch away because I just couldn't put them on my Christmas platters. I had such high expectations too... sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morningfeather December 24, 2008

Got to love any dough recipe that you can throw together entirely in the food processor! I read the other reviews and noted to shorten the baking time, but in the end, I needed 15 minutes, so it was bang on for me. I used mostly whole wheat flour (used white for the first 1/4 cup). I ended up doubling the recipe and used 3 eggs all together...if I had added 4 it would have been too runny. The dough was easy to roll into balls and baked nicely. Obviously, a different texture because of the ww flour. For my third batch into the oven I flattened them out a little more, pressed lightly into some sugar, and then made the jam indents. That batch turned out the best by far, so I'll do it that way next time. Thanks, this was a breeze and they look great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner December 13, 2008

Thank you for this recipe! It seems to be the same one I learned in Home Ec class 35 years ago. I lost it about 15 years ago and have been looking ever since! This has the distinctive (and easy) features of not using the egg white wash and putting the jam in before baking. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clcarr December 03, 2008

Delish! Easy to make too. Will make again next year. Thank you for sharing this cookie recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Your Mom December 23, 2007

Sorry, Lennie -- I started out as others had mentioned, and used 2 eggs --NOT the FIX ! Batter was very wet, and all I could do was drop by teaspoonsful. Couldn't even leave a "dent". I topped with a small tad of canned SOLO pastry jam, and baked for 12 minutes. They are very light and airy, possibly due to extra egg, but not much flavor. They do look pretty good, but don't think I will try again. Did get 48 cookies. Thanks for posting a different cookie recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney December 15, 2007

Quick, easy and Tasty! This is my first time making the thumbprints and my husband even had a great time helping. Definately a keeper. I love easy recipes that everyone will eat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hisirishgem December 14, 2007

Loved this cookie and it looks great on the cookie platter. A little dry. Next time I am going to try what the poster below suggested..an extra egg and less baking time. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imayoung2 December 09, 2007

This is my kind of cookie! I used whole wheat flour and they turned out wonderful, I love the old world feeling of these cookies, hardy and a little rustic with the ground walnut and jam. I thought they were fantastic, a definite keeper in my book, thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO October 07, 2007
Jam-Filled Christmas Cookies