Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jalapeno Sweet Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jalapeno Sweet Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2011

      Very good, I am always looking for new soups for my restaurant in Tianjin China. Most of my customers are expats who miss good old home cooking and this soup hit the spot for the fall weather that has just arrived.

      I made as posted but tripled the batch, it was such a hit that my first customer told everyone who came in that day that they had to try it. I served with pickled jalapenos, a drizzle of sour cream and warm tortillas.

      Hank's Sports Bar & Grill in Tianjin China has a new soup, I will be ordering another twelve pounds of sweet potatos today, thanks Miss Annie for a new soup on my special board.

      Update: Sorry, didn't mean to post the same review, just wanted to let you know that for five years straight your Jalapeno Sweet Potato soup has been a regular for my restaurant over the holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      Great soup! Had to try this when I saw the title. Two of my favorite foods in a soup! Other than cutting the recipe in half and subbing olive oil for butter, followed the recipe. I used an immersion blender and then the potato masher, like the texture of the potato masher better. Next time I will probably crisp the bacon and remove it, cooking onion and garlic in drippings. I would like the crunchy bacon texture better than the chewy bits of bacon. Great unique recipe, will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      What a delicious soup! Plenty of heat, but not enough to mask the complexity of this beautiful creation. Served it with a spinach salad with raspberry vinaigrette, and some multi-grain bread to dunk in the orange loveliness. DH loved it too, and there was plenty to freeze for several more meals. Thanks, Miss Annie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      REALLY good! Perfect for a cold winter evening! I also used my immersion blender to smooth the soup and WOW!!! I bet it will be even better tomorrow! Thanks for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      It was pretty spicy for me, and I normally like pretty spicy food, it was probably the brand of jalapenos used. Otherwise, delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      This is such a unique soup. I loved it. The flavor was amazing! I followed the recipe exactly and it was PERFECTION. I don't like bacon, but there was no bacon flavor that stood out. Its very very easy to make. like another reviewer said "if you're thinking about making this DO IT!!!"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      I can't even articulate how good this is! I think I am going to be making this for decades! The jalapenos make it interesting, and it's one of the most delicious winter soups, ever. If you're thinking of trying this: DO IT! It's a whole lotta bang for not too much effort.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      This is my new all-time favorite food! I did not have any bacon on hand, but it was still delicious without it. My kids loved it, too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      I would leave the bacon out next time as I found the pieces fatty and chewy in the soup, but other than that, very good comfort food!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      This is a lovely soup with a delicate flavour. I made a vegetarian version with veggie stock and upped the spices a bit. I also added some strands of saffron to deepend the colour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      oh my. this is good. i ratcheted up the garlic and jalapenos, and used turkey bacon. straight to the keeper file, mil gracias!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      OUTSTANDING as can be! This is definately a keeper recipe! Used rindless bacon, used oil spray, Less calories made my day! Added red capisum, think was three, Is personal taste as LOVE chili! Recipe is GREAT as is, TRUE! I then added 3 tablespoons no fat peanut butter too! As think used wet coriander, wanted to balance the taste for me! Have I mentioned...this is a GREAT recipe! THANKS! PS Big fan of Miss Annie recipes :) WHOO HOO

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      We loved this soup! I taste tested before the milk and liked it as is so I omitted. My father in law can't take a lot of spice but he loved the flavors in the soup! The bacon, jalapenos, and cumin make for a complex flavor. Thanks Miss Annie, for posting. Roxygirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      YUMMY! I love this soup. It is very flavorful, comforting and not spicy. My 6 and 9 yr olds like it and they don't like spicy foods. Smells great while cooking. I omitted the butter and just saute the bacon and onions together, I thought there was enough grease from the bacon. Everything else was as specified on the recipe. I used my stick blender and puree the whole thing. The little green cilantro specs look great with the orange soup. Thank you. I am sure I will be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      Delicious!! We loved this wonderfully flavorful soup. It has a surprisingly good combination of flavors: sweet from the sweet potatoes; smoky from the bacon; and zingy from the peppers. My family devoured it and gave it 2-thumbs up. Thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe...it is definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      This soup is amazing! I made it for a large group of friends along with cornbread, and they devoured every bit of it. Thanks Miss Annie! Edited to say: I have made this many times now, and the last batch was huge so I ended up freezing a jar of leftover soup. I reheated it this weekend, and it was great after freezing, too. This recipe is near the top of our list of all time fav's!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      Delicious! I added sour cream as I mistakenly added too much jalapeno. Wonderful soup for a fall day. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2006

      I change the quanity to 7 cups. Easy to make and the soup had rave reviews from company...a late evening supper served with Chicken Salad roll-ups, Recipe 27505, in flour tortillas. Both are make ahead recipes and easy to serve

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2004

      This is a very interesting and different type of soup. The sweet potato doesn't have the normal sweet type taste most are used to, but has hints of bacon and cumin. The jalapenos make this nicely spicy, and this is a nice warming, flavorful soup as a whole. Everyone enjoyed. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2003

      I have eaten this soup at the Peach Tree Tea Room in Fredericksburg, TX and it is WONDERFUL! Just enough spice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jalapeno Sweet Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (4356 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.2
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    21%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 9.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 769.4 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    jalapeno juice

    comino

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes