28 Reviews

Very good, I am always looking for new soups for my restaurant in Tianjin China. Most of my customers are expats who miss good old home cooking and this soup hit the spot for the fall weather that has just arrived.

I made as posted but tripled the batch, it was such a hit that my first customer told everyone who came in that day that they had to try it. I served with pickled jalapenos, a drizzle of sour cream and warm tortillas.

Hank's Sports Bar & Grill in Tianjin China has a new soup, I will be ordering another twelve pounds of sweet potatos today, thanks Miss Annie for a new soup on my special board.

Update: Sorry, didn't mean to post the same review, just wanted to let you know that for five years straight your Jalapeno Sweet Potato soup has been a regular for my restaurant over the holidays.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theupperdecktj November 12, 2011

Great soup! Had to try this when I saw the title. Two of my favorite foods in a soup! Other than cutting the recipe in half and subbing olive oil for butter, followed the recipe. I used an immersion blender and then the potato masher, like the texture of the potato masher better. Next time I will probably crisp the bacon and remove it, cooking onion and garlic in drippings. I would like the crunchy bacon texture better than the chewy bits of bacon. Great unique recipe, will make again!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 January 26, 2011

What a delicious soup! Plenty of heat, but not enough to mask the complexity of this beautiful creation. Served it with a spinach salad with raspberry vinaigrette, and some multi-grain bread to dunk in the orange loveliness. DH loved it too, and there was plenty to freeze for several more meals. Thanks, Miss Annie!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole September 16, 2010

REALLY good! Perfect for a cold winter evening! I also used my immersion blender to smooth the soup and WOW!!! I bet it will be even better tomorrow! Thanks for posting this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karalyn5272 January 06, 2010

It was pretty spicy for me, and I normally like pretty spicy food, it was probably the brand of jalapenos used. Otherwise, delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vermazen January 03, 2010

This is such a unique soup. I loved it. The flavor was amazing! I followed the recipe exactly and it was PERFECTION. I don't like bacon, but there was no bacon flavor that stood out. Its very very easy to make. like another reviewer said "if you're thinking about making this DO IT!!!"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krystena10 December 17, 2009

I can't even articulate how good this is! I think I am going to be making this for decades! The jalapenos make it interesting, and it's one of the most delicious winter soups, ever. If you're thinking of trying this: DO IT! It's a whole lotta bang for not too much effort.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzilla, Esq November 11, 2009

This is my new all-time favorite food! I did not have any bacon on hand, but it was still delicious without it. My kids loved it, too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jensando October 06, 2009

I would leave the bacon out next time as I found the pieces fatty and chewy in the soup, but other than that, very good comfort food!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhibird May 17, 2009

This is a lovely soup with a delicate flavour. I made a vegetarian version with veggie stock and upped the spices a bit. I also added some strands of saffron to deepend the colour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rmarcella56 December 24, 2008
Jalapeno Sweet Potato Soup