Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jalapeno-Red Bean-BBQ Burgers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jalapeno-Red Bean-BBQ Burgers

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on October 04, 2009

      This was yummy! I followed the directions except that I used black beans instead of kidney beans due to a personal preference and added 1 Tbs of chopped green bell pepper. I thought that these had a very good flavor and loved the addition of barbecue sauce in the recipe, you can really taste it! :D They also look very nice. I made mine thin and cooked them on a skillet 3 minutes on each side, after cooking they were just a little crumbly but nothing to worry about if you use a spatula to put them on the bun. Thanks EdsGirlAngie! Update: I have made again at least 3 times since reviewing. I like to put in a whole egg and a little bit of oatmeal and it seems to help them hold together better. Also, making them thicker helps them not to fall apart and I have had success baking these in an oven at 350^ till they looked and felt done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      i'm sorry i totally disagree with the other reviews. these were complete soup until i added over a cup of breadcrumbs and they did not hold together at all before, during, or after cooking. moreover, they were very bland even though i added quite a lot more chili and jalapeƱo then called for. i might use kidney beans as a base for burgers again but not without a lot more binding agents and a heck of a lot more flavor. these were time consuming, annoying, and totally tasteless. will not make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      Not bad. I added cayenne and cajun spices to give it more of kick. Much cheaper than buying frozen vegetarian patties at a grocery store.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      Very nice and easy. I used 4 jalapenos & still didn't find them spicy, I will try more next time. Topped with munster cheese & carmelized onions. Delish

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      These were AMAZING!! My husband really enjoyed the flavor & spice going on here. I did make a couple changes...when I went to make these I realized we were out of tomatoes so I used sundried in place, an entire jalapeno, no egg white (to make them vegan), and added some cilantro just because. I also cooked them until they were crispy on the outside. I topped them with bbq sauce, chipotle "mayo", avocado, and lots of onion. Served with Smoky Chipotle Coleslaw. Thanks so much for such a great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      These tasted great, but mostly I could just taste the BBQ sauce. I couldn't get them to firm up enough, and they had no spice to them. Next time I'll try more breadcrumbs and jalapenos.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Quite delicious, but nowhere near as firm as what is pictured. Because it was pouring rain outside, we cooked these on an indoor griddle. They did just fine. A triple dose of hot sauce, salt, and pepper when mixing them up really brought out the flavor. Great topped with guacamole, too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      I left out the jalapeno and the egg, and used 3/4 cup oatmeal instead of breadcrumbs, served with avocado, lettuce, tomato, cheese and barbecue sauce. These went over alright - they didn't have much flavor or substance themselves so we wound up smothering ours in barbecue sauce, even with all the other toppings. I recommend throwing some kind of Cajun spice mixture into them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      These are great! We cooked ours at a pretty low temp in the skillet, and while they were a bit of a sloppy mess before cooking, they were just fine afterwards. We followed other reviewer's recommendations and used a whole egg and some oatmeal to help it all stick together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Do not try to grill these. I know the recipe says that its normal for them to be mushy but theyll firm up on the grill... well they dont. And i prob used about 1 cup of bread crumbs and followed everything else in the recipe. They were tasy.. not amazing. but only one of the four i made was able to stay together on the grill. Better to use a frying pan. Sorry, but I was unimpressed and unsatisfied.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      Very tasty! Best veggie burgers I've tried. Omitted the egg white but otherwise made as directed. I cooked the veggies/spices down to a paste before combining with other ingredients and everything stayed together well when pan fried. Used a spicy BBQ sauce that added to the flavor. I'll definitely make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      I cannot get enough of these! Sometimes I've also had a little bit of trouble with these holding together while cooking, but I find that handling them gently with a spatula seems to do the trick. Topped with BBQ sauce, cheddar, and slices of tomato, there really is no more delicious vegetarian burger out there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      This burger has so much flavor! I really enjoyed it. I had it on the BBQ, with all the suggested toppings...using tex-mex cheese blend in place of cheddar and on an onion bun. Served with a side of spicy sweet potato fries. I will use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      We really enjoyed the recipe. I doubled it, using 1/2 cup breadcrumbs for each recipe and only 2 egg whites. Otherwise I followed the recipe. We used an excellent barbeque sauce. I took a low-fat tortilla, spread a little bbq sauce and some cheddar, baked it until crispy. Served burger on top. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      Love love love this! We make it for every BBQ we go to-- which is every weekend in an NZ summer. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      I'm giving this recipe a five star rating for flavor. I made my patties a bit more thin than the photo indicates. I used a whole egg, 1/2 cup fine bread crumbs and a can of Goya pink beans instead of kidney beans. I substituted canned, diced tomatoes (lightly patted dry with a paper towel) for fresh. I also froze the patties on greased plastic wrap prior to cooking. They held together fairly well. I will definitely make these again soon. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      Love the flavor of these burgers! I made a double batch, which worked out perfectly... I used 1 14-oz can of petite diced tomatoes (drained), and 1 whole egg. After cooking the first burger, I decided to increase the breadcrumbs a bit, but I think that next time I would increase it even more; the burgers turned out VERY delicate and soft, and I think the increased breadcrumbs will help with the texture a lot. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Lots of flavor but difficult to hold together. I did add about 1/4 cup more crumbs, too. I refrig. for about 6 hours before cooking and they got much wetter (that's when I added the extra crumbs). I served in corn tortillas (that I had browned in oil like a taco shell). Avocado made a nice topping on these. I will try to perfect my technique! Thanks Angie, for another tasty recipe. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      These were wonderful -- so much better than store-bought veggie burgers. Only thing we found was that the recipe as listed doesn't seem to make 4 burgers; more like 3. Very easy to make, though -- my husband who doesn't really cook was able to handle making these on his own, and they turned out great :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jalapeno-Red Bean-BBQ Burgers

    Serving Size: 1 (239 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 273.8
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    38%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 29.4 mg
    9%
    Sodium 630.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 15.1 g
    30%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    whole grain buns

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites