52 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was yummy! I followed the directions except that I used black beans instead of kidney beans due to a personal preference and added 1 Tbs of chopped green bell pepper. I thought that these had a very good flavor and loved the addition of barbecue sauce in the recipe, you can really taste it! :D They also look very nice. I made mine thin and cooked them on a skillet 3 minutes on each side, after cooking they were just a little crumbly but nothing to worry about if you use a spatula to put them on the bun. Thanks EdsGirlAngie! Update: I have made again at least 3 times since reviewing. I like to put in a whole egg and a little bit of oatmeal and it seems to help them hold together better. Also, making them thicker helps them not to fall apart and I have had success baking these in an oven at 350^ till they looked and felt done.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nooby Chef October 04, 2009

i'm sorry i totally disagree with the other reviews. these were complete soup until i added over a cup of breadcrumbs and they did not hold together at all before, during, or after cooking. moreover, they were very bland even though i added quite a lot more chili and jalapeƱo then called for. i might use kidney beans as a base for burgers again but not without a lot more binding agents and a heck of a lot more flavor. these were time consuming, annoying, and totally tasteless. will not make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiritussancto September 25, 2010

Not bad. I added cayenne and cajun spices to give it more of kick. Much cheaper than buying frozen vegetarian patties at a grocery store.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babydoll_1313 September 01, 2010

Very nice and easy. I used 4 jalapenos & still didn't find them spicy, I will try more next time. Topped with munster cheese & carmelized onions. Delish

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma256 August 30, 2010

These were AMAZING!! My husband really enjoyed the flavor & spice going on here. I did make a couple changes...when I went to make these I realized we were out of tomatoes so I used sundried in place, an entire jalapeno, no egg white (to make them vegan), and added some cilantro just because. I also cooked them until they were crispy on the outside. I topped them with bbq sauce, chipotle "mayo", avocado, and lots of onion. Served with Smoky Chipotle Coleslaw. Thanks so much for such a great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious August 09, 2010

These tasted great, but mostly I could just taste the BBQ sauce. I couldn't get them to firm up enough, and they had no spice to them. Next time I'll try more breadcrumbs and jalapenos.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melemo July 05, 2010

Quite delicious, but nowhere near as firm as what is pictured. Because it was pouring rain outside, we cooked these on an indoor griddle. They did just fine. A triple dose of hot sauce, salt, and pepper when mixing them up really brought out the flavor. Great topped with guacamole, too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tennbob May 31, 2010

I left out the jalapeno and the egg, and used 3/4 cup oatmeal instead of breadcrumbs, served with avocado, lettuce, tomato, cheese and barbecue sauce. These went over alright - they didn't have much flavor or substance themselves so we wound up smothering ours in barbecue sauce, even with all the other toppings. I recommend throwing some kind of Cajun spice mixture into them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS December 21, 2009

These are great! We cooked ours at a pretty low temp in the skillet, and while they were a bit of a sloppy mess before cooking, they were just fine afterwards. We followed other reviewer's recommendations and used a whole egg and some oatmeal to help it all stick together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenFish November 02, 2009

Do not try to grill these. I know the recipe says that its normal for them to be mushy but theyll firm up on the grill... well they dont. And i prob used about 1 cup of bread crumbs and followed everything else in the recipe. They were tasy.. not amazing. but only one of the four i made was able to stay together on the grill. Better to use a frying pan. Sorry, but I was unimpressed and unsatisfied.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmaloney9 September 07, 2009
Jalapeno-Red Bean-BBQ Burgers