Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jalapeno Macaroni & Cheese Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jalapeno Macaroni & Cheese Casserole

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2012

      I am usually a very strict follower of recipes, but I was searching out a recipe that came close to a dish I ate in a restaurant last week. This was the closest I found. To give the recipe the punch I wanted, I used 3 LARGE jalapenos and left in about 10 to 15 seeds. I also used almost a full teaspoon of cayenne, and 7 or 8 cloves of garlic. Used 3 green onions from my garden (the bottom few inches only) instead of half a small onion, sprinkled in some paprika, and added a 15.25 oz. can of corn. Left out the bread crumbs just because I had none. I did not add salt other than to the water for noodles, and did not miss it at all. I have the flavor totally where I want it (maybe too much garlic for others), and I am going to play with the cheese, milk and flour next time to get enough of a liquid where it will bubble while baking. Might try tabasco sometime for a change of pace, but I am seriously in love with this spicy dish!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      I was really excited to try this recipe out based on the scrumptious photo and a craving for mac n' cheese. Unfortunately, the final product turned into a nearly inedible mess. Firstly, I would have halved the amount of breadcrumbs (and probably the flour) as well. All the creaminess I savoured as I initially tasted the cheese sauce disappeared once I pulled the dish out of the oven. Secondly, to echo previous reviewers, some seasoning would have really spiced this dish up. I tried using two jalapenos instead of three, and it was still too spicy for me, but I won't hold that against the recipe. Overall, there was a lot of potential, but I'll make some changes if I am to make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2011

      I thought it was a little bland . . . despite the kick from the pepper, it was missing something. Not sure what - salt? I didn't add any - maybe I should have. I used poblanos because the jalapenos in my store looked a little "tired," and dried minced onions because I was out of onions. I also thought the sauce was a bit thick - might use 3 T flour vs. 5, and maybe add a bit more cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      This is very, very good. It is the only way I make mac & cheese now.

      I have made it with and without breadcrumbs and prefer it without as it is not as dry. Be warned, though, depending on the size of the jalapenos, it can be very hot. If you want it mild, 2 jalapenos will still give you heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

    • on January 08, 2008

      This was pretty good. Not really as creamy as I would've liked. But that could be my fault as I added less flour. I will say, the flavor was still awesome. I did add a little salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      DH & I really enjoyed this. I halved the recipe easily, but used the full amount of cumin & cayenne. I used skim milk & whole-wheat macaroni. The flavor is good & spicy. The cheese/milk mixture was a little thick - I think i needed to use more milk to make it more creamy - and I didn't use as many breadcrumbs, but this was a delicious weeknight side to baked chicken nuggets, a salad & Roasted Green Beans. It came together really quickly too - I baked about 15 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      This was good I skipped adding the flour and used homemade bread crumbs also with a little burrito seasoning to keep it more mexican tasting. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      This was very good, although I used a 4 oz. can of minced jalepeno because I did not have fresh ones, and added some cayenne as well. I love spicy food. :) I will be making this again, and congrats on a very easy and tasty mac & cheese. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      Very good and hit the spot as far as comfort food goes, but definitely needs more seasoning as it was a little bland until I added a few things(salt, pepper, cayenne, etc). I used poblanos instead of jalapenos and whole wheat shells instead of elbows because that was what I had on hand. The only thing that kept this from being a 5-star recipe is the lack of seasoning, but otherwise a very solid macaroni and cheese dish. I'm reviewing this dish for PAC Fall '06.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2005

      I can't resist macaroni & cheese - I'm always trying new recipes and this is a good one! I left out the onion because I didn't have any and used skim milk. I also made my own breadcrumbs from asiago cheese bread mixed with dried parsley, oregano, basil, & garlic & onion powders. The recipe came together very easily and made for a great lunch on a chilly fall day. Thanks Cynna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jalapeno Macaroni & Cheese Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 873.8
     
    Calories from Fat 339
    38%
    Total Fat 37.7 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 22.6 g
    113%
    Cholesterol 107.4 mg
    35%
    Sodium 916.5 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 98.3 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 34.5 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites