Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jalapeno Jack Polenta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jalapeno Jack Polenta

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 14, 2011

      I did make 1/2 of the recipe, otherwise prepared as directed by the recipe and enjoyed it. Definitely will repeat this, but will point out that I thought the jalapeno jack cheese was the dominant flavor. Of course since I love it, it was no problem. Loved the consistency and the leftovers will be reheated and enjoyed again. Thanks for a keeper NcMysteryShopper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      I had never made polenta before, and heard lots of cooks rave about it, so my DH and I decided to try it. Personally, we couldn't stand the texture. However the flavor was the only plus of the dish. I guess polenta is not for us. Thanks for your spin of it though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      This is really good! I've never made polenta before so I was a little nervous, but for naught! I made a 1/2 batch and would call it 6 servings, but that's just me! It was a little stringy, so I may reduce the cheese, and add a little chipotle in adobo if I made it again. Thanks, NcMystery. I'm really glad we tried it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Very good! I used regular jack cheese (don't like the hot stuff) and parmesan. I also used half chicken broth and half water. Would definitely make again. Made for ZWT III.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

      This was good (polenta always is) but I thought that it would have more of a kick to it. I added jalepenos as well but something just seemed to be missing. Thanks for the recipe though. I will keep it and experiment a bit to our tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      Perfect!!! I've never eaten polenta with anything else but Italian..this is great!! We really enjoyed the flavor! Thank you Cheryl!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      This was super simple and the best polenta I have ever had. I'm making it again for the second night in a row!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      This is so easy and tastes so good. After it was cooked I poured it into a small tart plate and allowed it to become firm and garnished with additional grated cheese. It was topped with Savory Black-Eyed Peas with Bacon Savory Black-Eyed Peas With Bacon with a side of fresh sliced tomatoes, cornbread and green onions. Really down home taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      I've never made polenta ...and never tasted it. I followed the recipe apart from the jalapeno jack - not available here so I subbed equal amounts of gouda and cheddar, added two tablespoons of chopped jalepenos. I did as nanc-ob did. After cooling and then cutting into triangles, fried in about a tablespoon of oil.Yummo...totally delicious!!! A great first encounter with polenta!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2005

      Comfort food!I made this in the microwave oven using white polenta and added tumeric for color. I enjoyed it my DH didn`t like it! I served it topped with your Shrimp and garlic Gambas Al Ajillo (Shrimp W/ Garlic) Catalonia which he had no problem eating right down!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

      This is really great comfort food! My husband, mom and I loved the flavor of the pepper jack cheese with the smooth polenta. Even better the second night. The kids didn't really care for it, but their vote didn't count! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2005

      This polenta is fabulous, and I too enjoy it as nanc-ob mentioned. I served this with fried fish :) yummm!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2005

      I like to spread the polenta in a pan and after chilling in fridge cut it into shapes. These can also be fried. Makes for a great looking dinner plate. Hello C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jalapeno Jack Polenta

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 161.0
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    55%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 28.0 mg
    9%
    Sodium 352.9 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites