Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jalapeno Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jalapeno Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on September 05, 2010

      Great recipe and the best cornbread I've ever had. I always thought my mom made the best corn bread but she just got bumped to second place. Sorry Mom. I made this to go along with some sloppy Joes but this was so good and we ate so much, it became the main course and the sloppy Joes became the side dish. Since a couple of reviewers stated it was a bit oily I cut back the oil by about one fourth and added a little extra butter milk. I served it with honey butter and it couldn't have been better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      This is the recipe I've been looking for! It is a bit oily for me so I cut back on the vegetable oil, not the bacon grease. It has just the right amount of heat and cheddar. I expected it to be too gritty without any flour but it has a good texture unless you like a high, fluffy, cake-like cornbread, but (for me) that isn't cornbread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      Thanks! Very good. I used 3 peppers instead of 2 and a little more cheese. Something was missing ... maybe a little flour? I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      The flavor and texture is good, but a tad bit oily for us. I am going to play with this one, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      Loved your granny's recipe--very moist and delicious bread! I used only one jalapeno which was very mild and just right for my family. Went very well with my Chile Con Carne With Red Beans, Chile Con Carne With Red Beans! Made for Flour Power in the Photos Forum, April 2008-- a definite keeper! Thanks ratherbeswimmin'!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      This was great and then I realized I forgot the cheese so it must be even better if made correctly! I'll try again and update, it was a delicious goof on my part though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      Excellent cornbread. Easy, moist and oh so savoury. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      This was easy to make. One of the best Ive ever had. I think you could leave the Jalapenos out for a regular cornbread and It would make a basic yummy cornbread. Thanks for the Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2006

      My husband loved the recipe, but I found it a little too heavy (the vegetable oil along with the cheese and bacon fat). I made it in a glass pan, but I think cast iron is the way to go to get a crisp outside to the cornbread. The recipe was very moist. I did not have buttermilk on hand so I used Substitute for Buttermilk to make it from milk and lemon juice. The heat was perfect with the jalapenos, not too hot. I enjoyed this recipe, it was very filling along with a pot of chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      First let me say I have never cared for jalepeno anything. However, my divorced son lives with me and he loves it. I made this cornbread and it was absolutely delicious! He took leftovers for lunch the next day, he said it was even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2005

      I doubled the recipe, but used the same amount of oil called for and used buttermilk for the other 1/2 cup oil & used 3 eggs. I baked in a cast iron skillet, but had batter left over. I used a muffin top pan for the rest of the batter (this was a good choice). I was leery of making cornbread using only cornmeal since I make mine with cornmeal & flour. I think this will go great with fried fish. Can't wait to make this for me sister who already loves the cornbread I've always made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      Best cornbread you will ever have! If you don't like the peppers leave the out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      I really wanted to submit a picture of this recipe so I went to grab my camera...I came back and 1/3 of it was gone to "tasting it Dad" and "just checking it out". My family absolutely attacked it. Fantastic...it's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2004

      My husband prefers "savory" to "sweet". I have to say this recipe was a definite success, because he actually went back for seconds! The bread came out golden brown and moist (although I don't have a cast iron skillet). I served it with chili and will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2004

      This is excellent cornbread. Had a perfectly formed browned crust and tender, moist cornbread on the inside. I could taste the heat from the peppers but it wasn't too much. Went perfect with BBQ brisket, baked beans, and potato salad. I also baked mine in a cast-iron skillet. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2004

      Excellent! Tender, light and crusty! I made this unsweetened version to go with Uncle Bill's Split Pea Soup. Being a "gringo", I subbed 2 very small chili peppers and decreased the amount of bacon drippings to 1 1/2 tbls because I only had an 8x8" pan. This cornbread needs no butter, the flavor and moistness stands on it's own. Grannys know how to cook! Thanks Di, you are DH's second favorite cook (he doesn't DARE say first)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2003

      The first time I made this I made it in the traditional cast iron frying pan. It was wonderful. For lunch today I baked Your Los Rio Stew (# 39788) and since I had the oven hot I mixed a batch and baked it in a cast iron bread stick pan. It was even better, if that's possible. It crusts perfectly and the core of the corn sticks were moist, tender, and have a very sassy flavor. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2003

      My husband would love it if I made cornbread every night for dinner. This one was very good--tender texture with just the right amount of pepper. I spread real butter on each slice. Wow, a real feast. I also cooked in an iron skillet. A keeper, no doubt. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2003

      This cornbread was excellent. Granny's usually have the best recipes. I made it in a iron skillet. I am a firm believer that cornbread isn't worth eating unless it comes out of an iron skillet. The texture was tender and moist. It had a little "bite" from the peppers. I served it with a table full of cooked vegetables. Delicious. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jalapeno Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (147 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 413.4
     
    Calories from Fat 283
    68%
    Total Fat 31.4 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 95.1 mg
    31%
    Sodium 700.4 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 9.9 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes