11 Reviews

I love jalapeno cheese bread! I added extra jalapenos, used butter instead of vegetable oil, added in a little of the liquid from the canned jalapenos (a couple of tablespoons), added a 1/2 tsp garlic powder and 1/4 tsp cumin (I can never stop fiddling with recipes!). It was quite tasty, but still a little dry.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julesong May 09, 2002

I thought the bread was a little dry, but doesn't everything taste great from a bread machine anyway? The jalapeno bread I had recently at a barbecue place in TX was very moist and soft, with just a little hint of jalapeno. I'm still looking for the perfect recipe. Really, this wasn't bad.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Agnes DiFonzo November 20, 2001

I figured out the dry problem everyone seemed to be having. First of all, the 50 ml sugar is 3 - 3/8 tbs; then the 5 oz water is only 5/8 cup - it should be at least one whole cup. I added a little more cheese and made the dough, then made pan rolls. When it says to mince the jalapeno pepper, that's a good idea. I just chopped them and when you get a good sized piece, it overpowers the bread. So, anyway, mine were moist but next time, I 'll make sure to mince the jalapenos. Anyway, a really tasty switch from regular bread, thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurita December 24, 2002

YUM! This was very good. I think I messed up the sugar because the 50ml threw me off...I put in one ounce of sugar. But it turned out very soft and moist and had the perfect amount of spice. My kids liked it too (they are 3 and 4!) Hot enough for the adults, not too hot for the kids. I followed the rest of the directions exactly except for the sugar! Will make a again. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leahcooks November 11, 2010

I made this last night and it turned out great. I disagree with the review that said you really need to mince the jalapenos, I chopped mine and thought I got just the right amount of flavor. I made the dough in the bread machine and had enough to make 10 large rolls.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moonpoodle September 04, 2007

This bread is fantastic! I made it over the holidays as gifts and everyone is raving about it. I made the dough in the breadmaker but then divided it into 4 mini loaf pans, baking it in the oven. I dressed it up by putting some sliced jalapeno's on top and sprinkling it with extra cheese. It freezes well also. This goes well with soup, stew or just on it's own as a spicy treat! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerena January 13, 2007

This was pretty tasty! It can be used to make great turkey sandwiches. I added extra cheese and garlic powder and it was great. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shannonA May 30, 2005

Ray Rhumann gives this recipe 2 thumbs up. I enjoyed the flavour and the texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Ray Rhumann May 07, 2005

I am giving this recipe 5 stars because no matter how much I screwed up, it was still pretty good. The worst goof was that I got all the ingredients into the machine only to discover the paddle sitting on the kitchen table!!! Ended up dumping everything into a bowl, putting on the paddle, and then reloading it. Was afraid the yeast got a bit wet so threw in more of it. I had also read that some people thought the bread was too dry so I increased the water as suggested. When I saw it mixing however, it looked much too wet so I threw in some more flour. Did this a few times. I wonder if some canned minced jalapenos are wetter than others? Also I used the whole can which was more than called for. I chunked my cheese instead of grating, and threw in a few pickled peppers and a dash of garlic powder. Despite the screwups, this bread was still pretty good although a bit of a dent in the top. I will try again, adding more cheese and peppers.AND I will put in the paddle the first time!!! Thanks Bob for this recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patric February 10, 2003

A five star rating from me!! My bread machine broke down during the kneading so I removed it and kneaded it by hand, let it rise in the oven with some hot water in the pan below it. It became a beautiful loaf. I did modify the recipe a little. Instead of grating the cheese I cut jalapeno jack cheese into small chunks. I also added 2 tablespoons of gluten flour (14% gluten) and it turned out beautifully. Thanks Belly Up With Bob!!! Taste was great, easy to make. I'm sure the bread machine would have been easier but it still rated a 5 star with me!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DR Gray November 19, 2002
Jalapeno Cheese Bread (for bread making machines)