Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jalapeno Cheddar Bread Supreme Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jalapeno Cheddar Bread Supreme

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2008

      Excellent recipe, great flavor. I used cubes of sharp cheddar and fresh jalapeno and baked in oven. Definitely worth trying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      The most fantastic bread I have ever made. My dh ate the whole loaf in one sitting and forbade me from ever making it again! I took that as the highest compliment to Gerald. I am making more right now, but will shape it into buns to put pulled pork on. Yum, yum. This bread is light and airy with just the right zing. Well done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      This bread is awesome! I made it to serve with chili and it really hit the spot. I was a little nervous about the jalapenos plus the brine but it wasn't too spicy. I also used extra sharp cheddar and I thought it could've stood a little more cheese. DH ate 4 slices! What better testimonial is there?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2014

      I doubled the recipe for two loaves and didn't use a bread machine. I cooked it for 25-30 minutes at 350. I think it needs a little more cheese or maybe not as finely grated cheese as I used. The brine from the jalepenos makes it have a sourdough bread type of taste. It isn't hot but has just a bit of a kick. I LOVED it! The only change I will do is more cheese next time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2013

      I made this for lunch today and it was a delicious bread. Every crumb was eaten. The bread had a good texture and the cheese and jalapenos were very well blended within the bread.<br/><br/>I used more than 1 cup of finely shredded cheddar cheese. As my measuring cup didn't have a mark for 7/8 cup, I used 3/4 cup + 2 tablespoons of water. I used sliced jalapenos and didn't dice them.<br/><br/>My machine is a Hamilton Beach 29881 2 pound capacity bread maker. I set it to basic; light crust and 1 1/2 pound settings.<br/><br/>I will certainly be making this bread later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      Excellent bread!! Makes phenomenal grilled cheese sandwiches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      really, really, really good. flavorful and craveable. my crust was a tad too crunchy, but will be easily adjustable on my bread machine. my breads in the machine are usually hit and miss. this was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      Great recipe!! Really great crust, moist and great for slicing thin! I used pickled jalepenos because that is all that I had and it tasted awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      I used seeded fresh cayenne for the canned jalapenos and water for the brine since that is what I had on hand. Came out great. I was concerned that the peppers would get shred up by the ABM since my machine liquefies raisins, but this didn't happen. Knowing this, next time I'll cut the peppers smaller. This can slice nice and thin, if desired.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      Delicious. Has a great zip to it! Used half whole wheat flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      We enjoyed this a lot. We served this with some soup. We will make again, but next time add even more jalapenos. I may also increase the brine to water ratio. Overall a great bread. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Tastes yummy! I have a large jar of jalapenos so I didn't want to use too much liquid. I reduced the 1/4 cup brine to 2 tbsp which worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      This bread was just what I was looking for. I used half jarred and half fresh jalapenos just because I wanted to use the fresh ones before they went bad. I used the bread machine to mix them cut the dough in half and made to loves in the oven. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      I made this for my son to take with chili to a Superbowl party. He reports that everyone really liked it and it is definitely a "do it again" recipe. I used diced, fat-reduced old cheddar and pickled hot banana pepper rings and brine. I did not dice the pepper rings. Since there were a bunch of young men at the party and I have a B&D bread machine that makes up to a 3 pound loaf, I decided to double the recipe. I crossed my fingers and it turned out just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      This bread came out great! Just the right amount of spicy. I just added a tbs of wheat gluten to make sure it had the right consistency. Great recipe, thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      Delicious! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      Hehehehe! Now I've posted a photo for this wonderful bread. Wow! Where does the time go, I totally forgot my inspiration for this bread. Just came across it again with a Yahoo search. Anyway, I've been making my modified version for years now (see my other review). We still love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      I made this really thinking I would love it, but it seemed to be missing more jalapeno flavor. I might try it again using more jalapeno and baking in the oven instead of the bread machine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2004

      However, I doubled the recipe and did it in a food processor. I also modified the recipe a bit, by adding a few more ingredients: 1 Tbsp. olive oil 1 tsp. minced garlic 1 tsp onion powder Plus I didn't incorporate any of the shredded cheese, until after it rose and I hand-kneaded it in. I didn't double the peppers in the recipe and I also hand kneaded half of my minced peppers. My family was crazy about the loaves. They were beautiful and delicious. I wish I could submit a picture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jalapeno Cheddar Bread Supreme

    Serving Size: 1 (716 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1792.2
     
    Calories from Fat 262
    14%
    Total Fat 29.1 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 16.5 g
    82%
    Cholesterol 79.1 mg
    26%
    Sodium 2811.2 mg
    117%
    Total Carbohydrate 316.2 g
    105%
    Dietary Fiber 12.3 g
    49%
    Sugars 27.4 g
    109%
    Protein 60.1 g
    120%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    brine

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites