Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jalapeno and Cheddar Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jalapeno and Cheddar Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on March 12, 2003

      A very nice bread recipe. I made the cornbread as per directions, except I cooked it in 2 cast iron skillets with a little fat. I put the skillets in the oven and got the fat very hot, then added the cornbread mixture. The bottom of the cornbread turns out crisp, which helps hold it's shape when cut. We absolutely loved the flavor of this cornbread. Spicy and totally irresistable. Thanks for sharing this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2003

      There are so many variations of corn bread, and this is yet another wonderful one! It's got that grainy, crumbly texture. It's so flavorful. I thought I had creamed corn on hand, but no. So, since I learned that canned cream corn is merely split corn kernels, I processed my whole kernel corn briefly in my mini-prep and it worked beautifully. Thanks Sue L!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2014

      Very nice result both visually and taste-wise. I used maple syrup instead of sugar and only 1/2 cup of butter - would do those things again. Would use more jalape

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      I was looking for a unique Mexican corn bread recipe and came across this one. I've tried other very good recipes before, but this one is different as it doesn't use flour. As a result it is verrrrry corny--lol! No pun intended. Seriously, though I found it to be quite addicting and is now my favorite recipe for "Mexican" corn bread. One thing I did change was to add a couple tablespoons of sugar for a sweeter but not too sweet bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      Everybody loved this & we inhaled it! But, in the end, i couldn't detect the cheese nor was it very spicy(?). I used 1/2c fresh minced jalapenos (3 large) and it just wasn't spicy. :( But it was a good enough recipe to make again with more cheese & peppers, lol. I think 3/4c butter was wayyyy tooo much...i could barely get it combined. And after baking, the bottom of the cornbread was greasy. So I think I'll only use 1/2c next time. This was quick to put together. Made for Sun & Spice event in Veggie & na/me forums 2/13.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      This is my new favorite recipe for cornbread. I diced the jalapenos, and used lowfat (2%) cheddar and 3 jumbo eggs since it didn't give a size. I hesitated on the amount of butter in the recipe, but used it all, and found the cornbread so moist it didn't require any additional butter. Definitely a keeper - thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2003

      Great recipe! I made it as a side to the Easy Chipotle Chili recipe from spaceace and it was a wonderful compliment! Received rave reviews from all of my guests!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2013

      Made a large batch of this for church camp (multiplied the recipe by 6). Turned out AWESOME! One of my assistant cooks grew up eating soul food and told me, "I was skeptical because nobody makes cornbread like my mom. But this was better than mom's!" I used fresh jalapenos and used only a quarter of what was called for... not all junior high campers can handle spicy food. If it were for me, I would use the amount suggested (fresh, diced, without removing the seeds).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      Delicious cornbread! This is so flavorful - love the kick from the jalapenos! So moist, with a great texture. Very nice with chili. Thanks for sharing! February's Sun and Spice Event '13

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      We absolutely love it. Here in Texas we don't like our cornbread sweet so I was very happy to find a good, old-fashioned cornbread recipe like the one I grew up eating. I have also used whole kernel corn that was briefly processed in a food processor or blender in place of the cream corn and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      I had high hopes for this recipe, but it didn't have much flavor other than standard cornbread....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

    • on October 22, 2009

      Fantastic! I don't even like cornbread, but I loved this. I used lowfat buttermilk and 2% cheese, and it was still fantastic. Recipe states "sliced" jarred jalapenos, which are pickled. I used plain diced ones for a little more kick. Delicious, spongy texture- not a crumbly mess like cornbreads usually are. I halved the recipe but will definitely make the whole one next time and will also take someone's suggestion of making these into muffins. Yum, yum, yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      I really enjoyed this cornbread. I'm not a fan of cornbread that is sugary and tastes like cake, and this fit the bill! I did make this in a muffin tin, rather than a pan, and only baked for about 20-25 minutes (if you do this, I'd recommend only filling the tins up halfway - I made quite a mess of my oven!). This is a keeper - thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Very yummy! My hubby and I both loved this. We loved the warm, cheesy, spicy goodness of this cornbread. Goes great with chili!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      This was a decent recipe. The type of jalapeno's we used were extremely hot! A little crumbly too. Overall, it was okay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      My husband and I thought this was really bland and needed more sugar and less eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

    • on September 05, 2007

      This is the cornbread recipe that I've been looking for!!! My husband has been asking for jalapeno cornbread for the past 2 years, I finally decided to look for a recipe and came across this one. Like Miss Annie, I put some oil in my cast iron skillet and put it in the oven until the oil was smoking, I only used 3 eggs and 2 cups of cheese. This was beyond delicious. I haven't seen my husband this happy in awhile, needless to say, we'll have this often, gotta keep the DH happy!!! Thanks for this wonderful recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      I'm sorry to be the only one to not give 5 stars, but this recipe was very...eggy, like it was a breakfast casserole with a cornbread afterthought. I did enjoy the jalepeno flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jalapeno and Cheddar Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 237.6
     
    Calories from Fat 135
    57%
    Total Fat 15.0 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 8.8 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 86.5 mg
    28%
    Sodium 523.6 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes